
GMKtec EVO-X2 vs MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.
Updated


MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
The short answer
The GMKtec EVO-X2 and the MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro split along one line: memory shared with the graphics against a discrete GPU with its own memory. The EVO-X2 puts up to 128 GB of soldered memory behind integrated Radeon graphics, which makes it the machine for running large language models locally. The AtomMan G1 Pro carries discrete NVIDIA graphics with 8 GB of GDDR7 and upgradeable SODIMM memory, so it suits gaming and CUDA work. Both are well suited to everyday work and coding.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | GMKtec EVO-X2 | MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 | AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX |
| Graphics | AMD Radeon 8060S | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 8GB GDDR7 |
| Installed memory | 64 GB | 32 GB |
| Installed storage | 1 TB | 1 TB |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | Not confirmed |
| Memory slots | 0 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 2 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE | 5GbE |
| USB4 ports | 2 | Not confirmed |
| Thunderbolt ports | 0 | Not confirmed |
Workload by workload
Everyday use and coding are well suited on both, since each has 16 cores and 32 threads. The difference in coding is the toolchain: the AtomMan G1 Pro's discrete NVIDIA GPU runs anything built on CUDA, while the EVO-X2 counters with 64 GB or 128 GB of LPDDR5X and two USB4 ports.
Gaming is where the AtomMan G1 Pro pulls ahead: it is well suited because its 8 GB of GDDR7 belongs to the graphics alone, while the EVO-X2 is workable on integrated Radeon 8060S graphics.
Local AI reverses the picture. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The AtomMan G1 Pro is workable, because the 8 GB on its graphics card bounds a model, not its 32 GB of system memory. Generation speed depends on memory bandwidth, which neither maker states.
Workstation tasks are well suited on the AtomMan G1 Pro and on every EVO-X2 model except the 64 GB DDR5 version with 2000 GB of storage, which is workable. As a homelab box, both are workable: the EVO-X2 has a single 2.5GbE port and soldered memory, and the AtomMan G1 Pro a single 5GbE port that suits a Docker host but not routing between networks.
Expansion and upgrades
The EVO-X2 has no memory slots: its memory is soldered, and the 128 GB it can ship with is also its maximum, so pick your capacity at purchase. Storage is the open path, with two M.2 slots for 2280 drives; the first runs at PCIe 4.0, and GMKtec does not state the second slot's generation. A PCIe 5.0 drive in that first slot would run at PCIe 4.0 speed.
The AtomMan G1 Pro takes the opposite approach, with its 32 GB of DDR5 in two SODIMM slots that are not soldered. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum memory, so check what the slots accept before buying larger modules. It also has two M.2 slots for 2280 drives, with no stated PCIe generation for either, plus an x16-sized PCIe slot whose lane count MINISFORUM does not state.
Ports and connectivity
The EVO-X2 drives screens from one HDMI 2.1 output, one DisplayPort 1.4 output and its two USB4 ports, which carry DisplayPort alt mode; GMKtec does not state how many displays run at once. Around them sit 5 USB-A ports, an SD card reader, Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. Its wired network is a single 2.5GbE port.
The AtomMan G1 Pro has two HDMI outputs and two DisplayPort 2.0 outputs, for up to 4 displays. MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI version, so 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI is not assured; that needs HDMI 2.1 on the computer, the cable and the display. It doubles the EVO-X2's wired speed with a 5GbE port and matches it on Wi-Fi 7. MINISFORUM does not state its USB ports, so count them before you plan peripherals.
Which configurations to compare
Against the AtomMan G1 Pro's single build, 32 GB of DDR5 with 1000 GB of NVMe storage, the fair EVO-X2 match is the 64 GB LPDDR5X model with 1000 GB of storage. Both carry 16 cores, the same storage and Windows 11 Pro, and that EVO-X2 is well suited to workstation tasks, unlike the 64 GB DDR5 model with 2000 GB, which is workable. Step up to the 128 GB LPDDR5X model with 1000 GB or 2000 GB only if local models are the reason you are buying.
If neither fits
If you want discrete graphics but neither the AtomMan G1 Pro's AMD processor nor the EVO-X2's integrated design, the alternative is the ASUS ROG NUC 16. It pairs an Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus, in place of the Ryzen AI Max+ 395, with discrete graphics instead of integrated. Check its memory, storage and ports against your own needs before deciding, since this comparison does not cover them.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | GMKtec EVO-X2 | MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Workable | Good |
| Home lab | Workable | Workable |
| Local AI | Good | Workable |
| Workstation | Good | Good |
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory in the GMKtec EVO-X2?
No. The EVO-X2 has no memory slots and its memory is soldered, with 128 GB as the maximum. Choose between the 64 GB and 128 GB models at purchase, because the amount you buy is the amount you keep.
Which one suits running local language models?
For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The AtomMan G1 Pro is workable, since its 8 GB of graphics memory bounds a model.
How many monitors can each machine drive?
The AtomMan G1 Pro drives up to 4 displays from two HDMI and two DisplayPort 2.0 outputs. The EVO-X2 has one HDMI 2.1, one DisplayPort 1.4 and two USB4 ports with DisplayPort alt mode, but GMKtec does not state a display maximum.
Does the EVO-X2 have an NPU?
Yes, every EVO-X2 model has an NPU that GMKtec puts at 50 TOPS. Its strength for local language models comes from memory capacity rather than that NPU, since the 64 GB and 128 GB models hold large quantized models.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.