MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro
Not available on www.amazon.com
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.
Updated
Not available on www.amazon.com

These are two compact MINISFORUM boxes built around opposite ideas of where the graphics should live. The AtomMan G7 Pro pairs an Intel Core i9-14900HX with a discrete NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop, so it is the one for gaming and CUDA work. The MS-S1 Max runs an AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 on 64 GB or 128 GB of unified LPDDR5X, which makes it the pick for local language models and a homelab. Gaming on the MS-S1 Max is workable, but it is not what the machine is for.
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro | MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Not confirmed | AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 |
| Graphics | Not confirmed | AMD Radeon 8060S |
| Installed memory | Not confirmed | 128 GB |
| Installed storage | Not confirmed | 2 TB |
| Maximum memory | Not confirmed | 128 GB |
| Memory slots | 2 | 0 |
| M.2 slots | 2 | 2 |
| LAN speed | Not confirmed | 10GbE |
| USB4 ports | Not confirmed | 4 |
| Thunderbolt ports | Not confirmed | 0 |
Everyday work and coding are well suited on both. The AtomMan brings 24 cores and 32 threads with 32 GB of DDR5 and a discrete GPU for CUDA tools. The MS-S1 Max brings 16 cores and 32 threads with up to 128 GB of memory.
Gaming is where they split. The AtomMan is well suited because its RTX 5070 Laptop has its own 8 GB of GDDR7 rather than sharing system memory. The MS-S1 Max is workable: its Radeon 8060S is integrated and draws on shared memory, and there is no OCuLink port for an external GPU.
Local AI turns the order around. On the AtomMan it is workable, because the GPU's 8 GB, not the 32 GB system total, bounds the model that runs on the graphics. The MS-S1 Max is well suited: its memory is unified, so most of it can be allocated to the graphics while the operating system keeps its share. Capacity decides which model sizes fit, so the 128 GB model holds larger models than the 64 GB one. MINISFORUM does not state the memory bandwidth that sets generation speed.
For a homelab, the MS-S1 Max is well suited, with two 10GbE ports and two M.2 slots. The AtomMan is only workable, because MINISFORUM does not publish its network ports. Both are well suited as workstations.
The AtomMan keeps its memory in two SODIMM slots rather than soldering it, so the 32 GB can be replaced. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum it accepts, so check before buying larger modules. It has two M.2 2280 slots and ships with a 1000 GB NVMe drive, and it has no PCIe slot. MINISFORUM does not state either slot's PCIe generation.
The MS-S1 Max solders its LPDDR5X-8000 memory with no slots, so the 64 GB or 128 GB you buy is final; 128 GB is the maximum. It has two M.2 2280 slots at PCIe 4.0, the second running at x1 rather than x4, plus a PCIe slot with x16 physical size wired for 4 lanes. A PCIe 5.0 drive in either M.2 slot runs at PCIe 4.0 speed.
The MS-S1 Max publishes its ports: two 10GbE network ports, four USB4 ports with DisplayPort alt mode, five USB-A ports, one HDMI 2.1 output and Wi-Fi 7. Screens connect to the HDMI output and the USB4 ports, though MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays. HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz also need a matching cable and display.
The AtomMan confirms Wi-Fi 6E with the wireless module included, and it has no OCuLink. For everything else, MINISFORUM does not state its dimensions, USB-A, USB-C, USB4 or Thunderbolt ports, HDMI or DisplayPort outputs, maximum displays, Bluetooth, SD card reader, power supply, TDP, VESA mount or ECC support. Check the maker's page before planning a multi-monitor desk around it. MINISFORUM does not state Bluetooth or ECC support for the MS-S1 Max either.
The AtomMan G7 Pro comes in one form: Core i9-14900HX, RTX 5070 Laptop, 32 GB of DDR5 and a 1000 GB NVMe drive. Its fair match is the MS-S1 Max with 64 GB and a 2000 GB drive, the smallest memory the MS-S1 Max comes with. If local AI is your reason for buying, look at the 128 GB versions, with 2000 GB or 4000 GB of storage, because soldered memory cannot be added later. Both machines ship new with Windows 11 Pro.
Each machine leaves a gap. If you need a discrete GPU and published network ports in one box, neither covers both. MINISFORUM does not state the AtomMan's network ports, and the MS-S1 Max has integrated graphics and no OCuLink for an external card. If you want memory you can add to later, the MS-S1 Max is out, because its memory is soldered. In either case, look for a compact machine whose maker documents the ports and memory you need.
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | MINISFORUM AtomMan G7 Pro | MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Good | Workable |
| Home lab | Workable | Good |
| Local AI | Workable | Good |
| Workstation | Good | Good |
The AtomMan G7 Pro uses two SODIMM slots and does not solder its memory, so its 32 GB can be replaced. The MS-S1 Max has soldered memory and no slots, so the 64 GB or 128 GB you buy stays fixed, and 128 GB is its maximum.
The MS-S1 Max is well suited, because its memory is unified and most of it can be allocated to the graphics. The AtomMan is workable. The limit there is the 8 GB of GDDR7 on its RTX 5070 Laptop, not its 32 GB of system memory.
Yes: MINISFORUM states 50 TOPS of NPU performance for every configuration, whether 64 GB or 128 GB of memory and 2000 GB or 4000 GB of storage. The figure is the same across all three, so it does not separate them.
It has a PCIe slot with x16 physical size, wired for 4 lanes, and a 320W internal power supply. It has no OCuLink port, and on its integrated Radeon 8060S alone, gaming is workable rather than well suited.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.