
ASUS ROG NUC 15 vs ASUS ROG NUC 16
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.
Updated


ASUS ROG NUC 16
The short answer
The ROG NUC 16 states nearly every port and network detail, while ASUS states almost none of them for the ROG NUC 15, and that gap shapes this choice more than the processors do. Both are compact machines with discrete NVIDIA graphics, well suited to gaming and coding. Choose the NUC 16 for known display outputs, Wi-Fi 7 and memory room to 128 GB. Choose the NUC 15 if a second M.2 slot for an extra drive matters more and you can confirm its ports yourself.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | ASUS ROG NUC 15 | ASUS ROG NUC 16 |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX | Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop |
| Installed memory | 32 GB | 16 GB |
| Installed storage | 1 TB | 1 TB |
| Maximum memory | 96 GB | 128 GB |
| Memory slots | 2 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 1 |
| LAN speed | Not confirmed | 2.5GbE |
| USB4 ports | Not confirmed | 0 |
| Thunderbolt ports | Not confirmed | 1 |
Workload by workload
Everyday work and coding are well suited on both, except that the ROG NUC 15 with 64 GB and the RTX 5070 Laptop is not assessed for these tasks. Gaming is well suited on every NUC 16 and on every assessed NUC 15, each carrying a discrete NVIDIA Laptop GPU between the RTX 5060 Laptop and the RTX 5080 Laptop; the 64 GB NUC 15 is not assessed, and frame rates are not measured for either. The ROG NUC 16's GPUs use GDDR7 memory. Both are well suited as workstations on the strength of that discrete graphics.
As a homelab box, both are workable for different reasons. The NUC 15 has room to grow, up to 96 GB on two SODIMM slots plus two M.2 2280 slots, but its networking is not stated. The NUC 16 has a single 2.5GbE port, enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks.
Local AI is where they part. The NUC 15 with the RTX 5060 Laptop and 16 GB is a poor fit, since as sold only small quantised models would fit; its other assessed configurations are workable. Every NUC 16 is workable, with the GPU's own memory, not the system total, bounding model size. That is 8 GB, 12 GB or 16 GB on the NUC 16, while ASUS does not state it for the RTX 5070 Laptop in the NUC 15.
Expansion and upgrades
Both keep memory in two SODIMM slots and neither solders it, so either can be upgraded later. The ROG NUC 15 takes up to 96 GB, so even its 64 GB model still has room to grow. The ROG NUC 16 takes up to 128 GB at 6400 MT/s, so even its 64 GB model can double its memory.
Storage favours the NUC 15: two M.2 2280 slots let you add an M.2 drive beside the 1000 GB or 2000 GB NVMe drive it ships with. ASUS does not state either slot's PCIe generation, so a new drive's speed is an open question. The NUC 16 has one M.2 2280 slot at PCIe generation 5, already holding its NVMe drive, so more storage means swapping that drive. Neither has a PCIe expansion slot.
Ports and connectivity
The ROG NUC 16 has one 2.5GbE network port, Wi-Fi 7 with the wireless module included, and Bluetooth 5.4. Around it sit 6 USB-A ports, 2 USB-C ports and 1 Thunderbolt port, with no USB4 or OCuLink. Screens connect through 2 HDMI 2.1 and 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, and USB-C carries DisplayPort as well, for up to 5 displays. 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI also needs an HDMI 2.1 cable and display.
For the ROG NUC 15, ASUS does not state the networking, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, USB, Thunderbolt or USB4 ports, HDMI or DisplayPort outputs, maximum displays, OCuLink, SD card reader, VESA mount, power supply, TDP, dimensions, memory speed, ECC support, graphics memory type or core counts on most configurations. On the NUC 16, ASUS does not state the SD card reader, VESA mount, ECC support or TDP. Check the NUC 15's rear panel before planning a multi-monitor desk.
Which configurations to compare
Pair them by graphics card. The ROG NUC 15 with the Core Ultra 7 255HX and RTX 5060 Laptop meets the ROG NUC 16 with the Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus and the same GPU, each with 16 GB and 1000 GB. The 32 GB NUC 15 with the RTX 5070 Ti Laptop pairs with the NUC 16 on the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, 32 GB and the same GPU. The RTX 5080 Laptop models both carry 2000 GB, though the NUC 16 brings 64 GB against 32 GB. The NUC 15's RTX 5070 Laptop models have no NUC 16 counterpart.
If neither fits
If a discrete NVIDIA graphics card is not what you want, the HP Z2 Mini G1a is the alternative to look at. It uses an AMD Ryzen AI Max PRO 385 rather than the Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX, and integrated graphics rather than discrete. That suits a buyer who prefers a different processor platform over a dedicated graphics card; check its own specifications for ports and memory before deciding.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | ASUS ROG NUC 15 | ASUS ROG NUC 16 |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Good | Good |
| Home lab | Workable | Workable |
| Local AI | Workable | Workable |
| Workstation | Good | Good |
Common questions
Which one has more ports and display outputs?
The ROG NUC 16 has 2 HDMI 2.1 outputs, 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs and support for up to 5 displays, plus 6 USB-A ports. ASUS does not state these for the ROG NUC 15, so only the NUC 16 can be planned around a known multi-monitor setup.
Can I add a second SSD?
In the ROG NUC 15, yes: it has two M.2 2280 slots, so an M.2 drive can go alongside the installed one. The ROG NUC 16 has one M.2 slot, already used by its NVMe drive, so you would replace that drive instead of adding another.
How much memory can each take?
Both use two SODIMM slots with memory that is not soldered, so upgrades are straightforward. The ROG NUC 15 accepts up to 96 GB and the ROG NUC 16 up to 128 GB. Either can start at 16 GB and be raised later.
Which is better for running local language models?
Pick a configuration with more graphics memory: on the ROG NUC 16 the GPU's own memory bounds model size, and its RTX 5080 Laptop has 16 GB. The ROG NUC 15 with the RTX 5060 Laptop and 16 GB is a poor fit for local AI.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.