
BOSGAME M5 vs MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.
Updated


MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
The short answer
Both boxes run the same AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 with 16 cores, 32 threads and Radeon 8060S graphics, so the choice comes down to everything around the chip. The BOSGAME M5 suits a buyer who wants 128 GB of memory, an SD card reader and a single 2.5GbE port for a desk or a local AI setup. The MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max suits the buyer building a homelab or a workstation who needs two 10GbE ports, four USB4 ports and a PCIe slot.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | BOSGAME M5 | MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 |
| Graphics | AMD Radeon 8060S | AMD Radeon 8060S |
| Installed memory | 128 GB | 128 GB |
| Installed storage | 2 TB | 2 TB |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 128 GB |
| Memory slots | 0 | 0 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 2 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE | 10GbE |
| USB4 ports | 2 | 4 |
| Thunderbolt ports | 0 | 0 |
Workload by workload
Everyday use, coding and workstation work are well suited on both, which follows from the shared processor and the 128 GB of memory each can carry. For coding, the MS-S1 Max brings four USB4 ports against two on the M5, which matters if you run several screens and external drives from one desk.
Gaming is workable on both and no better than that. The Radeon 8060S is integrated graphics drawing on shared memory, and neither machine has a discrete GPU or an OCuLink port.
Local AI is well suited on both, because the LPDDR5X is unified memory shared with the graphics, so most of it can be allocated to the graphics while the operating system keeps its share. Capacity decides which models fit, and the 64 GB MS-S1 Max holds noticeably smaller models at four bits than either 128 GB machine once the runtime overhead and the system's own share are taken out. Neither maker states the memory bandwidth, which governs generation speed, so the memory speed of 8000 MT/s on both is the only pointer you get.
Homelab use is where they part. The M5 is workable, with one 2.5GbE port that limits routing or network separation on the machine itself, while the MS-S1 Max is well suited with two 10GbE ports.
Expansion and upgrades
Memory is settled at purchase on both: there are no memory slots, the LPDDR5X is soldered, and the maximum is 128 GB. So the 128 GB versions are already at their ceiling, and the 64 GB MS-S1 Max has no path to more memory later.
Storage is where you can grow. Each machine has two M.2 2280 slots, and the installed drive is NVMe PCIe 4.0. On the MS-S1 Max both slots are PCIe 4.0, though the second runs at x1 rather than x4, which is worth knowing before you put your fastest M.2 drive there. On the M5 the first slot is PCIe 4.0, and BOSGAME does not state the second slot's generation. Only the MS-S1 Max adds a PCIe slot, with 4 lanes in an x16 physical size.
Ports and connectivity
The M5 offers two USB4 ports, five USB-A ports, an SD card reader, Wi-Fi 7 and one 2.5GbE port. Its USB-C ports carry DisplayPort alt mode, so screens can run from them. The MS-S1 Max has four USB4 ports with DisplayPort alt mode, five USB-A ports, one HDMI 2.1 output, Wi-Fi 7 and two 10GbE ports, but no SD card reader. Its HDMI 2.1 features also need a matching cable and display.
BOSGAME does not state the M5's HDMI or DisplayPort outputs, its maximum number of displays, Bluetooth, dimensions, power supply, TDP, VESA mounting, ECC support or M.2 SATA support; MINISFORUM does not state the MS-S1 Max's maximum number of displays, Bluetooth, ECC support or M.2 SATA support.
Which configurations to compare
The fair match is the BOSGAME M5 with 128 GB and 2000 GB of NVMe PCIe 4.0 storage against the 128 GB MS-S1 Max with 2000 GB of the same storage type, since processor, memory and storage then line up. What still separates them is the networking, the USB4 count, the SD card reader and the PCIe slot. The 128 GB MS-S1 Max with 4000 GB suits a buyer who wants the space without adding a second drive. The 64 GB MS-S1 Max is a different proposition: with the memory soldered, pick it only if you are sure 64 GB will stay enough, especially for local models.
If neither fits
If neither machine fits, the GEEKOM A9 Mega is the alternative that makes a close match on the specifications. It is worth a look if the M5's single network port feels too thin for your plans and the MS-S1 Max is more machine than your desk needs. Compare its own ports, memory and networking against the needs you have weighed above before you decide.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | BOSGAME M5 | MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Workable | Workable |
| Home lab | Workable | Good |
| Local AI | Good | Good |
| Workstation | Good | Good |
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory on either machine later?
No. Both machines have soldered LPDDR5X with no memory slots and a 128 GB maximum, so the memory you buy is the memory you keep. If you might run larger local models, take a 128 GB model rather than the 64 GB MS-S1 Max.
Which one suits a home server?
The MS-S1 Max is well suited, with two 10GbE ports and two M.2 slots, giving you room for separate networks. The M5 is workable, but its single 2.5GbE port limits routing or network separation on the machine itself.
How many monitors can I connect?
Neither maker states the maximum number of displays. Both machines support DisplayPort alt mode over USB-C, with two USB4 ports on the M5 and four on the MS-S1 Max, and the MS-S1 Max adds one HDMI 2.1 output.
Do both machines have an NPU?
Yes. Every configuration of both pairs the Ryzen AI Max+ 395 with an NPU of 50 TOPS. For local language models, memory capacity decides which model sizes fit and memory bandwidth decides how fast text is generated.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.