Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec NucBox G3S

GMKtec NucBox G3S: compare this configuration by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Small enough to hang behind a monitor on its VESA mount, the GMKtec NucBox G3S is an ultra-compact desktop for everyday work and not much beyond it. Its Intel N95 has four cores and four threads, and it comes with 8 GB of DDR4, a 256 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro. Pick it for everyday desk work across two screens on its two HDMI outputs, and look elsewhere for gaming, local AI, a homelab or workstation jobs.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.co.uk

A current UK price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.co.uk, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits anyone who wants a small, tidy computer for everyday tasks, with Windows 11 Pro already installed. At 114 x 106 x 44 mm it fits on a crowded desk, and the VESA mount lets it sit behind a monitor or TV. Two HDMI outputs make a two-screen office setup simple. Coding is workable too, within the limits of one memory slot and a 16 GB ceiling.

Skip it if you game, want to run language models locally, or plan to build a homelab or use it as a workstation. Integrated Intel UHD Graphics, a 16 GB memory ceiling and a single gigabit network port hold it back for those jobs.

Workload fit

Everyday use is where it is well suited: an Intel N95 with four cores and four threads, 8 GB of DDR4 and NVMe storage handle ordinary desk work.

Coding is workable. The constraint is memory: there is one memory slot and a 16 GB ceiling, so there is little room to grow.

Gaming is a poor fit. The only graphics is the integrated Intel UHD Graphics, and there is no PCIe card slot to add anything stronger.

A homelab is a poor fit as well, because of gigabit networking and one memory slot. There is a single network port and no SATA bays, so storage means the two M.2 slots.

Local AI is a poor fit. It has 8 GB of DDR4 installed, a 16 GB ceiling and integrated graphics, which leaves little memory for language models.

Workstation work is a poor fit too: there is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot, fewer than four memory slots and too little memory.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
8 GB / 256 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedNot suitedNot suitedNot suited

Which configuration to choose

The NucBox G3S comes in one configuration: the Intel N95 with 8 GB of DDR4, a 256 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, sold new and released in 2024. It is a complete system rather than a barebones kit, so it works out of the box. With no choice of build, the question is whether 8 GB and 256 GB are enough for you. For everyday work they are a sound start; for coding, plan on a 16 GB module and perhaps a drive in the second M.2 slot.

Upgrading it

Memory is socketed, not soldered, in a single slot, and the maximum is 16 GB. Upgrading therefore means replacing the 8 GB module rather than adding a second one, and 16 GB is as far as it goes. GMKtec does not state the memory speed, so check the installed DDR4 module before ordering a replacement.

Storage has more room. There are two M.2 slots that take 2280 and 2242 drives, so a second drive can sit next to the 256 GB one. GMKtec does not state the PCIe generation or SATA support of either slot, so check what the second slot accepts before buying. There are no SATA bays.

Connecting it

For screens there are two HDMI outputs and no DisplayPort, and the maximum is two displays. GMKtec does not state the HDMI version, so check that it can drive your monitor at the resolution and refresh rate you want. There are no USB-C ports.

Networking is one gigabit Ethernet port, plus Wi-Fi 5 and Bluetooth 5.0, although GMKtec does not state whether the wireless module is included. For an external graphics card, there is no OCuLink port, and GMKtec does not state whether there are USB4 or Thunderbolt ports.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
GMKtec
Processor
Intel N95
Cores and threads
4 cores, 4 threads
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
8 GB
Memory slots
1
Maximum memory
16 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
256 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
1GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 5
Bluetooth
5.0
USB4 ports
Not confirmed
Thunderbolt ports
Not confirmed
USB-C ports
0
USB-A ports
Not confirmed
HDMI outputs
2
DisplayPort outputs
0
Maximum displays
2
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
114 x 106 x 44
Volume
Not confirmed

Limitations

The limits are built in: a single memory slot with a 16 GB ceiling, one gigabit network port, no USB-C ports, no DisplayPort, no SATA bays and no PCIe card slot. Graphics are integrated Intel UHD only. GMKtec also does not state the volume, memory speed, memory slot type, ECC support, the PCIe generation of either M.2 slot, M.2 SATA support, the number of USB-A ports, USB4 or Thunderbolt ports, the HDMI version, whether the wireless module is included, an SD card reader, the power supply or the TDP.

Alternatives

When you weigh other mini PCs against the NucBox G3S, start with the memory ceiling and slot count, since this one stops at 16 GB in one slot, and with the network ports, since it has a single gigabit port. Then compare display outputs and expansion: it drives two screens over HDMI, has no PCIe card slot, and offers two M.2 slots for storage.

Product image: GMKtec NucBox G10

GMKtec NucBox G10

AMD Ryzen 5 3500U
CPU
16 GB DDR4
RAM
256 GB SSD
STORAGE
2.5GbE
NETWORK
£299.96
£309.96SAVE £10.00

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory in the NucBox G3S?

Yes, the memory is not soldered, but there is only one slot and the maximum is 16 GB, so you replace the installed 8 GB module instead of adding one. GMKtec does not state the memory speed, so buy DDR4 and check the fitted module first.

How many monitors can it run?

Two. The NucBox G3S has two HDMI outputs and no DisplayPort, and GMKtec gives a maximum of two displays. GMKtec does not state the HDMI version, so confirm it handles your monitor's resolution and refresh rate before you buy.

Can I add a second SSD?

Yes. There are two M.2 slots that take 2280 and 2242 drives, and the machine ships with a 256 GB NVMe drive. GMKtec does not state either slot's PCIe generation or SATA support, so confirm what the second slot accepts before buying.

Is the NucBox G3S any good for gaming?

No, gaming is a poor fit. It relies on integrated Intel UHD Graphics alongside an Intel N95, and it has no PCIe card slot and no OCuLink port. It is built for everyday desk work, where it is well suited.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.