
MINISFORUM MS-01
MINISFORUM MS-01: compare 6 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports in a 1.8-litre workstation case set the MINISFORUM MS-01 apart and make it a natural homelab box. Add three M.2 slots, memory up to 96 GB and a PCIe 4.0 x16 slot wired for 8 lanes, and it has room to grow with your lab. The built 32 GB models suit coding and everyday work, and the barebones kits suit you if you already own memory and storage. Gamers should skip the built models, whose Intel Iris Xe graphics make gaming a poor fit.
Choose a configuration


Intel Core i5-12600H, 32 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core i9-13900H, barebones kit

Intel Core i5-12600H, barebones kit
Who this suits
It suits a homelab builder who wants fast networking without a rack server: two 10GbE SFP+ ports, two 2.5GbE ports and three M.2 slots fit in a 196 x 189 x 48 mm case. Developers do well with the three built models, which come with 32 GB of DDR5, and the Core i9 versions bring fourteen cores and twenty threads. Anyone planning an add-in card gets the slot, wired for 8 lanes.
Skip it if you want to play games, since the built models' integrated Iris Xe graphics are a poor fit as shipped. It is also the wrong pick if you need a DisplayPort output or an SD card reader, because it has neither.
Workload fit
Everyday use is well suited on the three built models, whose 32 GB of DDR5 goes far beyond office and browsing needs. The barebones kits ship without memory or storage, so they are not assessed until built, and that holds for every workload below except homelab and workstation use.
Coding is well suited on the built models: 32 GB of DDR5, two USB4 ports and three M.2 slots let you keep build and data volumes apart. The built Core i9 versions add fourteen cores and twenty threads for parallel compiles.
Gaming is a poor fit on the built models. Their graphics are integrated Intel Iris Xe, and while the slot could take a card, gaming as sold is a poor fit.
Homelab use is well suited, with four network ports, memory up to 96 GB and the slot; MINISFORUM positions it as a workstation with vPro support.
Local AI is workable on the built models. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. There is no discrete GPU, and generation speed is not measured.
Workstation use is well suited, thanks to the card slot wired for 8 lanes. MINISFORUM does not confirm the memory bandwidth of any version.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Not suited | Good | Workable | Good |
| 32 GB / 1 TB, i9-12900H | Good | Good | Not suited | Good | Workable | Good |
| 32 GB / 1 TB, i5-12600H | Good | Good | Not suited | Good | Workable | Good |
| Barebones kit | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Good | Not confirmed | Good |
| Barebones kit, i5 | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Good | Not confirmed | Good |
| Barebones kit, i9-12900H | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Good | Not confirmed | Good |
Which configuration to choose
MINISFORUM sells the MS-01 with three processors, each as a built model or a barebones kit. The built models share 32 GB of DDR5, a 1000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro. The Core i9-13900H and Core i9-12900H each have 14 cores and 20 threads; the Core i5-12600H has 12 cores and 16 threads. Pick a Core i9 for heavy compiles or many virtual machines, and the Core i5 for a lighter lab. The barebones kits come without memory or storage, and MINISFORUM does not state an operating system for them, so they suit builders with parts on hand.
Upgrading it
Memory sits in two slots and is not soldered, so you can raise it to the 96 GB maximum. MINISFORUM does not state the memory speed or ECC support. Three M.2 slots take 2280 or 22110 drives, with U.2 support too. The first slot runs at PCIe generation 4 and the second at generation 3. There are no SATA bays and M.2 SATA support is not confirmed, so plan on NVMe. The slot is physically x16, wired for 8 lanes, and could take an add-in card.
Connecting it
MINISFORUM states a maximum of 3 displays, but the only dedicated video output is one HDMI port, version not stated, and there is no DisplayPort output. Networking is the highlight: two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports, plus Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2. MINISFORUM counts five USB-A ports, two USB-C ports and two USB4 ports. For external devices there are those two USB4 ports, with no Thunderbolt and no OCuLink. Power comes from a 19V external supply.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- MINISFORUM
- Processor
- Intel Core i9-13900H, Intel Core i9-12900H, Intel Core i5-12600H
- Cores and threads
- 12–14 cores, 16–20 threads
- Graphics
- Intel Iris Xe Graphics
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2024
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 32 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 96 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 1 TB
- M.2 slots
- 3
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- x16 slot, wired for 8 lanes
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 4
- LAN speed
- 2x 10GbE SFP+, 2x 2.5GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.2
- USB4 ports
- 2
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- 5
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 0
- Maximum displays
- 3
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- No
- Power supply
- 19V external
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- 196 x 189 x 48
- Volume
- 1.778 L
Limitations
Video output is thin: one HDMI port with an unstated version and no DisplayPort. There is no SD card reader, no SATA bay and no OCuLink. The built models rely on integrated Iris Xe graphics, so gaming as sold is a poor fit, even though the slot could take a card. MINISFORUM does not state the TDP, memory speed, ECC support or VESA mounting. The barebones kits need memory and storage before they will run.
Alternatives
The MINISFORUM UM890 Pro uses an AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS and offers 2.5GbE networking, so it only makes sense if you can live without 10GbE SFP+. The Beelink EQi13 runs an Intel Core i5-13420H, and its maximum memory is not confirmed, against 96 GB here. The ASUS NUC 14 Pro has an Intel Core Ultra 7 155H but tops out at 48 GB rather than 96 GB, so check that ceiling against your virtual machines.

Beelink EQR6

Beelink EQi13

GMKtec M8

GMKtec NucBox K13
Compared with
Common questions
Can the MINISFORUM MS-01 run games?
Not well as sold. The built models use integrated Intel Iris Xe graphics, which makes gaming a poor fit, and the barebones kits are not assessed until built. The PCIe 4.0 x16 slot wired for 8 lanes could take a card, but as sold, gaming on the built models is a poor fit.
How much memory can the MS-01 take?
Up to 96 GB across two slots, and the memory is not soldered, so the 32 GB in the built models can be replaced. MINISFORUM does not state the supported memory speed or whether ECC memory works.
How many monitors can I connect?
MINISFORUM states a maximum of 3 displays. The only dedicated video output is one HDMI port, with no DisplayPort output, and MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI version, so check it against your monitor before buying.
Does the MS-01 have Wi-Fi?
Yes. A Wi-Fi 6 module with Bluetooth 5.2 is included, so the machine can run without a network cable. The wired side is the bigger draw, though, with two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.