Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

MINISFORUM MS-A2 vs MINISFORUM UM890 Pro

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

These two MINISFORUM machines share a maker and a 96 GB memory ceiling, then go separate ways. The MS-A2 is a 1.8-liter workstation with 16 cores, two 10GbE SFP+ ports and a card slot. That makes it the one for a homelab or a box that needs add-in cards. The UM890 Pro is a compact desktop with stronger integrated graphics and an OCuLink port. It suits a home office machine that also plays lighter games.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationMINISFORUM MS-A2MINISFORUM UM890 Pro
ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 9955HXAMD Ryzen 9 8945HS
GraphicsAMD Radeon 610MAMD Radeon 780M
Installed memoryNot included in this barebones kitNot included in this barebones kit
Installed storageNot included in this barebones kitNot included in this barebones kit
Maximum memory96 GB96 GB
Memory slots22
M.2 slots32
LAN speed2x 10GbE SFP+, 2x 2.5GbE2.5GbE
USB4 ports02
Thunderbolt ports00

Workload by workload

For everyday desktop work and for coding, every built configuration of both machines is well suited. The difference is scale: the MS-A2 brings 16 cores and 32 threads, and the UM890 Pro brings 8 cores and 16 threads. Both machines are well suited to coding, and the MS-A2 brings twice the cores and threads of the UM890 Pro.

Gaming reverses the order. The MS-A2's Radeon 610M is a minimal display adapter, so the MS-A2 is a poor fit for games as sold, although its card slot can take a discrete graphics card later. The UM890 Pro's Radeon 780M makes it workable for esports and older titles at 1080p, and its OCuLink port can drive an external GPU enclosure.

For local language models, memory capacity decides which model sizes fit. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. MINISFORUM does not state memory bandwidth for either machine, so these figures cannot tell you how fast either one generates text.

The MS-A2 is well suited to a homelab, with 10GbE networking and three storage slots including U.2. The UM890 Pro is only workable there because its networking stops at 2.5GbE. As a workstation the MS-A2 is well suited thanks to its card slot with 8 lanes. The UM890 Pro is a poor fit for that role because it has no x8 or x16 card slot.

Expansion and upgrades

Both machines take memory in two SODIMM slots, unsoldered, up to 96 GB. A 32 GB model of either can therefore grow to 96 GB by changing modules.

Storage is where they part. The MS-A2 has three M.2 slots that take 2280 and 22110 drives, plus U.2 support. Its first slot runs at PCIe 4.0 and its second at PCIe 3.0, so put a PCIe 4.0 drive in the first slot. An M.2 drive in the second slot runs at PCIe 3.0 speed. The MS-A2 has no SATA bays, and its physical x16 slot, wired with 8 lanes, can take an add-in card. The UM890 Pro has two M.2 2280 slots, and MINISFORUM does not state their PCIe generation. It has no card slot, and OCuLink is its route to external hardware.

Ports and connectivity

The MS-A2 has four network ports: two 10GbE SFP+ and two 2.5GbE. It also has Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2, on a wireless module that MINISFORUM includes. The UM890 Pro has two 2.5GbE ports. MINISFORUM does not state its Wi-Fi standard or Bluetooth version, or whether a wireless module is included.

For USB, the MS-A2 has two USB-C and three USB-A ports, with no USB4 or Thunderbolt. The UM890 Pro has two USB4 ports, two USB-C ports and four USB-A ports.

For screens, count the fixed outputs. The MS-A2 has one HDMI output and no DisplayPort, and the UM890 Pro has one HDMI output and one DisplayPort. MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI or DisplayPort versions, or the maximum number of displays, for either machine. Confirm these before planning a multi-monitor desk.

Which configurations to compare

The fair matches are like for like. Both machines come as a 32 GB model with 1000 GB of NVMe storage and as a 64 GB model with 1000 GB. Both ship with Windows 11 Pro. The barebones kits also pair up, and neither can be judged until you add memory and storage. Only the MS-A2 is offered with 64 GB and 2000 GB of storage, or with 96 GB and 2000 GB. Set those against a UM890 Pro that you upgrade yourself toward its 96 GB ceiling.

If neither fits

If neither machine fits, the alternative is the Apple Mac mini (M6). It uses Apple M6 in place of the AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX, and its memory tops out at 32 GB rather than 96 GB. Consider it only if you need neither the memory headroom nor the slots described above. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadMINISFORUM MS-A2MINISFORUM UM890 Pro
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingNot suitedWorkable
Home labGoodWorkable
Local AIGoodGood
WorkstationGoodNot suited

Common questions

Can the MS-A2 run games?

As sold, it is a poor fit for gaming, because its Radeon 610M is a minimal display adapter. Its physical x16 slot, wired with 8 lanes, can take a discrete graphics card, and that card is the route to playing games on this machine.

Does the UM890 Pro have 10GbE networking?

No. It has two 2.5GbE network ports and no 10GbE, which is why it is only workable as a homelab box. The MS-A2 adds two 10GbE SFP+ ports alongside its two 2.5GbE ports.

Can I upgrade the memory later on either machine?

Yes. Each machine uses two SODIMM slots with unsoldered memory and a maximum of 96 GB, so you can take a 32 GB model to 96 GB by changing modules. The 96 GB MS-A2 already sits at that ceiling.

Which one should I choose for running a 70B language model?

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed has not been measured on either.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.