
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
MINISFORUM fits a 16-core Ryzen AI Max+ 395, up to 128 GB of LPDDR5X and a 320W internal power supply into a 3.5-liter case, and the memory is the reason to buy it. Pick it for local AI models, virtual machines or heavy builds, where shared memory and two 10GbE ports pay off. If games come first, look elsewhere: the graphics are the integrated Radeon 8060S and nothing more.
Choose a configuration

Who this suits
It suits people whose work is limited by memory rather than by a graphics card: running language models locally, hosting several virtual machines, or compiling large codebases on 16 cores and 32 threads. Homelab builders get two 10GbE ports and Wi-Fi 7 without adding cards.
Skip it if you mainly browse, write and stream, because it is far more machine than daily work needs. Skip it too if gaming is the priority, since there is no discrete GPU and no OCuLink port. And if you like adding memory later, this is the wrong box: the memory is soldered and there are no slots.
Workload fit
Everyday use is well suited, and then some: sixteen cores and at least 64 GB of memory go far beyond what mail, browsing and office files ask for.
Coding is well suited. Sixteen cores, 32 threads and up to 128 GB of memory handle large builds and containers, and four USB4 ports leave room for displays and fast external storage.
Gaming is workable. The Radeon 8060S is integrated and draws on the shared memory, with no discrete GPU and no OCuLink port on this chassis.
Homelab use is well suited. Two 10GbE RJ45 ports and two M.2 2280 slots cover a virtualization host or a small storage server, and because the memory is soldered, 128 GB is both the installed and the final capacity on the larger models.
Local AI is well suited. The LPDDR5X-8000 is unified memory shared with the graphics, so most of it can be allocated to the Radeon 8060S instead of a fixed split; the operating system keeps its share and the platform sets the ceiling. There is also an NPU with 50 TOPS. Generation speed has not been measured.
Workstation use is well suited, with 64 GB or 128 GB of unified memory for memory-hungry professional software.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 64 GB unified, 2 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Good | Good | Good |
| 128 GB unified, 2 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Good | Good | Good |
| 128 GB unified, 4 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Good | Good | Good |
Which configuration to choose
All three configurations use the 16-core Ryzen AI Max+ 395, the Radeon 8060S, LPDDR5X and Windows 11 Pro. What separates them is memory, storage and release year: the 64 GB model with 2000 GB of storage is the 2026 release, while both 128 GB models date from 2025. The 64 GB model is still well suited to local AI and workstation work. The 128 GB model with 2000 GB doubles the memory, which matters because it can never be added later. The 128 GB model with 4000 GB adds room for model files and VM images. Choose 128 GB for bigger models or more virtual machines.
Upgrading it
Memory cannot be upgraded: it is soldered, there are no memory slots, and 128 GB is the maximum. Settle on your capacity at purchase, because the 64 GB model will never grow.
Storage has more room. There are two M.2 2280 slots, both PCIe generation 4, so you can add a second drive alongside the first or swap the first for a larger one. The supplied drive is NVMe PCIe 4.0, in 2000 GB or 4000 GB depending on the model. A PCIe slot with 4 lanes is also available for an expansion card.
Connecting it
For screens, you get one HDMI 2.1 output and four USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode; there are no full-size DisplayPort outputs. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays, so check before planning a multi-monitor desk. Five USB-A ports handle keyboards, mice and older drives. Networking is two 10GbE ports plus Wi-Fi 7, with the wireless module included. There are four USB4 ports, and no Thunderbolt or OCuLink port. There is no SD card reader, and the case can be VESA mounted.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- MINISFORUM
- Processor
- AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
- Cores and threads
- 16 cores, 32 threads
- Graphics
- AMD Radeon 8060S
- NPU
- 50 TOPS
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2026, 2025
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 64β128 GB
- Memory slots
- 0
- Maximum memory
- 128 GB
- Memory soldered
- Yes
- Installed storage
- 2 TBβ4 TB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- Not confirmed
- PCIe card slot
- x16 slot, wired for 4 lanes
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 2
- LAN speed
- 10GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- 4
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 4
- USB-A ports
- 5
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 0
- Maximum displays
- Not confirmed
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- No
- Power supply
- 320W internal
- TDP
- 130 W
- VESA mount
- Yes
- Dimensions
- 222.1 x 206.3 x 77.1
- Volume
- 3.533 L
Limitations
The memory is soldered, so the 64 GB model stays at 64 GB for life. There is no OCuLink, no Thunderbolt, no full-size DisplayPort output and no SD card reader. MINISFORUM does not state the graphics memory allocation, memory bandwidth, ECC support, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, Bluetooth, the DisplayPort version or the maximum number of displays.
Alternatives
When you compare other machines, start with the memory ceiling and whether it is soldered, since 128 GB fixed at purchase defines this one. Then weigh the network ports against the two 10GbE here, the USB4 count against these four, and whether an OCuLink port or a discrete GPU matters more to you than shared memory.

GMKtec EVO-X3

GEEKOM A9 Mega

NIMO Mini PC Desktop AI Max+ 395

BOSGAME M5
Compared with
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory later?
No. The memory is soldered and there are no memory slots, so what you buy is final, with 128 GB the maximum. If you expect larger AI models or more virtual machines, choose a 128 GB model from the start.
Is it a good machine for running local AI models?
Yes, local AI is well suited. The LPDDR5X is unified memory shared with the Radeon 8060S, so most of it can be allocated to the graphics while the operating system keeps its share. Generation speed has not been measured.
How many monitors can I connect?
MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays. The outputs are one HDMI 2.1 port and four USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode, with no full-size DisplayPort outputs. Confirm the count with the maker before buying several screens.
Can it play games?
Gaming is workable. The Radeon 8060S is integrated graphics drawing on the shared memory, and the chassis has no discrete GPU and no OCuLink port. Treat it as a strong desk machine that can also game, not a gaming-first box.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.