
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro)
Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro): compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Apple's M5 Pro Mac mini comes in two builds that share the same 15-core chip and differ only in memory and storage, and that difference decides who should buy which. The 24 GB model with 512 GB of storage is well suited to everyday work and coding on macOS. The 64 GB model with 1000 GB is the pick for local AI and workstation tasks, because the memory is soldered and cannot be added later.
Choose a configuration

Who this suits
It suits you if you work in macOS and want a desktop that takes almost no room: the case measures 127 x 127 x 50.8 mm, holds 0.8 litres and has its power supply built in. Coders who run several screens get support for three displays, and the 64 GB build makes local language models a realistic job.
Skip it if you plan to add memory or an SSD later, because the memory is soldered and there are no M.2 slots or SATA bays. Skip it as well if you want a flexible hypervisor host, since macOS limits that choice, or if your desk is full of USB-A devices and SD cards.
Workload fit
Everyday use is well suited: the 15-core M5 Pro, macOS, Wi-Fi 7 and three Thunderbolt ports cover daily work comfortably.
Coding is well suited in both builds, with 24 GB or 64 GB of unified memory, three Thunderbolt ports and support for three external displays, though the memory cannot be upgraded after purchase.
Homelab use is workable: the 2.5GbE port has a 10GbE option, but memory and storage are fixed at purchase and macOS limits which hypervisors you can run, so plan the build around what you will host.
Local AI is workable on the 24 GB model and well suited on the 64 GB model. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured, and Apple does not state the memory bandwidth, so judge these builds on capacity alone.
Workstation tasks are workable on the 24 GB model and well suited on the 64 GB model, whose 64 GB of unified memory reaches workstation class.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24 GB / 512 GB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Workable |
| 64 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Good | Good |
Which configuration to choose
Both builds use the same Apple M5 Pro with 15 cores, 15 threads and a 16-core GPU, run macOS and ship new. Only memory and storage change: 24 GB with 512 GB of NVMe storage, or 64 GB with 1000 GB. The 24 GB model is the sensible choice for everyday work and coding. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system.
Upgrading it
There is nothing to upgrade inside this Mac mini. It has no memory slots and the memory is soldered, so the 24 GB or 64 GB you choose is permanent, and 64 GB is also the maximum. Storage follows suit: with no M.2 slots and no SATA bays, the 512 GB or 1000 GB NVMe drive stays as bought. There is no PCIe slot either. Your only real upgrade decision is which build to order, so size it for the work you expect to be doing later, not just today.
Connecting it
Apple states support for up to three displays, and the one dedicated video output is a single HDMI port, with no DisplayPort outputs. Apple does not state the HDMI version, so check it before planning a demanding main monitor on that port. Apple gives three Thunderbolt ports and a USB-C count of three, with no USB-A, so older peripherals need an adapter or a dock. Networking is one 2.5GbE Ethernet port with a 10GbE option, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6, and the wireless module is included. Beyond the three Thunderbolt ports, there are no USB4 ports and no OCuLink.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- Apple
- Processor
- Apple M5 Pro
- Cores and threads
- 15 cores, 15 threads
- Graphics
- Apple M5 Pro 16-core GPU
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- macOS
- Release year
- 2026
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 24–64 GB
- Memory slots
- 0
- Maximum memory
- 64 GB
- Memory soldered
- Yes
- Installed storage
- 512 GB–1 TB
- M.2 slots
- 0
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 2.5GbE (10GbE option)
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 6
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 3
- USB-C ports
- 3
- USB-A ports
- 0
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 0
- Maximum displays
- 3
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- No
- Power supply
- Internal
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- No
- Dimensions
- 127 x 127 x 50.8
- Volume
- 0.819 L
Limitations
The memory is soldered and there are no M.2 slots, so memory and storage are fixed for the life of the machine, with 64 GB as the ceiling. There is no USB-A, no SD card reader, no VESA mount and no PCIe slot. macOS also limits hypervisor choice for homelab use. Apple does not state the memory speed, memory bandwidth, ECC support, HDMI version, TDP or how much of the memory can go to the graphics.
Alternatives
The Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250 swaps the M5 Pro for an Intel Core Ultra 5 245, but its network is 1GbE rather than 2.5GbE with a 10GbE option, so it is the weaker choice for fast networking. The MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro pairs an AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX with discrete graphics rather than integrated, which makes it the one to consider if a separate graphics chip matters to you. The Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Ultra SFF Gen 2 uses an Intel Core Ultra 5 235 and reaches 128 GB of memory rather than 64 GB, worth a look if you could outgrow the Mac's ceiling.

MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Ultra SFF Gen 2

Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 5

Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 6
Compared with
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory in the M5 Pro Mac mini later?
No. The memory is soldered and there are no memory slots, so the 24 GB or 64 GB you buy is permanent. 64 GB is the maximum, so choose the larger build if you expect bigger projects or local AI models.
How many monitors can it drive?
Apple states support for up to three displays. The machine has one HDMI output and no DisplayPort outputs, and Apple does not state the HDMI version, so confirm it before relying on that port for a demanding monitor.
What size of local AI model fits?
For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured.
Does it have Wi-Fi and fast Ethernet?
Yes. It includes a Wi-Fi 7 module and Bluetooth 6, plus one Ethernet port at 2.5GbE with a 10GbE option. That makes it workable as a small homelab box, though macOS limits your choice of hypervisor.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.