Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec NucBox K13

GMKtec NucBox K13: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

A 5GbE network port and an eight-core Intel Core Ultra 7 256V share a 0.6-litre case in the GMKtec NucBox K13. It is an ultra-compact Windows 11 Pro desktop that is well suited to everyday work and workable for coding and a light homelab. Gaming, local AI and workstation jobs are a poor fit, and the 16 GB of LPDDR5X is soldered at its maximum, so buy it for office and development work that stays within that amount.

Choose a configuration

Product image: GMKtec NucBox K13

Intel Core Ultra 7 256V, 16 GB / 512 GB

Intel Core Ultra 7 256V
CPU
16 GB LPDDR5X
RAM
512 GB SSD
STORAGE
5GbE
NETWORK
£469.96
£489.96SAVE £20.00

Who this suits

It suits you if your day is browser tabs, office documents, video calls and streaming on a machine small enough to mount behind a monitor. Developers working in an editor, a terminal and a few services will find it workable, provided 16 GB covers their stack. The 5GbE port is a real plus if your files live on a fast network share.

Skip it if you want demanding games, local language models or professional 3D work, because it has integrated graphics only and no card slot. Skip it too if your memory needs will grow, since the installed 16 GB is also the maximum.

Workload fit

Everyday work: well suited. The Core Ultra 7 256V, LPDDR5X at 8533 MT/s and NVMe storage handle office apps, browsing and video comfortably.

Coding: workable. The limit is memory, which is soldered at 16 GB and cannot be raised, so check that your containers and virtual machines fit inside it.

Gaming: a poor fit. Intel Arc Graphics 140V is integrated graphics, and there is no card slot to add anything stronger.

Homelab: workable. You get one 5GbE network port and 2 M.2 slots, which suits a single always-on service box better than a router or firewall that wants separate wired ports.

Local AI: a poor fit. Capacity decides which model sizes fit, and the operating system keeps about 8 GB of the 16 GB for itself, leaving little room for a model. GMKtec does not state the memory bandwidth, which is what sets how fast text is generated.

Workstation: a poor fit. There is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot and a 16 GB memory ceiling.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedNot suited
16 GB / 1 TBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedNot suited

Which configuration to choose

Both retail builds are new and share the Core Ultra 7 256V, Arc Graphics 140V, 16 GB of LPDDR5X and Windows 11 Pro. The only difference is the NVMe drive: 512 GB in one, 1024 GB in the other.

Choose the 1024 GB model if you keep photos, media or large projects on the machine itself. The 512 GB model makes sense if your files sit on a network share reached over the 5GbE port, or if you plan to fill the second M.2 slot yourself.

Upgrading it

Memory has no headroom. There are no memory slots, the LPDDR5X is soldered, and the 16 GB maximum is exactly what ships, so choose this machine only if that amount will last.

Storage is the flexible part, with 2 M.2 slots that take 2280 and 2242 drives. The first slot is PCIe 4.0, so a PCIe 5.0 drive placed there runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. The second slot takes an M.2 drive, but GMKtec does not state its PCIe generation. M.2 SATA drives are not supported and there are no SATA bays.

Connecting it

You can run up to 3 displays. One connects to the HDMI 2.1 output, and since there is no DisplayPort output, the others connect over the USB-C ports, which carry DisplayPort video. HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 input on the monitor. A USB-C monitor with power delivery carries the picture over one cable, though the K13 still runs on its own power supply.

There are 3 USB-A ports and 2 USB4 ports, with no Thunderbolt ports and no OCuLink. Networking is one 5GbE port plus an included Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 module.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
GMKtec
Processor
Intel Core Ultra 7 256V
Cores and threads
8 cores, 8 threads
Graphics
Intel Arc Graphics 140V
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16 GB
Memory slots
0
Maximum memory
16 GB
Memory soldered
Yes
Installed storage
512 GB–1024 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6E
Bluetooth
5.2
USB4 ports
2
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
3
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
0
Maximum displays
3
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
186 x 88 x 36.6
Volume
0.599 L

Limitations

The biggest limit is memory: 16 GB, soldered, with no slots and no way up. There is only one wired network port, no PCIe card slot, no SATA support and no DisplayPort output.

GMKtec does not state the memory bandwidth, how much memory the graphics can use or its type, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, ECC support, the DisplayPort version, whether there is an SD card reader, the power supply or the TDP.

Alternatives

When you weigh other machines against this one, start with the memory ceiling and whether the memory sits in removable slots, because the K13 stops at a soldered 16 GB. Then compare network ports and expansion against its single 5GbE port, 2 USB4 ports, 2 M.2 slots and its lack of OCuLink or a card slot.

Product image: GMKtec NucBox M6 Ultra

GMKtec NucBox M6 Ultra

Above typical price
AMD Ryzen 5 7640HS
CPU
16 GB DDR5
RAM
512 GB SSD
STORAGE
Dual 2.5GbE
NETWORK
£549.96

Common questions

Can I upgrade the RAM in the GMKtec NucBox K13?

No. The 16 GB of LPDDR5X is soldered, there are no memory slots, and 16 GB is also the stated maximum. Choose it only if that amount covers what you plan to run for as long as you keep it.

How many monitors can it drive?

Up to 3. One screen connects to the HDMI 2.1 output and the others to the USB-C ports, which carry DisplayPort video. There is no dedicated DisplayPort output, so plan on USB-C cables or adapters for the extra screens.

Does it have Wi-Fi and Bluetooth built in?

Yes, the wireless module is included, with Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2. If you prefer a cable, the single wired port runs at 5GbE, which pairs well with fast network storage.

Can I add a second SSD?

Yes, the K13 has 2 M.2 slots that take 2280 and 2242 drives, so the second can hold an extra M.2 drive. GMKtec does not state that slot's PCIe generation, and M.2 SATA drives are not supported.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.