
BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra
BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra: compare this configuration by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Measuring 108 x 105 x 36 mm, the BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra is a palm-sized Windows 11 Pro desktop for browsing, office work and video, and that is the job to keep it on. Its four-core Intel N150 and 12 GB of soldered LPDDR5 handle everyday tasks well. The memory can never grow, though, so coding, gaming, homelab and local AI are all a poor fit. Pick it for a desk or shelf that needs a basic PC and nothing more.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.co.uk
A current UK price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.co.uk, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
It suits someone who wants a small Windows 11 Pro machine for email, documents, web apps and video, set up once and left alone. It arrives complete, with 12 GB of memory and a 512 GB NVMe drive installed, so there is nothing to assemble. Four USB-A ports and two HDMI outputs cover a keyboard, mouse, printer and a pair of screens.
Skip it if you compile code, run containers, play games or want to run language models locally. The 12 GB is soldered and is also the maximum, so a workload that outgrows it has nowhere to go. A single 1GbE port also rules it out as a network appliance.
Workload fit
Everyday use is well suited. An Intel N150 with 4 cores and 4 threads, 12 GB of LPDDR5 and a 512 GB NVMe drive are enough for browsing, office documents, video calls and streaming on Windows 11 Pro.
Coding is a poor fit. The 12 GB is soldered with no upgrade path, and an editor, a browser full of documentation and a local build will press against that ceiling with no way to raise it.
Gaming is a poor fit. Graphics come from integrated Intel Graphics, and BMAX does not state how much memory the graphics can use.
Homelab use is a poor fit. There is one network port at 1GbE, so the box cannot act as a router with separate WAN and LAN ports, and the fixed 12 GB limits how many virtual machines or containers fit at once.
Local AI is a poor fit. With 12 GB of soldered memory and only integrated graphics, little room is left for a language model once Windows takes its share, and BMAX does not state the memory bandwidth.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 GB / 512 GB | Good | Not suited | Not suited | Not suited | Not suited |
Which configuration to choose
One build is described here: the Intel N150 with 12 GB of LPDDR5, a 512 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, sold new as a complete machine rather than a barebones kit, released in 2025. With no choice on processor or memory, the decision is about your workload: if 12 GB covers what you do now and later, this is the build; if not, it is the wrong machine rather than the wrong configuration. Storage, by contrast, can grow, since there are two M.2 slots for the single installed 512 GB drive.
Upgrading it
Memory is fixed. There are no memory slots, the 12 GB of LPDDR5 is soldered to the board, and 12 GB is also the maximum, so what you buy is what you keep.
Storage has some headroom. There are two M.2 slots of the 2280 length, so you can add an M.2 drive beside the installed 512 GB NVMe drive. The first slot runs at PCIe Gen 3, BMAX does not state the generation of the second slot, and the slots also accept M.2 SATA drives. There are no SATA bays.
Connecting it
You can run two screens, both from the two HDMI outputs; there is no DisplayPort output. BMAX does not state the HDMI version, so check it before relying on a high-resolution, high-refresh monitor.
For peripherals there are four USB-A ports and one USB-C port. Wired networking is a single 1GbE port. The wireless standard is Wi-Fi 5 with Bluetooth 5.0, though BMAX does not confirm that the wireless module is included. There is no OCuLink port.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- BMAX
- Processor
- Intel N150
- Cores and threads
- 4 cores, 4 threads
- Graphics
- Intel Graphics
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2025
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 12 GB
- Memory slots
- 0
- Maximum memory
- 12 GB
- Memory soldered
- Yes
- Installed storage
- 512 GB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- Not confirmed
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 1GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 5
- Bluetooth
- 5.0
- USB4 ports
- Not confirmed
- Thunderbolt ports
- Not confirmed
- USB-C ports
- 1
- USB-A ports
- 4
- HDMI outputs
- 2
- DisplayPort outputs
- 0
- Maximum displays
- 2
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- Not confirmed
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- 108 x 105 x 36
- Volume
- Not confirmed
Limitations
The 12 GB of soldered memory is the hard limit, and nothing raises it. Networking stops at one 1GbE port, and there is no DisplayPort output or OCuLink port. BMAX does not state the volume, the graphics memory, the memory speed or bandwidth, ECC support, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, whether a wireless module is included, USB4 or Thunderbolt ports, the HDMI version, an SD card reader, the power supply, the TDP or a VESA mount.
Alternatives
When you weigh other ultra-compact machines, compare the memory first: whether it sits in removable slots and how high the maximum goes, since this one is fixed at 12 GB. Then set their network ports and speed against this single 1GbE port, and their display count against this machine's two. The storage layout is worth matching too: two M.2 slots here, the first at PCIe Gen 3.


Beelink EQR5

GMKtec NucBox G10

Beelink EQ14
Common questions
Can I upgrade the RAM in the BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra?
No. The 12 GB of LPDDR5 is soldered, there are no memory slots, and 12 GB is the maximum. If you expect to need more memory later, a machine with removable memory is the better choice.
Can I add a second SSD?
Yes. There are two M.2 slots of the 2280 length beside the installed 512 GB NVMe drive, and they accept M.2 SATA drives too. BMAX states PCIe Gen 3 for the first slot but not the second slot's generation.
How many monitors can it drive?
Two, from its two HDMI outputs; there is no DisplayPort output. BMAX does not state the HDMI version, so confirm your monitor's resolution and refresh rate will work before you commit to a demanding display setup.
Is it a good home server?
It is a poor fit for homelab use. A single 1GbE network port and a fixed 12 GB of memory limit both routing roles and how many containers or virtual machines you can run at once.
Does it have Wi-Fi?
BMAX gives the wireless standard as Wi-Fi 5 and Bluetooth as 5.0, but does not confirm whether the wireless module comes included. If wireless matters, check the box contents; the single 1GbE port is the confirmed way online.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.