
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) vs BOSGAME M5
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.
Updated

BOSGAME M5
Not available on www.amazon.co.uk
The short answer
Memory capacity splits these two. The Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) runs macOS on an Apple M5 Pro with up to 64 GB of unified memory in a 127 x 127 x 50.8 mm box. The BOSGAME M5 pairs an AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 with 128 GB of LPDDR5X and Windows 11 Pro. Pick the Mac if you want macOS, Thunderbolt and a stated three-display limit. Pick the BOSGAME if you want room for larger local language models, a spare M.2 slot or Windows.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) | BOSGAME M5 |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Apple M5 Pro | Not confirmed |
| Graphics | Apple M5 Pro 16-core GPU | Not confirmed |
| Installed memory | 24 GB | Not confirmed |
| Installed storage | 512 GB | Not confirmed |
| Maximum memory | 64 GB | 128 GB |
| Memory slots | 0 | 0 |
| M.2 slots | 0 | 2 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE (10GbE option) | 2.5GbE |
| USB4 ports | 0 | 2 |
| Thunderbolt ports | 3 | 0 |
Workload by workload
Everyday work and coding are well suited on both. The Mac brings a fifteen-core M5 Pro and three Thunderbolt 5 ports, while the BOSGAME brings sixteen cores, 32 threads and two USB4 ports.
Local AI is where they part. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Bandwidth governs how fast text comes out, and neither Apple nor BOSGAME states it, so speed cannot be compared here. The BOSGAME also carries a 50 TOPS NPU.
Workstation work is well suited on the BOSGAME with 128 GB installed and on the 64 GB Mac, while the 24 GB Mac is workable.
Homelab use is workable on both. The Mac has 2.5GbE with a 10GbE option, but memory and storage are fixed and macOS narrows your hypervisor choice. The BOSGAME has two M.2 slots but a single 2.5GbE port, which limits routing or network separation on the box itself.
Gaming advice here covers the BOSGAME only. On its Radeon 8060S integrated graphics, with no discrete GPU, gaming is workable.
Expansion and upgrades
Neither machine lets you add memory later. The Mac has no memory slots, its memory is soldered, and 64 GB is the maximum, so choose your size at purchase. The BOSGAME's memory is soldered too, with no slots, and the 128 GB installed is already its maximum.
Storage is the real difference. The Mac has no M.2 slots, no SATA bays and no PCIe slot, so the 512 GB or 1000 GB you buy is what stays inside the case. The BOSGAME has two M.2 slots of 2280 length, the first at PCIe 4.0, and ships with a 2000 GB NVMe PCIe 4.0 drive. A drive in the first slot runs at PCIe 4.0 speed even if it is a PCIe 5.0 drive. BOSGAME does not state the second slot's PCIe generation.
Ports and connectivity
The Mac has three Thunderbolt ports, one HDMI output and no USB-A ports, so older peripherals need adapters. Apple states a maximum of three displays. Networking is one 2.5GbE port with a 10GbE option, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6. There is no SD card reader.
The BOSGAME has more ports for wired peripherals: five USB-A ports, two USB4 ports and an SD card reader. Its USB4 ports support DisplayPort over USB-C, so each can carry a picture to a screen. BOSGAME does not state its HDMI outputs or maximum displays, so plan a multi-monitor desk around those USB4 ports. Networking is one 2.5GbE port and Wi-Fi 7.
Which configurations to compare
The BOSGAME comes in one form: Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128 GB of memory and 2000 GB of storage. The fair match is the 64 GB Mac mini with 1000 GB, the version that reaches the Mac's memory maximum and is well suited to local AI and workstation work. The 24 GB model with 512 GB serves a different buyer, someone doing everyday work and coding without large models. Both Mac versions and the BOSGAME are sold new at retail.
If neither fits
If neither suits you, look at the Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250. It uses an Intel Core Ultra 5 245 rather than Apple's M5 Pro, and it has 1GbE networking rather than the Mac's 2.5GbE with a 10GbE option. That is slower wired networking than either machine here, so consider it when you want neither of these platforms and network speed matters less to you.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) | BOSGAME M5 |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Not confirmed | Workable |
| Home lab | Workable | Workable |
| Local AI | Good | Good |
| Workstation | Good | Good |
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory on either machine later?
No. Both use soldered memory with no slots. The Mac mini tops out at 64 GB, and the BOSGAME M5 ships with 128 GB, which is already its maximum, so buy the capacity you will need from day one.
Which one runs a 70B language model?
For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system.
How many monitors can I connect?
Apple states three displays for the Mac mini, which has one HDMI output. BOSGAME does not state a maximum or its HDMI outputs, but its two USB4 ports support DisplayPort over USB-C, so each can carry a picture to a screen.
Can I add storage to the Mac mini?
Not inside the case. The Mac mini has no M.2 slots and no SATA bays, so choose between 512 GB and 1000 GB at purchase. The BOSGAME M5, by contrast, has two M.2 slots of 2280 length for an added M.2 drive.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.