
HP Z2 Mini G9
HP Z2 Mini G9: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Discrete NVIDIA graphics, either a T1000 or an RTX A2000, sit inside the 3.2-litre HP Z2 Mini G9 beside a 20-core, 28-thread Intel Core i7. It is well suited to everyday work, coding and workstation jobs, helped by a PCIe card slot with 8 lanes and ECC memory support. Pick the RTX A2000 model, with 12 GB of graphics memory, if you also want some gaming or local AI.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.co.uk
A current UK price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.co.uk, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
It suits developers and anyone doing graphics-heavy workstation work who wants discrete NVIDIA graphics and 20 cores in a 3.2-litre box that can hang behind a monitor on a VESA mount. At 69 x 211 x 218 mm, it is easy to place on a crowded desk. ECC memory support and Windows 11 Pro on both builds suit an office or studio that values reliability.
Skip it if networking is the point: one 1GbE port makes it a weak router or storage server. Gamers should pass on the T1000 model, which is a poor fit for games, and anyone planning more than 2 screens should look elsewhere. If you expect to grow memory past 64 GB, this is not your machine either.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited: a 20-core, 28-thread processor, 32 GB of DDR5 and a 1000 GB NVMe drive leave plenty in reserve for browsing and office apps.
Coding is well suited too, with 32 GB and 28 threads to keep compilers, containers and an editor running side by side.
Gaming is a poor fit on the T1000 model with 8 GB of graphics memory and workable on the RTX A2000 model with 12 GB of GDDR6.
Homelab use is workable: two M.2 slots and ECC memory support suit a small virtual-machine host, while the single 1GbE port limits it as a network or storage server.
Local AI is workable, with 32 GB installed over 2 slots and either 8 GB or 12 GB of graphics memory for running models on the GPU. Capacity decides which model sizes fit and memory bandwidth decides how fast text comes out, and HP does not state the bandwidth, so generation speed is hard to predict.
Workstation work is well suited, with a PCIe card slot wired for 8 lanes, discrete NVIDIA graphics in both builds and ECC memory support.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core i7-14700, T1000, 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Not suited | Workable | Workable | Good |
| Core i7-14700K, RTX A2000, 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Workable | Good |
Which configuration to choose
Both retail builds share 32 GB of DDR5, a 1000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro. The Core i7-14700 model carries an NVIDIA T1000 with 8 GB of GDDR6, while the Core i7-14700K model steps up to an RTX A2000 with 12 GB of GDDR6. Both processors have 20 cores and 28 threads. Choose the T1000 build for office work and coding; choose the A2000 build if gaming or local AI matters, since it moves gaming from a poor fit to workable and adds graphics memory for models.
Upgrading it
Memory sits in 2 SODIMM slots and is not soldered, with a maximum of 64 GB at 5600 MT/s. Because the 32 GB is installed over both slots, reaching 64 GB means replacing the modules rather than adding one.
Storage uses 2 M.2 slots of 2280 length, both PCIe 4.0, so a second M.2 drive can join the 1000 GB NVMe drive. A PCIe 5.0 drive would run at PCIe 4.0 speed in either slot. There are no SATA bays, and the M.2 slots do not take SATA drives.
Connecting it
Screens connect through 2 DisplayPort 1.4 outputs, and HP gives 2 as the maximum number of displays, so plan on a dual-monitor desk with DisplayPort cables. There are no HDMI outputs, so an HDMI-only monitor needs a DisplayPort-to-HDMI cable or adapter. For peripherals you get 4 USB-A ports and 2 USB-C ports. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports. Networking is a single 1GbE wired port, the connection to plan around. Power comes from a 180W or 280W external supply, and the VESA mount lets the box sit behind a monitor.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- HP
- Processor
- Intel Core i7-14700, Intel Core i7-14700K
- Cores and threads
- 20 cores, 28 threads
- Graphics
- NVIDIA T1000, NVIDIA RTX A2000
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- Not confirmed
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 32 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 64 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 1 TB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- x16 slot, wired for 8 lanes
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 1GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Not confirmed
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- 4
- HDMI outputs
- 0
- DisplayPort outputs
- 2
- Maximum displays
- 2
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 180W or 280W external
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Yes
- Dimensions
- 69 x 211 x 218
- Volume
- 3.174 L
Limitations
The network is the clearest limit: one 1GbE port and nothing faster. Two displays is the ceiling, memory tops out at 64 GB, and there is no HDMI, USB4, Thunderbolt or SATA. HP does not state the Wi-Fi standard, whether a wireless module is included, Bluetooth, an SD card reader, the memory bandwidth, the processor TDP or the release year.
Alternatives
When you weigh other compact workstations, start with the network ports, since this one has a single 1GbE port, and the memory ceiling, which is 64 GB here. Then compare graphics memory against the 8 GB or 12 GB offered here, the number of displays against 2, and whether a PCIe slot gives the 8 lanes this one does. ECC memory support is worth checking too if your work runs for long stretches.


Beelink EQR5

GMKtec NucBox G10

Beelink EQ14
Common questions
Does the HP Z2 Mini G9 support ECC memory?
Yes. HP states ECC support for its 2 SODIMM slots, which take up to 64 GB of DDR5 at 5600 MT/s. The memory is not soldered, but HP does not state whether the installed modules are ECC, so you may need to swap them for error correction.
How many monitors can it drive?
Up to 2, from its 2 DisplayPort 1.4 outputs, which matches the maximum number of displays HP gives. There are no HDMI outputs, so a monitor with only HDMI inputs needs a DisplayPort-to-HDMI cable or adapter.
Can it play games?
The Core i7-14700K model with the RTX A2000 and 12 GB of graphics memory is workable for gaming. The Core i7-14700 model with the T1000 and 8 GB is a poor fit, so choose the A2000 build if games matter to you.
Can I add a second SSD?
Yes. There are 2 M.2 slots, both 2280 length and PCIe 4.0, so a second M.2 drive fits beside the 1000 GB NVMe drive. The slots do not take SATA M.2 drives, and there are no SATA bays.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.