Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

MINISFORUM AI X1 Pro vs MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

Graphics decide this pair: the AtomMan G1 Pro carries a discrete NVIDIA GeForce GPU with 8 GB of GDDR7, while the equally compact AI X1 Pro relies on integrated Radeon 890M graphics. Pick the AtomMan G1 Pro for gaming and CUDA work, where its graphics are well suited. Pick the AI X1 Pro if you want two 2.5GbE ports for a homelab or up to 96 GB of memory for local models. Both handle office work and coding well.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationMINISFORUM AI X1 ProMINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
ProcessorAMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX
GraphicsAMD Radeon 890MNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 8GB GDDR7
Installed memory32 GB32 GB
Installed storage1 TB1 TB
Maximum memory96 GBNot confirmed
Memory slots22
M.2 slots22
LAN speed2.5GbE5GbE
USB4 ports2Not confirmed
Thunderbolt portsNot confirmedNot confirmed

Workload by workload

For everyday office work both are well suited, and the AtomMan G1 Pro is far more machine than that job needs.

Coding is well suited on both. Each ships with 32 GB of DDR5 in two upgradeable SODIMM slots, and the AtomMan adds a discrete GPU for anything that uses CUDA.

Gaming is where they part. The AtomMan's discrete GeForce graphics are fixed rather than shared with system memory, and gaming there is well suited. The AI X1 Pro's Radeon 890M is workable: fine for esports titles at 1080p, not for current AAA at 1440p.

For a homelab the AI X1 Pro has the edge in ports, since two 2.5GbE ports allow routing or network separation on one machine; it is workable with 32 GB and well suited with 96 GB. The AtomMan's single 5GbE port is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks, so it is workable.

Local AI is workable on the AtomMan, where the GPU's 8 GB of memory bounds a model rather than the 32 GB system total. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. MINISFORUM does not state memory bandwidth for either machine, and bandwidth is what governs how fast a model generates text.

As a workstation, the AtomMan is well suited thanks to its discrete graphics, while the AI X1 Pro is workable at 32 GB and well suited at 96 GB installed.

Expansion and upgrades

Both machines use two SODIMM slots with memory that is not soldered, so you can swap modules later. The AI X1 Pro tops out at 96 GB, so the 32 GB model has room to grow and the 96 GB model is already at the maximum. MINISFORUM does not state the AtomMan's maximum memory, so check module support before buying larger sticks.

Each machine has two M.2 2280 slots for storage. MINISFORUM does not state the PCIe generation of either slot on either machine, and a drive runs at the speed of the slot it sits in. The AtomMan has a PCIe slot with an x16 physical size, but MINISFORUM does not state how many lanes it carries. The AI X1 Pro offers no PCIe slot, and neither machine has OCuLink.

Ports and connectivity

The AI X1 Pro has 2 USB4 ports and 2 USB-C ports, and its USB-C ports carry DisplayPort video alongside one HDMI and one DisplayPort output, for up to 4 screens. The AtomMan drives up to 4 screens from 2 HDMI outputs and 2 DisplayPort 2.0 outputs. MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI version on either machine, so do not count on HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz.

On the network side, the AI X1 Pro has 2 ports at 2.5GbE and the AtomMan has 1 port at 5GbE, and both include Wi-Fi 7. The AI X1 Pro adds Bluetooth 5.4, while MINISFORUM does not state the AtomMan's Bluetooth or its USB port counts.

Which configurations to compare

The fair comparison is the AI X1 Pro with the Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, 32 GB and 1000 GB against the AtomMan G1 Pro with the Ryzen 9 8945HX, 32 GB and 1000 GB. Memory and storage match, so the difference comes down to graphics and ports. The AtomMan's processor has 16 cores and 32 threads against 12 cores and 24 threads. The AI X1 Pro with the Ryzen AI 9 HX 370, 96 GB and 2000 GB has no counterpart; choose it for local models or virtual machines. Both AI X1 Pro models carry an NPU with 50 TOPS.

If neither fits

If you need more than 96 GB of memory, or the AtomMan's unstated maximum leaves you unsure, look at the MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra. It uses an Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX rather than an AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470, and its maximum memory is 256 GB rather than 96 GB. That extra capacity makes it the one to consider for larger virtual machine hosts or bigger local models.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadMINISFORUM AI X1 ProMINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingWorkableGood
Home labGoodWorkable
Local AIGoodWorkable
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Which one is better for gaming?

The AtomMan G1 Pro is well suited to gaming, with a discrete NVIDIA GeForce GPU and 8 GB of GDDR7 that is not shared with system memory. The AI X1 Pro's Radeon 890M is workable: fine for esports at 1080p, not current AAA at 1440p.

Can I upgrade the memory later?

Yes on both. Each has two SODIMM slots and memory that is not soldered. The AI X1 Pro takes up to 96 GB. MINISFORUM does not state a maximum for the AtomMan G1 Pro, so confirm module support before you buy.

How many monitors can each one run?

Both drive up to 4 displays. The AtomMan G1 Pro uses 2 HDMI and 2 DisplayPort 2.0 outputs; the AI X1 Pro uses one HDMI output, one DisplayPort output and its USB-C ports, which carry DisplayPort video.

Which is the better choice for running local AI models?

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The AtomMan G1 Pro is workable, because its GPU's 8 GB of memory bounds model size. MINISFORUM states memory bandwidth for neither.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.