Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 6

Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 6: compare this configuration by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

A 1.2-litre Lenovo ThinkCentre with a 20-core Intel Core Ultra 7 265T and 32 GB of DDR5 makes a sensible Windows 11 Pro desk machine for office work, browsing and coding. Its memory sits in two SODIMM slots rather than being soldered, and two M.2 slots leave room for a second drive. Skip it for gaming or graphics-heavy work, where its integrated Intel Graphics makes it a poor fit.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.co.uk

A current UK price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.co.uk, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits anyone who wants a small Windows 11 Pro desktop that can hang behind a monitor on its VESA mount and handle office software, a browser full of tabs and a code editor. Developers get 20 cores and 32 GB of memory, enough to keep an IDE, a local build and documentation open at once.

Skip it if you want to play recent games or do heavy rendering, because there is no discrete graphics and no card slot to add one. Homelab builders who need several network ports or faster networking should also look elsewhere, since it has a single 1GbE port.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited: the Core Ultra 7 265T and 32 GB of DDR5 leave plenty in reserve for office work, mail, video calls and streaming.

Coding is well suited too, with 20 cores and 20 threads for compiling and 32 GB for editors, browsers and local services side by side.

Gaming is a poor fit, because the integrated Intel Graphics in the processor is all you get and there is no slot for a graphics card.

Homelab use is workable. Two M.2 slots let you keep the system and your data on separate drives, but a single 1GbE port limits it as a router or a busy file server.

Local AI is workable. The 32 GB is installed across both slots; capacity decides which model sizes fit, while memory bandwidth decides how fast text appears. Lenovo does not state the memory bandwidth, so generation speed is hard to predict, and raising the memory to the 64 GB maximum lets larger models fit.

Workstation work is a poor fit: there is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot, and only two memory slots.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
Core Ultra 7 265T, 32 GB / 512 GBGoodGoodNot suitedWorkableWorkableNot suited

Which configuration to choose

The retail build pairs the Core Ultra 7 265T with 32 GB of DDR5, a 512 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, sold new. That is the build sold at retail, so the real choice is what you add later. Keep it as it ships for office work and coding. If you plan to run local language models, plan on replacing both memory modules on the way to 64 GB, and add a second M.2 drive if 512 GB runs short.

Upgrading it

Memory is the easy upgrade: both SODIMM slots take DDR5 at 5600 MT/s, nothing is soldered, and the ceiling is 64 GB. With 32 GB installed across the two slots, the remaining 32 GB of headroom means swapping both modules rather than adding one.

Storage has two M.2 2280 slots and no SATA support or bays, so every drive you add is an M.2 stick. The first slot is PCIe 4.0, and a PCIe 5.0 drive placed there runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. Lenovo does not state the second slot's PCIe generation, so check it before buying an M.2 drive for that slot.

Connecting it

You can run two screens, one from the HDMI output and one from the DisplayPort 1.4 output. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, and 4K above 60 Hz needs HDMI 2.1 on the computer, the cable and the display, so do not count on that mode over HDMI. For accessories there are six USB-A ports and one USB-C port. Networking is one 1GbE Ethernet port plus a wireless module. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports. Power comes from a 65W external supply.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
Lenovo
Processor
Intel Core Ultra 7 265T
Cores and threads
20 cores, 20 threads
Graphics
Intel Graphics
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
32 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
64 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
512 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
1GbE
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
6
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
2
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
65W external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
179 x 182.9 x 36.5
Volume
1.195 L

Limitations

The single 1GbE port is the plainest limit for network-heavy use, and there is no PCIe card slot to add a faster one. Graphics are integrated, which rules out serious gaming. There are no USB4 or Thunderbolt ports for fast docks or external storage. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth support, the HDMI version, the memory bandwidth, the graphics memory size or type, the second M.2 slot's generation, ECC support, an SD card reader or the TDP.

Alternatives

When comparing other mini PCs, start with the network ports: this one has a single 1GbE port, so homelab buyers should look for more ports or faster ones. If local AI is the plan, compare the memory ceiling against this machine's 64 GB in two slots, and check for USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink, which this machine lacks. For gaming, the deciding fact is discrete graphics, which it does not have.

Product image: GMKtec NucBox G10

GMKtec NucBox G10

AMD Ryzen 5 3500U
CPU
16 GB DDR4
RAM
256 GB SSD
STORAGE
2.5GbE
NETWORK
£299.96
£309.96SAVE £10.00

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory in the ThinkCentre M70q Gen 6?

Yes. The two SODIMM slots are not soldered and take DDR5 up to 64 GB. The 32 GB that ships fills both slots, so reaching 64 GB means replacing both modules rather than adding one.

How many monitors can it run?

Two. Connect one to the HDMI output and one to the DisplayPort 1.4 output. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, so do not count on HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz from that port.

Does it have Wi-Fi?

Yes, a wireless module is included alongside the single 1GbE Ethernet port. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard or whether Bluetooth is supported, so check the exact module before buying if either matters to you.

Is it any good for gaming?

It is a poor fit for gaming. It relies on the integrated Intel Graphics in the Core Ultra 7 265T, and there is no PCIe card slot, USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink port. Keep it for office work and coding, where it is well suited.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.