
MSI MAX Edge AI+
MSI MAX Edge AI+: compare this configuration by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
MSI's MAX Edge AI+ ships ready to run, with 128 GB of soldered LPDDR5X, a 2000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro around a 16-core AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395. That memory is shared with the integrated Radeon 8060S, which makes this compact desktop a strong pick for local AI, coding and workstation jobs. It also carries an NPU with 50 TOPS. Gaming on it is workable, but it is not a dedicated graphics machine.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.co.uk
A current UK price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.co.uk, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
This machine suits you if you want to run language models on your own desk, because most of its 128 GB can be allocated to the graphics. It also fits developers and workstation users who need 16 cores and 32 threads in one compact box. It ships with Windows 11 Pro and a 2000 GB drive, so there is nothing to fit or install before you start.
Skip it if you like to add memory later: there are no memory slots, so 128 GB is where it starts and where it stays. Skip it as well if gaming is the main job, because the graphics are integrated and there is no discrete GPU.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited; the processor and memory give comfortably more than browsing, office files and video calls need.
Coding is well suited too. Sixteen cores, 32 threads and 128 GB of memory leave room for large builds and many open tools at once.
Gaming is workable. The Radeon 8060S is integrated graphics that draws on the shared memory, and there is no discrete GPU, so treat games as a side job rather than the reason to buy.
Local AI is well suited. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured, so this is a statement about what fits rather than how fast it runs. The NPU with 50 TOPS is there for software that can use it.
Workstation work is well suited: 128 GB installed puts it in workstation territory for large datasets, heavy creative projects and long multitasking sessions.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 128 GB unified, 2 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Good | Good |
Which configuration to choose
The MAX Edge AI+ comes as one configuration: the 128 GB model with the AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S graphics, a 2000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro. It is a new, complete system rather than a barebones kit, so memory and storage arrive fitted. There is no smaller or larger memory build to weigh, and 128 GB is also the maximum. If that is far more memory than your work needs, look at a different machine rather than a different build of this one.
Upgrading it
Memory is fixed. The LPDDR5X is soldered to the board with no memory slots, and 128 GB is both what is installed and the maximum, so plan on that amount for the life of the machine.
Storage is where you have room. The 2000 GB NVMe drive ships installed, and the machine has two M.2 slots for 2280-length drives, so a second drive has a place to go. MSI does not state the PCIe generation of either slot or whether they accept SATA drives, so check that before you buy an added M.2 drive.
Connecting it
Wireless is the confirmed part: Wi-Fi 7, with the wireless module included. For a desk without a network cable, that covers the connection.
Beyond that, MSI does not state the wired network ports or their speed, the USB ports, the HDMI and DisplayPort outputs, or how many displays the machine can drive. That means you cannot plan a multi-monitor desk or a wired network setup from what MSI publishes. Before you commit, check MSI's port layout against the number of screens and cables you actually use.
Manufacturer specifications
Not confirmedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- MSI
- Processor
- AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
- Cores and threads
- 16 cores, 32 threads
- Graphics
- AMD Radeon 8060S
- NPU
- 50 TOPS
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2026
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 128 GB
- Memory slots
- 0
- Maximum memory
- 128 GB
- Memory soldered
- Yes
- Installed storage
- 2 TB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- Not confirmed
- PCIe card slot
- Not confirmed
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- Not confirmed
- LAN speed
- Not confirmed
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- Not confirmed
- Thunderbolt ports
- Not confirmed
- USB-C ports
- Not confirmed
- USB-A ports
- Not confirmed
- HDMI outputs
- Not confirmed
- DisplayPort outputs
- Not confirmed
- Maximum displays
- Not confirmed
- OCuLink
- Not confirmed
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- Not confirmed
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- Not confirmed
- Volume
- Not confirmed
Limitations
The memory is soldered and cannot grow beyond 128 GB. The graphics are integrated, with no discrete GPU. MSI does not state the dimensions or volume, graphics memory size and type, memory bandwidth, ECC support, M.2 PCIe generations and SATA support, SATA bays, wired networking, Bluetooth, USB4, Thunderbolt, USB-C and USB-A ports, USB-C DisplayPort alt mode, HDMI and DisplayPort outputs and versions, maximum displays, OCuLink, the SD card reader, power supply, TDP, VESA mount or PCIe slot. For a machine bought on its memory, the missing bandwidth and ECC details matter most.
Alternatives
When you weigh other machines against this one, start with the memory: how much is installed, whether it is soldered, and how much of it can serve the graphics, since that decides the local AI fit here. Then compare the details MSI leaves open, the wired network ports and the display outputs, against a rival that states them, along with the number of M.2 slots.


Beelink EQR5

GMKtec NucBox G10

Beelink EQ14
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory on the MSI MAX Edge AI+?
No. The 128 GB of LPDDR5X is soldered, there are no memory slots, and 128 GB is also the maximum, so buy it only if that amount covers your work for years to come.
Can I add a second SSD?
The machine has two M.2 slots for 2280-length drives and ships with a 2000 GB NVMe drive. MSI does not state the PCIe generation of either slot, so check that before choosing an added M.2 drive.
Is it a good machine for running large language models locally?
For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured, so expect capacity rather than a speed promise.
How many monitors can it drive?
MSI does not state the maximum number of displays or the HDMI and DisplayPort outputs, so the screen count is an open question. Check MSI's port details against your desk setup before you buy it for several monitors.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.