
ASUS NUC 14 Pro vs MINISFORUM MS-01
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.
Updated


MINISFORUM MS-01
The short answer
The NUC 14 Pro fits a sixteen-core Core Ultra 7 155H into a 0.7-litre box, while the MS-01 uses its 1.8 litres for four network ports, three M.2 slots and a card slot. Pick the ASUS for a small desk machine that also handles casual games on its Arc graphics. Pick the MINISFORUM for a homelab with fast networking, or for a workstation you can add a graphics card to. Once memory and storage are installed, both handle everyday work and coding well.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | ASUS NUC 14 Pro | MINISFORUM MS-01 |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 5 125H | Intel Core i5-12600H |
| Graphics | Intel Arc Graphics | Intel Iris Xe Graphics |
| Installed memory | Not included in this barebones kit | Not included in this barebones kit |
| Installed storage | Not included in this barebones kit | Not included in this barebones kit |
| Maximum memory | 48 GB | 96 GB |
| Memory slots | 2 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 3 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE | 2x 10GbE SFP+, 2x 2.5GbE |
| USB4 ports | 0 | 2 |
| Thunderbolt ports | 2 | 0 |
Workload by workload
Everyday use and coding are well suited on both in their ready-to-run forms: the ASUS with the Core Ultra 7 155H and 16 GB, and the MINISFORUM with any of its 32 GB models. The MS-01 gives coders more room, with three M.2 slots for separate build and data volumes and two USB4 ports.
Gaming favours the ASUS. Its Intel Arc graphics make esports and older titles at 1080p workable, and ASUS notes the graphics need both SODIMM slots filled to reach full performance. The MS-01's Iris Xe graphics make it a poor fit for games as sold, though its PCIe 4.0 slot, physically x16 and wired with 8 lanes, can take a discrete card.
For a homelab the roles flip: the MS-01 is well suited, with two 10GbE SFP+ ports, two 2.5GbE ports and memory to 96 GB. The NUC is workable for a homelab, with a single 2.5GbE port. Add an interface for separate physical network links. VLAN routing over a single port is possible with a compatible managed switch and suitable network configuration.
Local AI depends on memory. The 16 GB ASUS is a poor fit, because only small quantised models fit as sold. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Neither maker states memory bandwidth, so you cannot judge generation speed in advance.
As a workstation, the MS-01 is well suited thanks to its 8-lane card slot, while the ASUS is a poor fit, with no card slot and no discrete graphics. The barebones kits of both are not assessed until built.
Expansion and upgrades
Neither machine solders its memory, and both use two SODIMM slots. The ASUS goes from 16 GB to a maximum of 48 GB. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The MS-01 starts at 32 GB in its built models and reaches 96 GB, which clears that 64 GB mark.
For storage, the ASUS has two M.2 slots, in 2280 and 2242 lengths, alongside its 512 GB NVMe drive. ASUS does not state their PCIe generation, so plan on adding an M.2 drive without knowing its speed. The MS-01 has three NVMe slots in 2280 and 22110 lengths, plus U.2, around its 1000 GB drive. Its first slot is PCIe 4 and its second PCIe 3, so a PCIe 4.0 drive in the second slot runs at PCIe 3.0 speed. There are no SATA bays.
Ports and connectivity
The ASUS has one 2.5GbE port, Wi-Fi 6E with the wireless module included, and Bluetooth 5.3. It adds two Thunderbolt ports, three USB-C ports, three USB-A ports and two HDMI outputs, with no DisplayPort. ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays, so plan on two HDMI screens. It can also hang on a VESA mount.
The MS-01 has four network ports, two 10GbE SFP+ and two 2.5GbE, plus Wi-Fi 6 with the module included and Bluetooth 5.2. It has two USB4 ports, two USB-C ports, five USB-A ports and one HDMI output, and MINISFORUM states a maximum of three displays.
Neither maker states its HDMI version. For 4K above 60 Hz, you need HDMI 2.1 on the computer, the cable and the display.
Which configurations to compare
The fair ready-to-run match is the ASUS with the Core Ultra 7 155H, 16 GB and 512 GB against the MS-01 with the Core i9-13900H, 32 GB and 1000 GB, both on Windows 11 Pro. The MS-01 arrives with more memory installed, which matters most for local AI.
If you prefer to build your own, compare the ASUS barebones kit with the Core Ultra 7 155H against the MS-01 kit with the Core i9-13900H. You can also pair the Core Ultra 5 125H kit with the Core i5-12600H kit. Every kit needs memory and storage added before it runs.
If neither fits
If both are more machine than you need, the Beelink EQ14 is the alternative to look at. It uses an Intel N150 rather than the Core Ultra 7 155H, and its memory tops out at 16 GB rather than 48 GB. Choose it only if your work stays light: that lower memory ceiling rules out the virtual machines and local models where the MS-01 earns its keep.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | ASUS NUC 14 Pro | MINISFORUM MS-01 |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Workable | Not suited |
| Home lab | Workable | Good |
| Local AI | Not suited | Workable |
| Workstation | Not suited | Good |
Common questions
Can the MINISFORUM MS-01 take a graphics card?
Yes. It has a PCIe 4.0 slot that is physically x16 and wired with 8 lanes, which can take a discrete card. As sold it has only Iris Xe graphics, so it is a poor fit for games until you add a card.
Which is better for running local language models?
For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The 16 GB NUC 14 Pro is a poor fit as sold, and its memory ceiling is 48 GB.
Can the NUC 14 Pro work as a home router?
It is workable in a homelab and has a single 2.5GbE port. Add an interface for separate physical network links. VLAN routing over a single port is possible with a compatible managed switch and suitable network configuration. The MS-01 has four ports, including two 10GbE SFP+, and is well suited to that job.
Do both machines include Wi-Fi?
Yes, both include the wireless module. The NUC 14 Pro has Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3, while the MS-01 has Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2, which is fine for a homelab box that will mostly sit on its wired ports.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.