
GMKtec NucBox M6 Ultra
GMKtec NucBox M6 Ultra: compare 5 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Memory headroom defines the GMKtec NucBox M6 Ultra: two removable SODIMM slots take up to 128 GB of DDR5 behind a 6-core, 12-thread AMD Ryzen 5 7640HS, all in a 0.8-litre box. It is well suited to everyday work and homelab duty, helped by two 2.5GbE ports and two M.2 slots. Choose a 32 GB build if you code or want to experiment with local AI, and look elsewhere for gaming.
Choose a configuration


AMD Ryzen 5 7640HS, 32 GB / 512 GB

AMD Ryzen 5 7640HS, 32 GB / 1024 GB
Who this suits
This machine suits you if you want a small Windows 11 Pro desktop for office work, browsing and software development, or a shelf box running containers and virtual machines. The 128.8 x 127 x 47.8 mm case fits easily on a desk or a shelf. It also suits tinkerers who would rather buy the barebones kit and fit their own memory and drive.
Skip it if you play demanding games or need a workstation for 3D or GPU-heavy work: the Radeon 760M is integrated, and there is no card slot to add a graphics card. Skip the 16 GB builds if local AI is the main reason to buy, because they are a poor fit for it.
Workload fit
Everyday use is well suited on every retail build, with 6 cores, 12 threads and 16 GB or 32 GB of DDR5. The barebones kit is not assessed until built, since it ships with no memory or drive.
Coding is workable on the 16 GB builds and well suited on the 32 GB builds; memory is the only difference, and the smaller builds can grow through the 2 slots.
Gaming is a poor fit. The AMD Radeon 760M is integrated graphics, and the case has no PCIe card slot.
Homelab use is well suited on every retail build: 2 network ports at 2.5GbE and 2 M.2 slots cover a firewall, a container host or a small virtualisation server with separate system and data drives. The 128 GB memory ceiling leaves room to grow as you add services.
Local AI is a poor fit on the 16 GB builds and workable on the 32 GB builds, which carry 32 GB over 2 slots. GMKtec does not state the memory bandwidth, so keep your expectations to smaller models.
Workstation work is a poor fit: there is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot, and fewer than four memory slots.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Good | Not suited | Not suited |
| 16 GB / 1 TB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Good | Not suited | Not suited |
| 32 GB / 512 GB | Good | Good | Not suited | Good | Workable | Not suited |
| 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Not suited | Good | Workable | Not suited |
| Barebones | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not suited | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not suited |
Which configuration to choose
Every configuration uses the same AMD Ryzen 5 7640HS with Radeon 760M graphics, so memory and storage are the main differences between them. The retail builds pair 16 GB with 512 GB or 1024 GB, or 32 GB with 512 GB or 1024 GB, all on NVMe with Windows 11 Pro. There is also a barebones kit with no memory, drive or confirmed operating system. Pick on memory: the 32 GB builds are well suited to coding and workable for local AI, while the 16 GB builds suit everyday work. Storage matters less, because the second M.2 slot lets you add a drive later.
Upgrading it
Memory sits in 2 SODIMM slots and is not soldered, with a ceiling of 128 GB of DDR5, so a 16 GB build can be raised later. GMKtec does not state the memory speed, so match new modules to the ones already fitted.
Storage goes into 2 M.2 slots for 2280-size drives, and the first slot runs at PCIe Gen 4. Every retail build ships with an NVMe system drive, and the second slot takes an extra M.2 drive. Expansion ends there: there is no PCIe card slot and no OCuLink port.
Connecting it
Up to 3 displays can run at once: one on the HDMI 2.0 output, one on the DisplayPort output and one on the USB-C port, which supports DisplayPort alt mode. For that third screen you need a USB-C cable or adapter that carries DisplayPort.
Wired networking is two 2.5GbE ports, and the wireless module is included with Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2. For peripherals you get 4 USB-A ports and 1 USB4 port; there are no Thunderbolt ports and no OCuLink. Power comes from an external 120W adapter that supplies 19V 6.32A.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- GMKtec
- Processor
- AMD Ryzen 5 7640HS
- Cores and threads
- 6 cores, 12 threads
- Graphics
- AMD Radeon 760M
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2024
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 16–32 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 128 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 512 GB–1024 GB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- Not confirmed
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 2
- LAN speed
- 2.5GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6E
- Bluetooth
- 5.2
- USB4 ports
- 1
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 1
- USB-A ports
- 4
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 1
- Maximum displays
- 3
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 19V 6.32A external (120W)
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- 128.8 x 127 x 47.8
- Volume
- 0.782 L
Limitations
Graphics are integrated and there is no PCIe card slot, so gaming and workstation tasks are a poor fit. GMKtec does not state the memory speed or bandwidth, the graphics memory, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, the DisplayPort version, an SD card reader, the TDP, ECC support or VESA mounting. The barebones kit leaves memory, storage and the operating system to you.
Alternatives
When you look at other compact machines, start with the memory ceiling, here 128 GB, and whether the memory is soldered. Then compare the network ports, here 2 at 2.5GbE, and the number of M.2 slots. Check how many displays are supported and which fast ports are present, since this one has USB4 but no Thunderbolt or OCuLink. If gaming matters, look for discrete graphics rather than an integrated chip like the Radeon 760M.

GMKtec NucBox K13

Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5

Beelink EQi13

Beelink EQR6
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory on the NucBox M6 Ultra?
Yes. The memory is not soldered: it sits in 2 SODIMM slots that take up to 128 GB of DDR5, so a 16 GB build can be raised later, or you can fill the barebones kit yourself.
How many monitors can it drive?
It drives up to 3 screens at once. Use the HDMI 2.0 output, the DisplayPort output and the USB-C port, which supports DisplayPort alt mode, with a cable or adapter that carries DisplayPort for that last screen.
Is the NucBox M6 Ultra good for gaming?
It is a poor fit for gaming. The AMD Radeon 760M is integrated graphics, and there is no PCIe card slot inside the case. It is built for everyday work, coding and homelab use instead.
Does it work as a home server?
Yes, it is well suited to homelab use in every retail build. Two 2.5GbE ports suit firewall or container duty, and the 2 M.2 slots let you keep the system and your data on separate drives.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.