Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

ASUS NUC 14 Performance

ASUS NUC 14 Performance: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

An NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop with the Core Ultra 9 185H, or an RTX 4060 Laptop with the Core Ultra 7 155H, comes built into the 2.9-liter chassis of the ASUS NUC 14 Performance. Those discrete graphics make it well suited to gaming and workstation jobs on a desk with no room for a tower. Both versions are barebones kits, so you add memory and storage yourself, up to 64 GB across two slots.

Choose a configuration

Product image: ASUS NUC 14 Performance

Intel Core Ultra 9 185H, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop, barebones kit

Intel Core Ultra 9 185H
CPU
BAREBONES
CONFIG
RAM & SSD required
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop
GRAPHICS
$1,654.99
Kit price, before RAM and SSD

Who this suits

It suits someone who games or runs demanding creative software and wants discrete graphics with 8 GB of graphics memory in a compact 270 x 180 x 60 mm box. It also suits builders who like choosing their own parts, since both versions arrive as barebones kits and the memory is not soldered. Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 5.3 and a 2.5GbE port are included, so wired and wireless networking are covered.

Skip it if you want a machine that is ready the moment it is unpacked, because memory and storage are yours to supply. Skip it too if you need an internal PCIe card slot or a second wired network port; it has neither.

Workload fit

Gaming is well suited. The GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop or RTX 4060 Laptop ships fixed in the chassis with 8 GB of graphics memory, so the graphics are settled even though memory and storage are yours to add. Frame rates are not measured, so read this as a judgment of the hardware rather than a promise about any particular game.

Workstation use is well suited. Both versions pair discrete NVIDIA graphics with 16 cores and 22 threads, a solid base for 3D work, rendering and other GPU-assisted applications. The 64 GB memory ceiling helps with large projects, provided you fit enough of it.

A homelab is workable. Two SODIMM slots take up to 64 GB and two M.2 2280 slots hold the drives, room for virtual machines or containers alongside your data. The single 2.5GbE port is the constraint, with no second wired port for separating networks. ASUS does not state ECC support, which matters for a storage server. Memory and storage must be added before any of this runs, so plan for both. Its compact size makes it easy to tuck onto a shelf.

ConfigurationGamingHome labWorkstation
Barebones kit, Ultra 9, RTX 4070GoodWorkableGood
Barebones kit, Ultra 7, RTX 4060GoodWorkableGood

Which configuration to choose

Both retail versions are new 2024 barebones kits with 16 cores, 22 threads and 8 GB of graphics memory. What differs is the pairing: the Core Ultra 9 185H comes with the GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop, the Core Ultra 7 155H with the GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop. The RTX 4070 Laptop is the higher graphics tier, so take the Core Ultra 9 185H model for heavier games and GPU rendering. The Core Ultra 7 155H model suits lighter games and applications.

Upgrading it

Both versions arrive as barebones kits and memory and storage must be added, so plan the build around the slots. Memory goes into two SODIMM slots, is not soldered and tops out at 64 GB. ASUS does not state the memory type or speed, so confirm compatibility before buying modules. Storage goes into two M.2 slots for 2280 drives, room for a system drive plus a separate game or data drive. There is no internal PCIe slot for expansion cards.

Connecting it

For screens you get one HDMI output and two DisplayPort outputs. ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays or the HDMI and DisplayPort versions, so check those before planning a multi-monitor or high-refresh desk. Peripherals get six USB-A ports, one USB-C port, one Thunderbolt port and an SD card reader. For external expansion there is the single Thunderbolt port and no USB4. Networking is one 2.5GbE port, Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3, and power comes from a 330W external supply.

Manufacturer specifications

Partly verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
ASUS
Processor
Intel Core Ultra 9 185H, Intel Core Ultra 7 155H
Cores and threads
16 cores, 22 threads
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Not confirmed
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
Not confirmed
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
64 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
Not confirmed
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
Not confirmed
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6E
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.3
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
1
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
6
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
2
Maximum displays
Not confirmed
OCuLink
Not confirmed
SD card reader
Yes
Power supply
330W external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
270 x 180 x 60
Volume
2.916 L

Limitations

Both versions are barebones, so memory and storage are extra parts to buy and fit. There is no PCIe card slot and only one wired network port. ASUS also does not state the PCIe generation of either M.2 slot, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, DisplayPort alt mode on USB-C, OCuLink, the TDP or a VESA mount.

Alternatives

The MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro uses an AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX instead of the Intel Core Ultra 9 185H, and its maximum memory is not confirmed, while the NUC takes 64 GB. The Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) runs an Apple M5 Pro with integrated graphics rather than a discrete card. If PC gaming matters, the discrete NVIDIA graphics here decide it; if integrated graphics are enough for your work, the Mac mini is the other route.

Product image: MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro

MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro

AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 8GB GDDR7
GRAPHICS
$1,759.00

Compared with

Common questions

Does the ASUS NUC 14 Performance come with RAM and an SSD?

No. Both the Core Ultra 9 185H and Core Ultra 7 155H versions are barebones kits, so memory and storage must be added. It takes up to 64 GB in two slots that are not soldered, plus two M.2 2280 drives.

Does it have Wi-Fi built in?

Yes. The wireless module is included and supports Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3, so you do not need to add a card for wireless networking. For a wired connection there is one 2.5GbE port.

How many monitors can I connect?

There is one HDMI output and two DisplayPort outputs. ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays or the HDMI and DisplayPort versions, so check ASUS documentation before planning a multi-monitor desk around it.

Which version should I pick for gaming?

Gaming is well suited on both, since each has a discrete NVIDIA GPU with 8 GB of graphics memory. The Core Ultra 9 185H model with the RTX 4070 Laptop is the higher graphics tier; the RTX 4060 Laptop model suits lighter games.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.