
ASUS NUC 14 Performance vs ASUS ROG NUC 15
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.
Updated


ASUS ROG NUC 15
The short answer
These two ASUS boxes split on one question: build it yourself, or unbox it ready to go. The NUC 14 Performance is a barebones kit with its RTX 4070 Laptop or RTX 4060 Laptop graphics fixed, so you supply the memory and storage. The ROG NUC 15 arrives with DDR5, an NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, with graphics options that include an RTX 5080 Laptop. Choose the kit if you own spare SODIMMs and an M.2 drive and want ports ASUS actually states, including 2.5GbE and Wi-Fi 6E. Choose the ROG NUC 15 for newer graphics and room for up to 96 GB of memory.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | ASUS NUC 14 Performance | ASUS ROG NUC 15 |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 9 185H | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop |
| Installed memory | Not included in this barebones kit | 32 GB |
| Installed storage | Not included in this barebones kit | 1 TB |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 96 GB |
| Memory slots | 2 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 2 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE | Not confirmed |
| USB4 ports | 0 | Not confirmed |
| Thunderbolt ports | 1 | Not confirmed |
Workload by workload
Gaming is well suited on both. Each uses a discrete NVIDIA GPU rather than integrated graphics. The NUC 14 Performance offers the RTX 4070 Laptop or RTX 4060 Laptop, both with 8 GB of graphics memory. The ROG NUC 15 offers the RTX 5060 Laptop, the RTX 5070 Laptop, the RTX 5070 Ti Laptop with 12 GB or the RTX 5080 Laptop with 16 GB. Frame rates are not measured for either.
Workstation use is well suited on both, on the strength of the discrete graphics. Homelab use is workable on both, with two SODIMM slots and two M.2 2280 slots each. The difference is networking: the NUC 14 Performance has a stated 2.5GbE port, while ASUS does not state the ROG NUC 15's networking, which makes the kit the safer homelab pick if wired speed matters.
Everyday use and coding are well suited on the ROG NUC 15. Local AI is workable on most ROG NUC 15 models but a poor fit on the 16 GB model with the RTX 5060 Laptop, where only small quantised models fit as sold. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The 64 GB model with 2000 GB of storage is not assessed for everyday use, coding, gaming, homelab or local AI. On the NUC 14 Performance, how much memory you install is your call, up to 64 GB, and that choice shapes what it can do beyond gaming.
Expansion and upgrades
Both machines use two SODIMM slots, and the memory is not soldered on either, so upgrades mean swapping modules. The NUC 14 Performance takes up to 64 GB, and because it ships barebones you choose how full those slots are from day one. The ROG NUC 15 takes up to 96 GB, so its 16 GB, 32 GB and 64 GB models all have room to grow.
Storage follows the same pattern, with two M.2 2280 slots on each. The ROG NUC 15 ships with a 1000 GB or 2000 GB NVMe drive, and the other slot takes an M.2 drive. ASUS does not state the PCIe generation of either machine's M.2 slots. Neither has a PCIe expansion slot.
Ports and connectivity
The NUC 14 Performance spells out its ports: one 2.5GbE network port, Wi-Fi 6E with the wireless module included, Bluetooth 5.3, one Thunderbolt port, one USB-C port, 6 USB-A ports and an SD card reader. For screens it has one HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs, but ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays or the version of either output. Power comes from a 330W external supply.
The ROG NUC 15 is the opposite case. ASUS does not state its network ports or speed, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, USB or Thunderbolt ports, HDMI or DisplayPort outputs, maximum displays, SD card reader, power supply, VESA mount or dimensions. If you plan a multi-monitor desk or rely on wired networking, check those details before you commit.
Which configurations to compare
Because the NUC 14 Performance is sold barebones, every pairing assumes you add memory and storage to it. The fair match for its Core Ultra 9 185H with the RTX 4070 Laptop is the 32 GB ROG NUC 15 with the Core Ultra 9 275HX and RTX 5070 Laptop, which shows what the newer platform adds. The Core Ultra 7 155H with the RTX 4060 Laptop pairs with the 16 GB ROG NUC 15 with the Core Ultra 7 255HX and RTX 5060 Laptop, since both GPUs carry 8 GB of graphics memory. The RTX 5070 Ti Laptop, RTX 5080 Laptop and 64 GB models have no counterpart in the kit's range.
If neither fits
If neither suits you, look at the MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro. It uses an AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX where the NUC 14 Performance offers the Intel Core Ultra 9 185H, so it is the route to take if you would rather have an AMD processor. MINISFORUM does not state its maximum memory, so if a memory ceiling like the NUC 14 Performance's 64 GB matters to you, check that first.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | ASUS NUC 14 Performance | ASUS ROG NUC 15 |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Not confirmed | Good |
| Coding | Not confirmed | Good |
| Gaming | Good | Good |
| Home lab | Workable | Workable |
| Local AI | Not confirmed | Workable |
| Workstation | Good | Good |
Common questions
Does the NUC 14 Performance come with memory and storage?
No. Both versions, the Core Ultra 9 185H with the RTX 4070 Laptop and the Core Ultra 7 155H with the RTX 4060 Laptop, are barebones kits. You add up to 64 GB across two SODIMM slots plus an M.2 2280 drive. ASUS does not state an included operating system.
Can I upgrade the ROG NUC 15's memory later?
Yes. The memory is not soldered and sits in two SODIMM slots that take up to 96 GB. On the 16 GB model with the RTX 5060 Laptop, local AI is a poor fit as sold, and that memory can be raised later.
Which has more graphics memory?
The ROG NUC 15 with the RTX 5080 Laptop has 16 GB and the RTX 5070 Ti Laptop model has 12 GB, against 8 GB on both NUC 14 Performance versions. ASUS does not state the graphics memory of the RTX 5070 Laptop models.
Which is the better home server?
Both are workable for a homelab, each with two SODIMM slots and two M.2 2280 slots. The NUC 14 Performance has a stated 2.5GbE port, while ASUS does not state the ROG NUC 15's networking. The ROG NUC 15 counters with memory up to 96 GB rather than 64 GB.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.