Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GEEKOM A8 Max

GEEKOM A8 Max: compare 4 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Every build of the GEEKOM A8 Max shares one formula: an AMD processor with 8 cores and 16 threads, integrated Radeon 780M graphics, socketed DDR5 that reaches 64 GB, two 2.5GbE ports and two USB4 ports in a compact case. That makes it well suited to everyday work and coding. It handles esports and older games at 1080p, and it can double as a compact homelab or local AI box. Skip it if you need a graphics card slot or workstation graphics.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.co.uk

A current UK price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.co.uk, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits developers and office users who want 16 threads and 32 GB as a starting point, and who like knowing the memory and both M.2 drives can be changed later. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system.

Skip it if you play demanding recent games, because there is no discrete GPU and the Radeon 780M is aimed at esports and older titles. Skip it too for workstation jobs that need a professional graphics card or more than 64 GB of memory.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited: the 32 GB and 64 GB builds go well beyond what browsing, office work and video calls need.

Coding is well suited too, with 8 cores, 16 threads and DDR5 in 2 slots that take up to 64 GB, plus 2 USB4 ports for docks and drives.

Gaming is workable: the Radeon 780M is integrated graphics suited to esports and older titles at 1080p, and there is no discrete GPU.

Homelab use is workable, with 2 network ports at 2.5GbE, 2 M.2 2280 slots and 32 GB builds expandable to 64 GB.

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured.

Workstation work is a poor fit: no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot, only 2 memory slots and too little memory.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
32 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableWorkableNot suited
32 GB / 1 TB, Ryzen 7GoodGoodWorkableWorkableWorkableNot suited
32 GB / 2 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableWorkableNot suited
64 GB / 2 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGoodNot suited

Which configuration to choose

Every build shares 8 cores, 16 threads, the Radeon 780M, DDR5, NVMe storage and Windows 11 Pro. The Ryzen 7 8845HS model comes with 32 GB and 1000 GB. The Ryzen 9 8945HS comes with 32 GB and 1000 GB, 32 GB and 2000 GB, or 64 GB and 2000 GB. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system.

Upgrading it

Memory sits in 2 slots and is not soldered, with a maximum of 64 GB. The 32 GB builds have room to grow to 64 GB, while the 64 GB build already sits at the ceiling. GEEKOM does not state the memory speed, so confirm it before ordering modules.

Storage uses 2 M.2 slots in the common 2280 length, so adding or swapping a drive is straightforward. GEEKOM does not state the PCIe generation of either slot, which matters if you are paying for a fast drive.

Connecting it

For screens, count on the 2 HDMI outputs; there is no DisplayPort output, and GEEKOM does not state the HDMI version or the maximum number of displays. You also get 2 USB4 ports, 2 USB-C ports, 5 USB-A ports and an SD card reader, but no Thunderbolt port.

Networking is wired first: 2 ports at 2.5GbE, handy for splitting traffic in a homelab. GEEKOM does not state whether a wireless module is included or which Wi-Fi standard it uses, so plan on Ethernet.

Manufacturer specifications

Partly verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
GEEKOM
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS, AMD Ryzen 7 8845HS
Cores and threads
8 cores, 16 threads
Graphics
AMD Radeon 780M
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
32–64 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
64 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
1 TB–2 TB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
Not confirmed
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
2
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
2
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
5
HDMI outputs
2
DisplayPort outputs
0
Maximum displays
Not confirmed
OCuLink
Not confirmed
SD card reader
Yes
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
Not confirmed
Volume
Not confirmed

Limitations

There is no PCIe card slot, no discrete GPU and no Thunderbolt port, and memory tops out at 64 GB. GEEKOM does not state the dimensions, volume, memory speed, memory slot type, memory bandwidth, ECC support, the PCIe generation of either M.2 slot, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth, whether a wireless module is included, USB-C display output, HDMI version, maximum displays, OCuLink, power supply, TDP, VESA mount or graphics memory.

Alternatives

If 64 GB is the limit that worries you, the MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra raises the memory ceiling to 256 GB and swaps the Ryzen 9 8945HS for an Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX. That ceiling is the deciding difference; if 64 GB covers your plans, the A8 Max already gives you socketed memory, 2 M.2 slots and 2 ports at 2.5GbE. With other machines, compare the memory ceiling, the network ports and the number of M.2 slots.

Product image: GMKtec NucBox G10

GMKtec NucBox G10

AMD Ryzen 5 3500U
CPU
16 GB DDR4
RAM
256 GB SSD
STORAGE
2.5GbE
NETWORK
£299.96
£309.96SAVE £10.00

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory in the GEEKOM A8 Max?

Yes. The memory is not soldered and sits in 2 slots, with a maximum of 64 GB, so a 32 GB build can grow to 64 GB later. GEEKOM does not state the memory speed, so check it before buying modules.

How many monitors can the A8 Max drive?

Plan on the 2 HDMI outputs, since there is no DisplayPort output. GEEKOM does not state the HDMI version or the maximum number of displays, so confirm those before relying on a particular screen setup or high refresh rates.

Which A8 Max build can run a 70B language model?

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured.

Is the A8 Max good for gaming?

Gaming is workable. The integrated Radeon 780M suits esports and older titles at 1080p, but there is no discrete GPU and no card slot to add one, so demanding recent games are not its job.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.