Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

ASUS ROG NUC 16

ASUS ROG NUC 16: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Gaming and workstation work are what the ROG NUC 16 is built for: every configuration carries a discrete NVIDIA GeForce GPU, from the RTX 5060 Laptop to the RTX 5080 Laptop, inside a compact case. Memory sits in 2 slots rather than being soldered, so the 16 GB entry model can grow to 128 GB later. Pick it for a desk gaming PC that drives up to 5 displays. Skip it if everyday office work is all you need.

Choose a configuration

Product image: ASUS ROG NUC 16

Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop, 16 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus
CPU
16 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop
GRAPHICS
£2,948.19
Product image: ASUS ROG NUC 16

Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop, 32 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop
GRAPHICS
£3,744.35
Product image: ASUS ROG NUC 16

Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop, 64 GB / 2 TB

Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus
CPU
64 GB DDR5
RAM
2 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop
GRAPHICS
£6,905.37

Who this suits

It suits players who want laptop-class NVIDIA graphics without a laptop, and who would rather add memory later than replace the machine. It also suits CUDA-backed coding and workstation tasks on Windows 11 Pro, since every model ships with a discrete GPU and the operating system installed. Multi-monitor desks are covered too, with up to 5 displays.

Skip it if your day is email, browsing and documents. That work is well suited, but it needs far less machine. Skip it as a homelab router too, because the single 2.5GbE port suits a Docker host, not routing between networks. And if you need a PCIe card slot or OCuLink, there is neither.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited, though it is far more machine than browsing and office work need.

Coding is well suited: 16, 32 or 64 GB of DDR5 sits in two upgradeable SODIMM slots, and the discrete GPU handles anything that uses CUDA.

Gaming is well suited, because a discrete RTX 5060 Laptop, RTX 5070 Ti Laptop or RTX 5080 Laptop ships with the chassis and keeps its own memory instead of sharing system memory. Frame rates are not measured, so let the GPU name guide you.

Homelab use is workable: one 2.5GbE port is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks.

Local AI is workable. With a discrete GPU, the card's own memory bounds model size, not the system total, and that is 8 GB, 12 GB or 16 GB depending on the configuration. More system memory helps around the model but does not lift that limit.

Workstation work is well suited, with discrete graphics in every model and 24 cores in the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus models. The entry Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus has 20 cores.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
Ultra 7 270HX Plus, RTX 5060GoodGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGood
Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5070 TiGoodGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGood
Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080GoodGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGood

Which configuration to choose

The entry model pairs the Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus with an RTX 5060 Laptop carrying 8 GB, plus 16 GB of DDR5 and 1000 GB of NVMe storage. The middle model moves to the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, an RTX 5070 Ti Laptop with 12 GB, 32 GB of memory and the same 1000 GB drive. The top model keeps that processor and adds an RTX 5080 Laptop with 16 GB, 64 GB of memory and 2000 GB of storage. Choose by graphics card, since memory can be added later and the GPU is fixed.

Upgrading it

Memory is the easy upgrade: 2 slots, nothing soldered, DDR5 at 6400 MT/s and a ceiling of 128 GB. The 16 GB and 32 GB models can grow to 128 GB, and the 64 GB model can go there as well.

Storage is tighter. There is 1 M.2 slot, for 2280 drives at PCIe generation 5, so more M.2 capacity means swapping the 1000 GB or 2000 GB drive for a larger one rather than adding a second M.2 drive. There is no PCIe card slot for expansion either.

Connecting it

For screens, there are 2 HDMI 2.1 outputs and 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, and the USB-C ports carry DisplayPort alt mode, with ASUS giving 5 displays as the maximum. There are 2 USB-C ports and 1 Thunderbolt port, but no USB4 ports and no OCuLink.

For wired peripherals, 6 USB-A ports cover keyboards, drives and dongles. Networking is 1 port at 2.5GbE, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 from an included wireless module. Power comes from an external 280W or 380W supply.

Manufacturer specifications

Partly verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
ASUS
Processor
Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus, Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus
Cores and threads
20–24 cores, 20–24 threads
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2026

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16–64 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
128 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
1 TB–2 TB
M.2 slots
1
SATA bays
Not confirmed
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.4
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
1
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
6
HDMI outputs
2
DisplayPort outputs
2
Maximum displays
5
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
280W or 380W external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
282.4 x 189.5 x 56.5
Volume
Not confirmed

Limitations

The main hardware limits are a single M.2 slot, a single network port, and no PCIe slot or OCuLink. The power supply is external, so plan desk space for the brick. ASUS does not state the case volume, the memory bandwidth, ECC support, whether the M.2 slot accepts SATA drives, SATA bays, an SD card reader, the TDP or a VESA mount.

Alternatives

The GMKtec EVO-X2 takes the other road, with an AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 in place of Intel's Core Ultra processors and integrated graphics instead of a discrete NVIDIA GPU. The deciding question is whether you want a dedicated graphics card with its own memory for gaming and CUDA work, as every ROG NUC 16 has. If so, this ASUS is the clearer fit; if integrated graphics appeal, compare the EVO-X2's memory ceiling against the 128 GB here.

Product image: Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250

Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250

Intel Core Ultra 7 265
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA RTX A1000
GRAPHICS
£3,005.41
Product image: GEEKOM A9 Mega

GEEKOM A9 Mega

AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
CPU
128 GB LPDDR5X
RAM
2 TB SSD
STORAGE
Dual 2.5GbE
NETWORK
£3,399.00
Product image: Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

Intel Core Ultra 7 265
CPU
64 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA RTX A1000
GRAPHICS
£3,418.57
Product image: GMKtec EVO-X2

GMKtec EVO-X2

AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
CPU
128 GB LPDDR5X
RAM
2 TB SSD
STORAGE
2.5GbE
NETWORK
£3,483.32
£3,699.96SAVE £216.64

Compared with

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory in the ROG NUC 16?

Yes. The memory is not soldered: there are 2 slots taking DDR5 at 6400 MT/s, up to 128 GB. The 16 GB, 32 GB and 64 GB models can all be raised to that ceiling.

How many monitors can it drive?

ASUS gives a maximum of 5 displays. You get 2 HDMI 2.1 outputs and 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, and the USB-C ports support DisplayPort alt mode, so you can mix cables to suit your screens.

Which configuration is best for local AI?

The RTX 5080 Laptop model, because with a discrete GPU the graphics memory bounds model size, and it has 16 GB against 12 GB and 8 GB in the others. Local AI is workable here rather than well suited.

Does it have Wi-Fi built in?

Yes. A wireless module is included, with Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, alongside 1 wired network port at 2.5GbE. That wired port is enough for a Docker host, though not for routing between networks.

Can I add a second SSD?

Not in a second M.2 slot: there is 1, taking 2280 drives at PCIe generation 5. ASUS does not state whether there are SATA bays, so do not count on one; a larger drive in that M.2 slot is the confirmed way to add capacity.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.