Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) vs MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.

Updated

The short answer

These two compact machines pull in opposite directions. The Mac mini (M5 Pro) packs a 15-core Apple chip and macOS into 0.8 litres, while the MS-S1 Max spreads a 16-core Ryzen AI Max+ 395 across 3.5 litres with room to grow.

Pick the Mac if you live in macOS and want a tiny desk machine for coding and everyday work. Pick the MINISFORUM if you want up to 128 GB of memory for local models, two M.2 slots, a PCIe slot and 10GbE networking.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationApple Mac mini (M5 Pro)MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
ProcessorApple M5 ProNot confirmed
GraphicsApple M5 Pro 16-core GPUNot confirmed
Installed memory24 GBNot confirmed
Installed storage512 GBNot confirmed
Maximum memory64 GB128 GB
Memory slots00
M.2 slots02
LAN speed2.5GbE (10GbE option)10GbE
USB4 ports04
Thunderbolt ports30

Workload by workload

Everyday use and coding are well suited on both. The Mac brings 15 cores and macOS. The MINISFORUM brings 16 cores and 32 threads under Windows 11 Pro, which matters more for heavy parallel builds than for a browser and an editor.

For local AI, memory decides. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The MINISFORUM is well suited in every configuration. Neither Apple nor MINISFORUM states memory bandwidth, so the specifications give no way to compare generation speed. MINISFORUM also states an NPU of 50 TOPS.

Homelab use splits more sharply. The MINISFORUM is well suited, with two 10GbE ports and two M.2 slots. The Mac is workable: 2.5GbE comes as standard with a 10GbE option, but memory and storage are fixed at purchase and macOS limits your choice of hypervisor.

Workstation work is well suited on the 64 GB Mac mini and on every MINISFORUM model, while the 24 GB Mac mini is only workable. For gaming, only the MINISFORUM has a judgement: workable, on Radeon 8060S integrated graphics with no discrete GPU and no OCuLink port.

Expansion and upgrades

Neither machine lets you add memory later. Both have soldered memory and no memory slots. That makes the capacity you buy final, with 64 GB as the Mac mini's ceiling and 128 GB as the MINISFORUM's. A 24 GB Mac mini stays at 24 GB for life.

Storage is where the two differ most. The Mac mini has no M.2 slots and no SATA bays, so the 512 GB or 1000 GB it ships with is all the storage it will ever hold inside the case. The MINISFORUM has two M.2 2280 slots at PCIe 4.0, though the second runs at x1 rather than x4. It also offers a PCIe slot with 4 lanes in an x16-size opening, something the Mac lacks entirely.

Ports and connectivity

The Mac mini has 3 Thunderbolt ports, one HDMI output and no USB-A ports, so older peripherals need a hub or adapters. Apple states support for up to 3 displays. Networking is a single 2.5GbE port with a 10GbE option, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6.

The MINISFORUM has 4 USB4 ports that also carry DisplayPort video, 5 USB-A ports and an HDMI 2.1 output. For 4K above 60 Hz over that HDMI port, you also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 display. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays. Two 10GbE ports and Wi-Fi 7 handle networking, and the case accepts a VESA mount, which the Mac does not.

Which configurations to compare

The closest match is the 64 GB Mac mini with 1000 GB of storage against the 64 GB MINISFORUM with 2000 GB, both 2026 releases. They have the same memory capacity, so the differences come down to platform, storage and ports.

The 24 GB Mac mini with 512 GB has no MINISFORUM counterpart at that memory size. If you need more than 64 GB for local models, only the MINISFORUM's 128 GB models, with 2000 GB or 4000 GB of storage, get you there.

If neither fits

If neither machine suits you, the alternative to look at is the Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250. Next to the Mac mini, it uses an Intel Core Ultra 5 245 instead of the Apple M5 Pro, and 1GbE networking instead of 2.5GbE with a 10GbE option. It makes sense if neither Apple's chip nor the MINISFORUM's size and memory are what you are after, and slower wired networking is acceptable.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadApple Mac mini (M5 Pro)MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingNot confirmedWorkable
Home labWorkableGood
Local AIGoodGood
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory later on either machine?

No. The Mac mini and the MS-S1 Max both have soldered memory and no memory slots. Buy the capacity you will need from the start: the Mac mini tops out at 64 GB and the MINISFORUM at 128 GB.

Which one runs larger local language models?

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Neither maker states memory bandwidth.

Can I add storage inside the Mac mini?

No. The Mac mini has no M.2 slots and no SATA bays, so the 512 GB or 1000 GB it ships with is the internal total. The MINISFORUM has two M.2 2280 slots if you expect your storage needs to grow.

How many monitors can each machine drive?

Apple states up to 3 displays for the Mac mini, which has one HDMI output. The MINISFORUM has an HDMI 2.1 output plus 4 USB4 ports that carry DisplayPort video, but MINISFORUM does not state a maximum number of displays.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.