
MINISFORUM AI X1 Pro
MINISFORUM AI X1 Pro: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
With a 50 TOPS NPU in both builds, Wi-Fi 7 and two 2.5GbE ports, the MINISFORUM AI X1 Pro is a compact Windows 11 Pro desktop that handles everyday work and coding well. The 96 GB model with the Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 is the one for local AI, virtual machines and workstation jobs. The 32 GB model with the newer Ryzen AI 9 HX 470 suits lighter work, and you can add memory to it later.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.co.uk
A current UK price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.co.uk, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
It suits developers who want 12 cores and 24 threads, two USB4 ports and dual 2.5GbE on one desk. It also suits anyone running local language models or a small lab of virtual machines, provided they pick the 96 GB model. An office desk with up to 4 screens is another good home for it.
Skip it if gaming is the main job: the Radeon 890M is integrated graphics, fine for esports titles at 1080p and not for current AAA games at 1440p. Skip it too if you need a PCIe card slot or an OCuLink port, because it has neither. If your work needs more than 96 GB of memory, look at other machines.
Workload fit
Everyday work: well suited. The 12-core processors are more than enough for office work, and the machine drives up to 4 displays.
Coding: well suited in both models. You get 32 GB or 96 GB of DDR5 in two upgradeable slots, plus two USB4 ports and dual 2.5GbE.
Gaming: workable. The Radeon 890M is integrated graphics, fine for esports titles at 1080p and not for current AAA games at 1440p.
Homelab: workable on the 32 GB model, well suited on the 96 GB model. Two 2.5GbE ports allow routing or network separation on one machine, and two M.2 slots hold storage for your virtual machines.
Local AI: workable on the 32 GB model, well suited on the 96 GB model. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Both models also carry an NPU with 50 TOPS.
Workstation: workable on the 32 GB model, well suited on the 96 GB model, whose 96 GB installed puts it in workstation class.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32 GB, 1 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Workable | Workable |
| Ryzen AI 9 HX 370, 96 GB, 2 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Good | Good | Good |
Which configuration to choose
Both retail builds share 12 cores and 24 threads, Radeon 890M graphics, Windows 11 Pro and a 50 TOPS NPU. The 32 GB model pairs the Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, from 2026, with 1000 GB of NVMe PCIe 4.0 storage. The 96 GB model pairs the Ryzen AI 9 HX 370, from 2025, with 2000 GB of NVMe storage. Pick the 96 GB model for local AI, virtual machines and workstation jobs, where its memory makes the difference. Pick the 32 GB model for office work and coding, or if you would rather add memory yourself.
Upgrading it
Memory sits in 2 SODIMM slots and is not soldered, so you can swap the modules, up to a maximum of 96 GB. The 96 GB model therefore ships at the ceiling, while the 32 GB model has room to grow to 96 GB. MINISFORUM does not state the supported memory speed, so check module compatibility before you buy.
Storage uses 2 M.2 slots, both for drives of the 2280 length. MINISFORUM does not state the PCIe generation of either slot, which matters if you want full speed from a fast drive. There is no PCIe card slot.
Connecting it
For screens, you get one HDMI output, one DisplayPort output and two USB-C ports that carry DisplayPort, for up to 4 displays at once. MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI or DisplayPort version, so confirm refresh-rate support before you buy a high-resolution monitor. There are also two USB4 ports, and there is no OCuLink port.
On the network side, two 2.5GbE Ethernet ports sit alongside Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, and the wireless module is included.
Manufacturer specifications
Not confirmedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- MINISFORUM
- Processor
- AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370
- Cores and threads
- 12 cores, 24 threads
- Graphics
- AMD Radeon 890M
- NPU
- 50 TOPS
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2026, 2025
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 32–96 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 96 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 1 TB–2 TB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- Not confirmed
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 2
- LAN speed
- 2.5GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.4
- USB4 ports
- 2
- Thunderbolt ports
- Not confirmed
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- Not confirmed
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 1
- Maximum displays
- 4
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- Not confirmed
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- Not confirmed
- Volume
- Not confirmed
Limitations
The hard limits are a 96 GB memory ceiling, no PCIe card slot and no OCuLink port. The integrated Radeon 890M keeps current AAA games at 1440p out of reach. MINISFORUM does not state the dimensions or volume, the memory speed and bandwidth, ECC support, the graphics memory amount and type, the PCIe generation of either M.2 slot, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, Thunderbolt or USB-A ports, the HDMI and DisplayPort versions, an SD card reader, the power supply, the TDP or a VESA mount.
Alternatives
The MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra is the named alternative, and the deciding difference is memory: it reaches 256 GB where the AI X1 Pro stops at 96 GB. It also uses an Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX in place of the Ryzen AI 9 HX 470. Choose it if your virtual machines or language models need more than 96 GB. Stay with the AI X1 Pro if 96 GB covers your work.


Beelink EQR5

GMKtec NucBox G10

Beelink EQ14
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory on the 32 GB model?
Yes. The memory is not soldered and sits in 2 SODIMM slots, so you can replace the modules and reach up to 96 GB. MINISFORUM does not state the supported memory speed, so check module compatibility before you buy.
How many monitors can the AI X1 Pro drive?
Up to 4 at once. You can use the HDMI output, the DisplayPort output and the two USB-C ports, which carry DisplayPort. MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI or DisplayPort version, so check refresh-rate support for high-resolution screens.
Is it a good machine for running local AI models?
The 96 GB model is well suited and the 32 GB model is workable. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Both models have an NPU with 50 TOPS.
Does it come with Wi-Fi and wired networking?
Yes. The wireless module is included, with Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, and there are two 2.5GbE Ethernet ports. That pair of wired ports also allows routing or network separation on a single machine.
Can it play games?
Gaming is workable on both models. The Radeon 890M is integrated graphics: fine for esports titles at 1080p, but not for current AAA games at 1440p. The machine has no PCIe card slot and no OCuLink port.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.