Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

ASUS NUC 14 Performance vs ASUS ROG NUC

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

These two ASUS machines share one 270 x 180 x 60 mm chassis size and the same two processor and graphics pairings, so the real split is how they arrive. The NUC 14 Performance is a barebones kit: you supply the memory and storage, and in return it takes up to 64 GB of memory. The ROG NUC ships ready with DDR5, an NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, but tops out at 32 GB. Builders who want headroom should take the kit, and people who want to plug in and play should take the ROG.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationASUS NUC 14 PerformanceASUS ROG NUC
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 185HIntel Core Ultra 9 185H
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 LaptopNVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop 8GB
Installed memoryNot included in this barebones kit32 GB
Installed storageNot included in this barebones kit1 TB
Maximum memory64 GB32 GB
Memory slots22
M.2 slots23
LAN speed2.5GbE2.5GbE
USB4 ports00
Thunderbolt ports11

Workload by workload

Gaming is well suited on both, for the same reason: a discrete RTX 4070 Laptop or RTX 4060 Laptop with 8 GB of graphics memory comes with either box. ASUS states GDDR6 for the ROG NUC's graphics memory and does not state the type for the NUC 14 Performance. Workstation use is also well suited on both, since each carries discrete graphics.

Homelab duty is workable on both. The kit offers two SODIMM slots to 64 GB and two M.2 2280 slots. The ROG NUC adds a third M.2 slot but stops at 32 GB of memory, and both have a single 2.5GbE port.

Everyday desktop work, coding and local AI are where the kit cannot be judged yet. They are not assessed until it is built, because the memory and storage are yours to choose. On the ROG NUC, everyday use is well suited on every model. Coding is workable on the 8 GB model with the Core Ultra 7 155H and well suited on the 16 GB and 32 GB models with the Core Ultra 9 185H. Local AI is a poor fit on the 8 GB model, because that little system memory limits what can load alongside the 8 GB of VRAM. It is workable on the 16 GB and 32 GB models, and the 32 GB one suits small to mid-size quantized models.

Expansion and upgrades

Both use two SODIMM slots and neither solders its memory, so you can upgrade either one. The NUC 14 Performance accepts up to 64 GB, which matters if you plan to run virtual machines or larger local models later. The ROG NUC tops out at 32 GB. The 32 GB model is already at that limit, while the 8 GB and 16 GB models have room to grow to it.

For storage, the kit has two M.2 2280 slots and the ROG NUC has three. ASUS does not state the PCIe generation of the M.2 slots on either machine, so treat any added drive as an M.2 drive whose speed depends on the slot it goes into. Neither machine has a PCIe expansion slot.

Ports and connectivity

Networking is identical: one 2.5GbE port, Wi-Fi 6E with the wireless module included, and Bluetooth 5.3. Each has one Thunderbolt port, one USB-C port and an SD card reader. The kit has 6 USB-A ports to the ROG NUC's 4, a real difference if you run a lot of peripherals.

For screens, both offer one HDMI output and two DisplayPort outputs. ASUS does not state the HDMI or DisplayPort versions or the maximum number of displays for either machine. Check those before you build a high-refresh 4K setup around one of them. Both run from an external power supply, a 330W unit in the case of the NUC 14 Performance.

Which configurations to compare

The fair pairings follow the chips. The kit with the Core Ultra 9 185H and RTX 4070 Laptop lines up against the ROG NUC with the same pair, either the 16 GB model with 1000 GB of NVMe storage or the 32 GB model. The kit with the Core Ultra 7 155H and RTX 4060 Laptop matches the 8 GB ROG NUC with 512 GB of storage. Keep in mind that you add the memory and storage to the kit yourself, while every ROG NUC model comes with Windows 11 Pro installed.

If neither fits

If neither one suits you, the alternative to look at is the MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro. It uses an AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX in place of Intel's Core Ultra 9 185H, so it suits anyone who wants to step away from this Intel pairing. MINISFORUM does not state its maximum memory. If the kit's 64 GB of headroom is what drew you to it, confirm that figure before you switch.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadASUS NUC 14 PerformanceASUS ROG NUC
EverydayNot confirmedGood
CodingNot confirmedGood
GamingGoodGood
Home labWorkableWorkable
Local AINot confirmedWorkable
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Do I need to buy memory and storage for the NUC 14 Performance?

Yes. Both NUC 14 Performance models are barebones kits, so you add SODIMM memory, up to 64 GB across two slots, and an M.2 2280 drive in one of its two slots. ASUS does not state an operating system for either kit.

Can I upgrade the ROG NUC's memory?

Yes. The memory sits in two SODIMM slots and is not soldered. The ceiling is 32 GB, so the 8 GB and 16 GB models can grow, while the 32 GB model with the Core Ultra 9 185H is already full.

Which is better for running local AI models?

On the ROG NUC, the 16 GB and 32 GB models with the RTX 4070 Laptop are workable, and the 8 GB model is a poor fit. The kit is not assessed until built, though its 64 GB ceiling leaves more room for system memory.

How many monitors can I connect?

Each machine offers one HDMI output and two DisplayPort outputs. ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays or the HDMI and DisplayPort versions for either machine, so plan your desk around those three outputs.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.