Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec EVO-X2 vs GMKtec EVO-X3

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

Same Ryzen AI Max+ 395, same Radeon 8060S graphics, same 128 GB memory ceiling: these two GMKtec machines differ mainly in choice and in how much the maker spells out. The EVO-X2 comes in four builds, from 64 GB to 128 GB of memory and 1000 GB to 2000 GB of storage, with a documented port layout. The EVO-X3 comes as one 128 GB model with 2000 GB of storage, and GMKtec leaves much of its port list unstated. Pick the EVO-X2 if you need to know exactly what plugs in. The EVO-X3 suits a buyer who wants the 128 GB build and nothing else to decide.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationGMKtec EVO-X2GMKtec EVO-X3
ProcessorAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
GraphicsAMD Radeon 8060SAMD Radeon 8060S
Installed memory64 GB128 GB
Installed storage1 TB2 TB
Maximum memory128 GB128 GB
Memory slots00
M.2 slots22
LAN speed2.5GbENot confirmed
USB4 ports22
Thunderbolt ports00

Workload by workload

Everyday work and coding are well suited on both, since each pairs 16 cores and 32 threads with two USB4 ports.

Gaming is workable on both and no better than that: each relies on integrated Radeon 8060S graphics with no discrete GPU.

Local AI is well suited on both, and memory capacity is the reason. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. How fast text appears depends on memory bandwidth, which GMKtec does not state for either, though both run memory at 8000 MT/s. Each also has an NPU with a published figure of 50 TOPS, but the local AI judgment rests on memory, not on that figure.

Workstation use is well suited on the EVO-X3 and on most EVO-X2 builds; the 64 GB DDR5 model with 2000 GB of storage is only workable.

For a homelab, the EVO-X2 is workable: two M.2 slots help, but a single 2.5GbE port and soldered memory cap what you can add. The EVO-X3 is not assessed for a homelab, and GMKtec does not state its network ports or speed.

Expansion and upgrades

Neither machine has memory slots: the memory is soldered on both, with a maximum of 128 GB. That makes the 128 GB builds final at purchase, and a 64 GB EVO-X2 stays at 64 GB, since soldered memory leaves no way to reach the maximum. Decide on memory before you buy.

Storage is where both can grow. Each has two M.2 2280 slots, the first at PCIe 4.0, so an M.2 drive can join the installed one. GMKtec does not state the second slot's PCIe generation on either machine. A PCIe 5.0 drive would run at PCIe 4.0 speed in the first slot. The EVO-X2 has no SATA bays, no PCIe slot and no OCuLink, and the EVO-X3 also lacks OCuLink.

Ports and connectivity

The EVO-X2 gives you two USB4 ports, both able to carry a DisplayPort signal, plus one HDMI 2.1 output, one DisplayPort 1.4 output and five USB-A ports. That makes four video-capable outputs, though GMKtec does not state the maximum number of displays. HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 input on the display. Networking is one 2.5GbE port, Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, and there is an SD card reader.

The EVO-X3 confirms two USB4 ports, Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. GMKtec does not state its HDMI or DisplayPort outputs, its USB-A count, its Ethernet ports or whether its USB-C ports carry video, so check the maker's page before planning a multi-monitor desk.

Which configurations to compare

The fair match is the EVO-X2 with 128 GB of LPDDR5X and 2000 GB of NVMe storage against the EVO-X3, whose single build has 128 GB of LPDDR5X and 2000 GB of PCIe 4.0 NVMe storage. On paper those two share processor, graphics, memory type, memory speed and storage capacity, so the difference comes down to the ports GMKtec documents. If 64 GB is enough for you, the EVO-X2 with 64 GB of LPDDR5X and 1000 GB of storage is the smaller-memory choice. The 64 GB DDR5 build is only workable for workstation tasks.

If neither fits

If gaming is the real priority, neither fits well: both are only workable there, held back by integrated graphics. The alternative is the ASUS ROG NUC 16, which pairs an Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus with discrete graphics instead of the AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and its integrated chip. Weigh that against local AI, where both GMKtec machines are well suited because of their memory capacity.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadGMKtec EVO-X2GMKtec EVO-X3
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingWorkableWorkable
Home labWorkableNot confirmed
Local AIGoodGood
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Is the EVO-X3 just an EVO-X2 with 128 GB?

On paper they share the Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S graphics, a 128 GB ceiling and 8000 MT/s memory. The EVO-X2's ports are documented, while GMKtec leaves most of the EVO-X3's outputs unstated, so the two cannot be called identical.

Can I add memory later?

No. Both machines have no memory slots and soldered memory, with a maximum of 128 GB. If you expect to run large local language models, buy a 128 GB build now, because a 64 GB EVO-X2 cannot grow.

Which one runs bigger local AI models?

The 128 GB builds of either machine. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. GMKtec does not state memory bandwidth, which sets generation speed.

How many monitors can I connect?

GMKtec does not state the maximum number of displays for either machine. The EVO-X2 offers HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4 and two USB4 ports with DisplayPort alt mode. For the EVO-X3, GMKtec does not state its video outputs.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.