Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

MINISFORUM UM890 Pro

MINISFORUM UM890 Pro: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

An AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS with eight cores and sixteen threads, socketed DDR5 that grows to 96 GB and an OCuLink port make the UM890 Pro a flexible compact desktop for coding, local AI and lighter gaming. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The 32 GB model handles everyday work and development comfortably. Skip it if you need 10GbE or an internal card slot.

Choose a configuration

Product image: MINISFORUM UM890 Pro

AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS, barebones kit

AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS
CPU
BAREBONES
CONFIG
RAM & SSD required
Dual 2.5GbE
NETWORK
£425.00
Kit price, before RAM and SSD

Who this suits

It suits developers who want plenty of threads and memory in a compact box. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. A homelab role works too: two 2.5GbE ports and two M.2 2280 slots make it a reasonable host for containers or a few virtual machines. Players of esports and older titles at 1080p will find the Radeon 780M workable.

Skip it if you need a workstation. It has no discrete graphics and no card slot, so it is a poor fit for that work. Skip it too if your network plan depends on 10GbE, because the UM890 Pro does not have it.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited on both complete models: eight cores, sixteen threads and 32 GB or 64 GB of DDR5 go far beyond desktop needs. Coding is well suited for the same reasons, and the two USB4 ports help with fast external storage.

Gaming is workable. The integrated Radeon 780M suits esports and older titles at 1080p as sold.

Homelab use is workable. You get two 2.5GbE ports, two M.2 2280 slots and memory expandable to 96 GB, but no 10GbE.

Local AI depends on memory. The 32 GB model is workable, with headroom to 96 GB. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. That judgement rests on memory capacity, and generation speed has not been measured.

Workstation work is a poor fit. There is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot and only two memory slots.

The barebones kit is not assessed until built for any of these, because it ships without memory or storage.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
32 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableWorkableNot suited
64 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGoodNot suited
Barebones kitNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedWorkableNot confirmedNot suited

Which configuration to choose

All three versions share the AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS with eight cores, sixteen threads and Radeon 780M graphics. The two complete models differ only in memory: 32 GB or 64 GB of DDR5, each with a 1000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro. Choose the 32 GB model for coding and everyday work. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The barebones kit ships without memory or storage, so it makes sense if you already own DDR5 and an M.2 2280 drive.

Upgrading it

The memory is not soldered. Two slots take up to 96 GB, so the 32 GB model can grow later and the 64 GB model can still reach 96 GB. For storage there are two M.2 slots for 2280 drives. Assuming the included 1000 GB NVMe drive sits in one of them, the other is free for a second drive. There is no internal PCIe card slot, so expansion beyond memory and drives runs through the external ports.

Connecting it

For screens, you have one HDMI output and one DisplayPort output, which gives two monitors over dedicated video ports. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays or the HDMI and DisplayPort versions, so check those before planning a high refresh setup. Both USB-C ports are USB4. Four USB-A ports cover keyboards, drives and dongles. There are no Thunderbolt ports. For networking you get two wired ports at 2.5GbE. An OCuLink port completes the set, alongside the two USB4 ports.

Manufacturer specifications

Partly verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
MINISFORUM
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS
Cores and threads
8 cores, 16 threads
Graphics
AMD Radeon 780M
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
32–64 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
96 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
1 TB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
Not confirmed
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
2
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
2
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
4
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
Not confirmed
OCuLink
Yes
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
Not confirmed
Volume
Not confirmed

Limitations

Wired networking tops out at 2.5GbE, with no 10GbE option. There is no internal PCIe card slot, and the integrated Radeon 780M makes it a poor fit for workstation duties. MINISFORUM leaves many details unstated: dimensions and volume, memory speed, ECC support, the PCIe generation of either M.2 slot, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, the Wi-Fi standard, whether a wireless module is included, Bluetooth, USB-C DisplayPort alt mode, HDMI and DisplayPort versions, maximum displays, an SD card reader, the power supply, TDP and VESA mounting.

Alternatives

The MINISFORUM MS-01 is the one to look at if networking decides it. It pairs two 10GbE SFP+ ports with two 2.5GbE ports and uses an Intel Core i9-13900H. The Beelink EQi13 switches to an Intel Core i5-13420H, and Beelink does not state its maximum memory, so you cannot plan around the 96 GB ceiling the UM890 Pro offers. The Beelink EQR6 uses an AMD Ryzen 5 6600H instead of the Ryzen 9 8945HS, and its memory ceiling is not confirmed either.

Product image: GMKtec NucBox K13

GMKtec NucBox K13

Intel Core Ultra 7 256V
CPU
16 GB LPDDR5X
RAM
512 GB SSD
STORAGE
5GbE
NETWORK
£469.96
£489.96SAVE £20.00

Compared with

Common questions

Can the UM890 Pro run a 70B model locally?

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The 32 GB model is workable and can be upgraded to 96 GB. Generation speed has not been measured.

Is the memory upgradeable?

Yes. The memory is not soldered, and the two slots accept up to 96 GB of DDR5. You can expand the 32 GB model later. The barebones kit needs memory and storage fitted before it runs at all.

How many monitors can I connect?

You can count on one HDMI and one DisplayPort output, which gives two screens over dedicated video ports. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays or whether the USB-C ports carry DisplayPort, so do not plan around a third screen.

Is the UM890 Pro good for gaming?

It is workable for gaming. The integrated Radeon 780M suits esports and older titles at 1080p as sold. It also has an OCuLink port, and you should check that an enclosure is compatible before buying one.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.