Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

MINISFORUM MS-A2

MINISFORUM MS-A2: compare 5 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

The MINISFORUM MS-A2 puts a sixteen-core, thirty-two-thread AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX into a 1.8-liter workstation case and surrounds it with server-style networking. Two 10GbE SFP+ ports, two 2.5GbE ports, three M.2 slots and a PCIe slot with 8 lanes make it a strong pick for a homelab or a build server. The 64 GB and 96 GB models suit local AI as well. Its Radeon 610M is a display adapter, so gamers should look elsewhere.

Choose a configuration

Product image: MINISFORUM MS-A2

AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX, 32 GB / 1 TB

AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
2x 10GbE SFP+
NETWORK
$1,329.00
Product image: MINISFORUM MS-A2

AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX, barebones kit

AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX
CPU
BAREBONES
CONFIG
RAM & SSD required
2x 10GbE SFP+
NETWORK
2x 2.5GbE
NETWORK
$799.00
Kit price, before RAM and SSD

Who this suits

It suits you if you run virtual machines, containers or a storage server and want fast links to a switch or NAS: the two SFP+ ports, the two 2.5GbE ports and memory up to 96 GB carry the homelab case. Developers compiling large projects get sixteen cores and thirty-two threads.

Skip it if you want to game on it as delivered, because the AMD Radeon 610M is a minimal display adapter and no graphics card is fitted. If you plan on several monitors, check first: the one confirmed video output is a single HDMI port.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited on every built model: sixteen cores with 32 GB to 96 GB of DDR5 is far beyond what browsing and office work need.

Coding is well suited, with thirty-two threads for parallel builds and two SODIMM slots taking up to 96 GB.

Gaming is a poor fit: the Radeon 610M is integrated graphics for driving a screen, and the PCIe slot could take a discrete card, but none is installed.

Homelab work is well suited, with four network ports, three storage slots including U.2 and a 96 GB memory ceiling.

Local AI depends on memory. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. That judgment rests on capacity, and generation speed is not measured.

Workstation use is well suited thanks to the PCIe card slot with 8 lanes.

The barebones kit is not assessed until built, since it is sold without memory or storage.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
32 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodWorkableGood
64 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodGoodGood
64 GB / 2 TBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodGoodGood
96 GB / 2 TBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodGoodGood
Barebones kitNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedGoodNot confirmedGood

Which configuration to choose

All five versions share the Ryzen 9 9955HX and Radeon 610M; memory, storage and what comes in the box differ. The four built models ship new with Windows 11 Pro on NVMe storage: 32 GB with 1000 GB, 64 GB with 1000 GB, 64 GB with 2000 GB, and 96 GB with 2000 GB. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The barebones kit makes sense if you already own SODIMMs and NVMe drives.

Upgrading it

Memory sits in two SODIMM slots and is not soldered, so the 32 GB and 64 GB models can grow to the 96 GB maximum.

Storage has three M.2 slots taking 2280 or 22110 drives, plus U.2 support. The first slot runs at PCIe Gen 4 and the second at PCIe Gen 3, so the first is the place for your fastest drive. There are no SATA bays. For expansion cards, the PCIe slot offers 8 lanes and can take a discrete graphics card.

Connecting it

Networking is the standout: two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports. Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 are built in. Peripherals get two USB-C ports and three USB-A ports, and there are no USB4 or Thunderbolt ports.

For screens, count on one HDMI output; there is no DisplayPort output, and MINISFORUM does not state whether the USB-C ports carry video, the HDMI version or the maximum number of displays. Power comes from an external 19V 12.63A supply.

Manufacturer specifications

Partly verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
MINISFORUM
Processor
AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX
Cores and threads
16 cores, 32 threads
Graphics
AMD Radeon 610M
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
32–96 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
96 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
1 TB–2 TB
M.2 slots
3
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
x16 slot, wired for 8 lanes

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
4
LAN speed
2x 10GbE SFP+, 2x 2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6E
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.2
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
3
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
0
Maximum displays
Not confirmed
OCuLink
Not confirmed
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
19V 12.63A external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
196 x 189 x 48
Volume
1.778 L

Limitations

The biggest gap is graphics: the Radeon 610M is no gaming chip and no card comes fitted.

MINISFORUM does not state the memory speed or bandwidth, ECC support, graphics memory, M.2 SATA support, HDMI version, maximum displays, USB-C DisplayPort alt mode, OCuLink, an SD card reader, the TDP or a VESA mount. For the barebones kit it also does not state the operating system, and memory and storage must be added before it runs.

Alternatives

The Apple Mac mini (M6) swaps the Ryzen 9 9955HX for an Apple M6, and its memory tops out at 32 GB against 96 GB here, so it only makes sense if your projects and models fit that ceiling.

The MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra uses an Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX and takes up to 256 GB, so look at it if 96 GB would cap your virtual machines or AI models. Stay with the MS-A2 if 96 GB, its network ports and the PCIe slot cover your plans.

Compared with

Common questions

Can the MS-A2 play games?

Not as delivered. The AMD Radeon 610M is integrated graphics, a minimal display adapter rather than a gaming GPU, so gaming is a poor fit on every built model. The PCIe slot can take a discrete card, but none comes installed.

How large an AI model can it run?

It depends on installed memory. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured.

Can I upgrade the memory later?

Yes. The memory is not soldered and sits in two SODIMM slots, with a maximum of 96 GB. That leaves room to grow the 32 GB and 64 GB models, while the 96 GB model is already at the limit.

Does it have Wi-Fi?

Yes. MINISFORUM fits a Wi-Fi 6E module along with Bluetooth 5.2. For links to a switch or storage server, the two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports are the better choice.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.