
ASUS NUC 14 Pro vs MINISFORUM UM890 Pro
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.
Updated


MINISFORUM UM890 Pro
The short answer
The ASUS NUC 14 Pro is an ultra-compact box of 0.7 litres measuring 117 x 112 x 54 mm, with Wi-Fi 6E built in and a VESA mount, and it suits a desk or the back of a monitor where everyday work and coding are the job. The MINISFORUM UM890 Pro suits the buyer who wants memory room: up to 96 GB, a 64 GB model that handles local language models well, two network ports and OCuLink for an external graphics enclosure later. Neither replaces a workstation.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | ASUS NUC 14 Pro | MINISFORUM UM890 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 5 125H | AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS |
| Graphics | Intel Arc Graphics | AMD Radeon 780M |
| Installed memory | Not included in this barebones kit | Not included in this barebones kit |
| Installed storage | Not included in this barebones kit | Not included in this barebones kit |
| Maximum memory | 48 GB | 96 GB |
| Memory slots | 2 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 2 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE | 2.5GbE |
| USB4 ports | 0 | 2 |
| Thunderbolt ports | 2 | 0 |
Workload by workload
Everyday use and coding are well suited on both finished machines: the NUC's Core Ultra 7 155H brings 16 cores and 22 threads, while the UM890 Pro's Ryzen 9 8945HS has 8 cores and 16 threads with 32 GB or 64 GB of DDR5. The barebones kits of either are not assessed until built, because they ship without memory or storage.
Gaming is workable on both, suited to esports and older titles at 1080p. ASUS notes that the Intel Arc graphics need both SO-DIMM slots filled to reach full performance, and the UM890 Pro's Radeon 780M is joined by a PCIe 4.0 x4 OCuLink port that can drive an external GPU enclosure.
Local AI is where they part ways. The NUC with 16 GB is a poor fit, holding only small quantised models as sold. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Neither maker states memory bandwidth, which governs how fast text is generated.
As homelab boxes, both are workable. The NUC has one 2.5GbE port, while the UM890 Pro has two 2.5GbE ports and no 10GbE. Add an interface to the NUC for separate physical network links, or consider a suitable VLAN setup. VLAN routing over a single port is possible with a compatible managed switch and suitable network configuration. Workstation use is a poor fit for both, with no x8 or x16 card slot and fewer than four memory slots.
Expansion and upgrades
Both machines use two SODIMM slots with no soldered memory, so the installed memory is a starting point rather than a ceiling. The NUC 14 Pro tops out at 48 GB, so the 16 GB model has room to grow. The UM890 Pro goes to 96 GB, above both the 32 GB and the 64 GB models it ships as.
Each has two M.2 slots. ASUS gives the NUC's slot lengths as 2280 + 2242, so check which length the free slot takes before you buy a drive; the UM890 Pro takes 2280 drives. Neither maker states the PCIe generation of the slots, and an added M.2 drive runs at whatever speed its slot allows. The barebones kits need memory and storage fitted before they run.
Ports and connectivity
The NUC 14 Pro has one 2.5GbE port, plus Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3 with the wireless module included. Around it sit two Thunderbolt ports, three USB-C ports and three USB-A ports. Screens connect through its two HDMI outputs; ASUS does not state the HDMI version or the maximum number of displays.
The UM890 Pro has two 2.5GbE ports, two USB4 ports at 40Gbps, two USB-C ports, four USB-A ports and OCuLink. It offers one HDMI and one DisplayPort output for screens, and MINISFORUM does not state either version or the maximum number of displays. MINISFORUM also does not state the Wi-Fi standard, the Bluetooth version or whether a wireless module is included, so count on its wired ports.
Which configurations to compare
The fair finished-machine match is the NUC 14 Pro with the Core Ultra 7 155H, 16 GB of DDR5 and a 512 GB NVMe drive against the UM890 Pro with 32 GB of DDR5 and a 1000 GB NVMe drive. Both run Windows 11 Pro and arrive new. For local AI, the 64 GB UM890 Pro is the one to pick, since it is well suited where the 16 GB NUC is a poor fit. If you build your own, set the barebones NUC with the Core Ultra 7 155H, or the Core Ultra 5 125H with 14 cores and 18 threads, against the barebones UM890 Pro with the Ryzen 9 8945HS.
If neither fits
If you want an Intel machine like the NUC but with more memory room, the rule-chosen alternative is the MINISFORUM MS-01. It uses the Intel Core i9-13900H rather than the Core Ultra 7 155H, and its maximum memory is 96 GB rather than 48 GB. That second point matters if memory capacity is what rules the NUC out for you.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | ASUS NUC 14 Pro | MINISFORUM UM890 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Workable | Workable |
| Home lab | Workable | Workable |
| Local AI | Not suited | Good |
| Workstation | Not suited | Not suited |
Common questions
Which one is better for running local language models?
For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The 32 GB model is workable, and the 16 GB NUC 14 Pro is a poor fit, holding only small quantised models as sold.
Can I add an external graphics card?
The UM890 Pro has an OCuLink port, a PCIe 4.0 x4 link that can drive an external GPU enclosure. ASUS does not state OCuLink for the NUC 14 Pro, and neither machine has an internal PCIe card slot.
How many monitors can I connect?
The NUC 14 Pro has two HDMI outputs, and the UM890 Pro has one HDMI and one DisplayPort output. Neither maker states the maximum number of displays, so plan your desk around those two video outputs on each machine.
Can I upgrade the memory later?
Yes, on both. Each has two SODIMM slots and no soldered memory. The NUC 14 Pro takes up to 48 GB, and the UM890 Pro takes up to 96 GB, the higher ceiling for buyers who expect their needs to grow.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.