Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

A PCIe card slot wired with 8 lanes, packed into a 1.2-litre case, is what makes the Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny a workstation rather than just a small office PC. Every build pairs a 14-core, 20-thread Intel Core i5 with integrated Intel UHD Graphics 770 and Windows 11 Pro. Buy it for office work, coding and workstation tasks, with memory that grows to 96 GB. Skip it for gaming or local AI.

Choose a configuration

Product image: Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny

Intel Core i5-14500, 16 GB / 512 GB

Intel Core i5-14500
CPU
16 GB DDR5
RAM
512 GB SSD
STORAGE
1GbE
NETWORK
£981.37

Who this suits

The P3 Tiny suits office workers, developers and engineers who want a small Windows 11 Pro desk machine with room to grow. The 16 GB builds are well suited to everyday work, and the PCIe card slot makes the machine well suited to workstation duty. The VESA mount lets it hide behind a monitor, and six USB-A ports cover keyboards, drives and dongles.

Skip it if you want to play games or run language models locally: both are a poor fit with Intel UHD Graphics 770. If you are planning a router or a storage server, look elsewhere too, because there is one 1GbE port and no SATA bays.

Workload fit

Everyday work is workable on the 8 GB model with the Core i5-13500 and well suited to both 16 GB models, because the extra memory leaves room for many browser tabs and office apps at once.

Coding is workable: 14 cores and 20 threads give builds plenty of threads, and the two memory slots take up to 96 GB if containers or large projects outgrow the 8 GB or 16 GB installed.

Gaming is a poor fit, because the only graphics is the integrated Intel UHD Graphics 770.

Homelab use is workable: the 96 GB memory ceiling leaves space for several virtual machines and the two M.2 slots hold system and data drives, but a single 1GbE port and no SATA bays hold it back as a network or storage box.

Local AI is a poor fit. Generation speed depends on memory bandwidth, which Lenovo does not state, and the integrated UHD Graphics 770 is the only graphics on offer.

Workstation work is well suited, and the reason is the PCIe card slot: x16 in physical size with 8 lanes wired, so you can add an expansion card inside the case.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
Core i5-13500, 8 GB / 256 GBWorkableWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedGood
Core i5-13500, 16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedGood
Core i5-14500, 16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedGood

Which configuration to choose

All three retail builds share 14 cores, 20 threads, Intel UHD Graphics 770, DDR5, NVMe storage and Windows 11 Pro. The Core i5-13500 comes with 8 GB and 256 GB, or with 16 GB and 512 GB. The Core i5-14500 build also has 16 GB and 512 GB.

Choose the 8 GB model only if you plan to add memory yourself, since it is merely workable for everyday work. For most buyers either 16 GB model is the sensible pick; the Core i5-14500 build changes the processor but keeps the same core and thread count.

Upgrading it

Memory is the easy upgrade: two SODIMM slots, nothing soldered, DDR5 at 5600 MT/s and a maximum of 96 GB. That leaves generous headroom over the 8 GB or 16 GB installed in any build. ECC memory is not supported.

Storage sits in two M.2 slots for 2280 drives. The first slot runs at PCIe 4.0, so a PCIe 5.0 drive placed there runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. The slots do not take M.2 SATA drives and there are no SATA bays, so a second drive means an M.2 drive in the free slot.

Connecting it

Two screens is the limit: one on the HDMI 2.1 output and one on the DisplayPort 1.4 output. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI you also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 input on the monitor.

For peripherals there is one USB-C port and six USB-A ports. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports.

Wired networking is a single 1GbE port, and a wireless module is included. Power comes from a 170W external supply.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
Lenovo
Processor
Intel Core i5-13500, Intel Core i5-14500
Cores and threads
14 cores, 20 threads
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 770
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
8–16 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
96 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
256 GB–512 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
x16 slot, wired for 8 lanes

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
1GbE
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
6
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
2
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
170W external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
179 x 182.9 x 37
Volume
1.211 L

Limitations

The real gaps are networking and graphics: one 1GbE port, no SATA bays, no ECC support and integrated graphics only. The 8 GB model is tight for everyday use out of the box.

Lenovo does not state the graphics memory or its type, the memory bandwidth, the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, whether there is an SD card reader, or the TDP.

Alternatives

When you compare other compact desktops, start with what defines this one: an internal PCIe card slot with 8 lanes, a memory ceiling of 96 GB across two SODIMM slots, and two M.2 slots. Then weigh what it lacks: if you need more than one 1GbE port, USB4 or Thunderbolt, or graphics beyond the integrated UHD Graphics 770, those are the specs to look for in another machine.

Product image: Lenovo ThinkCentre M75q Gen 5

Lenovo ThinkCentre M75q Gen 5

AMD Ryzen 7 PRO 8700GE
CPU
16 GB DDR5
RAM
512 GB SSD
STORAGE
1GbE
NETWORK
£999.00
Product image: MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra 235HX

MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra 235HX

Intel Core Ultra 5 235HX
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
10GbE
NETWORK
£1,019.00

Common questions

How much memory can the ThinkStation P3 Tiny take?

Up to 96 GB of DDR5 across two SODIMM slots, and none of it is soldered, so you can upgrade any build, including the 8 GB model. The memory runs at 5600 MT/s, and ECC memory is not supported.

How many monitors can I connect?

Two: one on the HDMI 2.1 output and one on the DisplayPort 1.4 output. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI, the cable and the monitor's input both need to be HDMI 2.1 as well.

Does the ThinkStation P3 Tiny have Wi-Fi?

Yes, a wireless module is included, so you are not tied to the single 1GbE Ethernet port. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard or whether Bluetooth is present, so check the exact unit before you rely on either.

Which configuration should I choose?

Either 16 GB model with 512 GB of storage, because both are well suited to everyday work. Pick the 8 GB model with 256 GB only if you plan to add memory, since nothing is soldered and the slots take up to 96 GB.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.