
ASUS NUC 14 Pro vs ASUS ROG NUC
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.
Updated


ASUS ROG NUC
The short answer
Both machines can carry the same Intel Core Ultra 7 155H, so the choice comes down to graphics and size.
The NUC 14 Pro is a 0.7 litre box with Intel Arc integrated graphics that mounts behind a monitor and suits office work, coding and light homelab duty.
The ROG NUC is a 2.9 litre machine with an RTX 4060 Laptop or RTX 4070 Laptop, built for players and for work that leans on a discrete GPU.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | ASUS NUC 14 Pro | ASUS ROG NUC |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 5 125H | Intel Core Ultra 9 185H |
| Graphics | Intel Arc Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop 8GB |
| Installed memory | Not included in this barebones kit | 32 GB |
| Installed storage | Not included in this barebones kit | 1 TB |
| Maximum memory | 48 GB | 32 GB |
| Memory slots | 2 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 3 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE | 2.5GbE |
| USB4 ports | 0 | 0 |
| Thunderbolt ports | 2 | 1 |
Workload by workload
Everyday use is well suited on both: the 16 GB NUC 14 Pro with the Core Ultra 7 155H and Windows 11 Pro handles it, and every ROG NUC model does too. The two NUC 14 Pro barebones kits ship without memory or storage, so they are not assessed until built.
Coding is well suited on the 16 GB NUC 14 Pro and on the ROG NUC models with 16 GB or 32 GB. The 8 GB ROG NUC is only workable because of its small memory.
Gaming is where they part ways. The NUC 14 Pro is workable: its Intel Arc integrated graphics suit esports and older titles at 1080p, and ASUS notes they need two SO-DIMMs fitted to reach full performance. The ROG NUC is well suited, with an RTX 4060 Laptop or RTX 4070 Laptop carrying 8 GB of GDDR6 of its own.
Local AI is a poor fit on the 16 GB NUC 14 Pro, since only small quantised models fit as sold. On the ROG NUC it is a poor fit with 8 GB of system memory, and workable with 16 GB or 32 GB alongside the 8 GB of GDDR6; the 32 GB model suits small to mid-size quantised models.
For a homelab both are workable, and each has a single 2.5GbE port. The NUC 14 Pro has one network port; add an adapter for separate physical network links. VLAN routing over a single port is possible with a compatible managed switch and suitable network configuration. As a workstation the NUC 14 Pro is a poor fit, lacking discrete graphics and a card slot, while the ROG NUC is well suited thanks to its discrete GPU.
Expansion and upgrades
Neither machine solders its memory; both use two SODIMM slots. The NUC 14 Pro tops out at 48 GB, so the 16 GB model has real headroom, and the barebones kits can be built up to that maximum. The ROG NUC stops at 32 GB: the 8 GB and 16 GB models can grow to it, and the 32 GB model is already there.
Storage favours the ROG NUC, with three M.2 2280 slots against two on the NUC 14 Pro, one 2280 and one 2242. With the factory drive fitted, each still has at least one free slot for an M.2 drive. ASUS does not state the PCIe generation of any M.2 slot, the memory speed or ECC support on either machine.
Ports and connectivity
The NUC 14 Pro has two Thunderbolt ports and three USB-C ports, plus three USB-A ports. The ROG NUC has one Thunderbolt port, one USB-C port, four USB-A ports and an SD card reader.
For screens, the NUC 14 Pro offers two HDMI outputs and no DisplayPort, while the ROG NUC has one HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs. ASUS does not state the HDMI or DisplayPort version or the maximum number of displays for either, so check before planning a 4K setup above 60 Hz, which needs HDMI 2.1 on the computer, the cable and the display.
Networking matches: one 2.5GbE port, Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3 on both, with the wireless module included. The NUC 14 Pro adds a VESA mount and a 19V external supply of 90W or 120W.
Which configurations to compare
The closest comparison sets the 16 GB NUC 14 Pro with the Core Ultra 7 155H and 512 GB against the 8 GB ROG NUC with the same processor, an RTX 4060 Laptop and 512 GB. Chip and storage match, but the ROG NUC adds discrete graphics and has half the memory. For equal memory, the 16 GB ROG NUC with the Core Ultra 9 185H and RTX 4070 Laptop matches the NUC. The barebones NUC 14 Pro kits, with the Core Ultra 7 155H or Core Ultra 5 125H, only compare once you choose their memory and storage.
If neither fits
If you need more memory than either ASUS allows, the MINISFORUM MS-01 is the alternative to look at. It uses an Intel Core i9-13900H rather than the Core Ultra 7 155H and takes up to 96 GB of memory rather than 48 GB. That extra capacity is what decides which local language model sizes fit.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | ASUS NUC 14 Pro | ASUS ROG NUC |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Workable | Good |
| Home lab | Workable | Workable |
| Local AI | Not suited | Workable |
| Workstation | Not suited | Good |
Common questions
Can the ASUS NUC 14 Pro play games?
Within limits. Gaming is workable on the 16 GB model, whose Intel Arc integrated graphics suit esports and older titles at 1080p, and two SO-DIMMs are needed for full graphics performance. If gaming matters most, the ROG NUC with RTX graphics is well suited.
Which one takes more memory?
The NUC 14 Pro, at 48 GB across two SODIMM slots, against 32 GB on the ROG NUC, also over two slots. Neither solders its memory, so both can be upgraded, but the 32 GB ROG NUC is already at its maximum.
Do the barebones NUC 14 Pro kits come ready to use?
No. The kits with the Core Ultra 7 155H and the Core Ultra 5 125H ship without memory or storage, so you add SODIMM memory and an M.2 drive before they run. How well they suit you depends on the parts you choose.
How many monitors can each machine connect?
The NUC 14 Pro has two HDMI outputs; the ROG NUC has one HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs. ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays for either, so plan around those physical outputs rather than assuming more.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.