Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec EVO-X2 vs MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

Both machines are built around the same AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 with 16 cores and Radeon 8060S graphics, so the choice comes down to the box around the chip. The GMKtec EVO-X2 is the smaller of the two at 2.8 liters. It suits you if one network port and an SD card reader cover your needs. The MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max suits a homelab or a server corner, with a pair of 10GbE ports, 4 USB4 ports and a PCIe slot.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationGMKtec EVO-X2MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
ProcessorAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
GraphicsAMD Radeon 8060SAMD Radeon 8060S
Installed memory64 GB128 GB
Installed storage1 TB2 TB
Maximum memory128 GB128 GB
Memory slots00
M.2 slots22
LAN speed2.5GbE10GbE
USB4 ports24
Thunderbolt ports00

Workload by workload

Everyday work and coding are well suited on both, since each pairs 16 cores and 32 threads with at least 64 GB of memory. For coding, the MS-S1 Max gives you 4 USB4 ports to the EVO-X2's 2.

Gaming is workable on both and no better than that. The Radeon 8060S is integrated, and neither chassis has OCuLink for an external card.

Local AI is well suited on both, and the reason is memory capacity. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed depends on memory bandwidth, which neither maker states.

Homelab use is where they part. It is workable on the EVO-X2, held back by a single 2.5GbE port and soldered memory, and well suited on the MS-S1 Max with its 10GbE ports and 2 M.2 slots.

Workstation use is well suited on every MS-S1 Max configuration. On the EVO-X2 it is well suited too, except for the 64 GB DDR5 model with 2000 GB of storage, which is only workable.

Expansion and upgrades

Memory is fixed on both. It is soldered, there are 0 memory slots, and the stated maximum of 128 GB is what the larger models ship with. Pick a 64 GB version only if 64 GB will do for the life of the machine.

Storage is more open. Each has 2 M.2 2280 slots, so an M.2 drive can go in the second one. On the EVO-X2 the first slot is PCIe 4.0, and GMKtec does not state the second slot's generation. On the MS-S1 Max both slots are PCIe 4.0, though the second runs at x1 rather than x4.

Only the MS-S1 Max has a PCIe slot: x16 in size, wired with 4 lanes. That makes it the one to choose if you plan to add a network or storage card.

Ports and connectivity

The EVO-X2 has a single 2.5GbE port, Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, plus 2 USB4 ports, 5 USB-A ports and an SD card reader. For screens it offers an HDMI 2.1 output, a DisplayPort 1.4 output and USB4 ports that carry DisplayPort.

The MS-S1 Max brings a pair of 10GbE ports, Wi-Fi 7, 4 USB4 and 5 USB-A ports, but no SD card reader. Its screens use one HDMI 2.1 output and the USB4 ports with DisplayPort, since there is no DisplayPort socket. Neither maker states the maximum number of displays.

The EVO-X2 runs from a 230W external power brick, the MS-S1 Max from a 320W internal supply. GMKtec does not state ECC, M.2 SATA support, TDP or VESA mounting, and MINISFORUM does not state ECC, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays or Bluetooth.

Which configurations to compare

The fairest match is the 128 GB model with 2000 GB of storage from each maker. Both have the same processor and sit at the 128 GB maximum. At 64 GB, the MS-S1 Max comes with 2000 GB of PCIe 4.0 NVMe, while the EVO-X2's 64 GB model with that storage is given as DDR5 rather than LPDDR5X. The closer counterpart is the 64 GB LPDDR5X EVO-X2 with 1000 GB. If you want 4000 GB installed, that is an MS-S1 Max model with 128 GB.

If neither fits

If you need discrete graphics, neither fits. Both use the integrated Radeon 8060S, and gaming is only workable on either. The alternative to look at is the ASUS ROG NUC 16, which uses an Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus instead of the Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and has discrete graphics rather than integrated. Its other specifications fall outside this comparison, so read them on their own before you decide.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadGMKtec EVO-X2MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingWorkableWorkable
Home labWorkableGood
Local AIGoodGood
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory later on either machine?

No. On both the EVO-X2 and the MS-S1 Max the memory is soldered and there are 0 memory slots, so the installed 64 GB or 128 GB is final, with 128 GB as the maximum. Choose the capacity you will need from the start.

Which one is better for running local language models?

Both are well suited, because the deciding factor is memory capacity. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Neither maker states memory bandwidth, which sets generation speed.

Do these mini PCs have an NPU?

Yes. Every configuration of both machines has an NPU with 50 TOPS. The local AI judgment for each machine rests on its memory capacity rather than on that NPU figure, so weigh the memory first.

How many monitors can I connect?

Neither maker states a maximum. The EVO-X2 has HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4 and 2 USB4 ports that carry DisplayPort. The MS-S1 Max has HDMI 2.1 and 4 USB4 ports that carry DisplayPort, but no DisplayPort socket.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.