Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

ASUS ROG NUC 15

ASUS ROG NUC 15: compare 6 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

The ROG NUC 15 puts discrete NVIDIA graphics, from the GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop up to the RTX 5080 Laptop, into a compact case of 3 liters. Every assessed configuration is well suited to gaming, coding and everyday work, and its two memory slots take up to 96 GB later. Get it if you want a small Windows 11 Pro gaming desktop. Look elsewhere if you need confirmed ports or networking before you buy, because ASUS does not state them.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.com

A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits you if you want to play games on a desk with no room for a tower: every configuration carries a discrete NVIDIA GPU, and ASUS positions the model for gaming. Developers and workstation users fit too, since memory sits in replaceable SODIMM slots and workstation use is well suited thanks to the discrete graphics.

Skip it if you need networking or multi-screen details in writing. ASUS does not state the network ports, the network speed, the Wi-Fi standard or the maximum number of displays. Skip the RTX 5060 Laptop model if local AI is your main use, because with 16 GB as sold it is a poor fit.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited in every assessed configuration, each built around a current-generation Core Ultra 7 or Core Ultra 9 with a discrete GPU and Windows 11 Pro. Coding is well suited, with two DDR5 SODIMM slots taking up to 96 GB and two M.2 slots.

Gaming is well suited in every assessed configuration, because each carries a discrete GeForce GPU rather than integrated graphics. No frame rates are given, so match the graphics chip to your games and screen. Workstation use is well suited on the strength of that discrete graphics.

As a homelab box it is workable: memory expands to 96 GB and there are two M.2 2280 slots, but ASUS does not state the networking.

Local AI is workable on the RTX 5070 Laptop models with 16 GB or 32 GB, the RTX 5070 Ti Laptop model and the RTX 5080 Laptop model. It is a poor fit on the RTX 5060 Laptop model, where only small quantized models fit as sold. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed is not measured.

The 64 GB model with 24 cores has not been assessed for these workloads.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
16 GB / 1 TB, RTX 5070GoodGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGood
16 GB / 1 TB, RTX 5060GoodGoodGoodWorkableNot suitedGood
32 GB / 1 TB, RTX 5070GoodGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGood
Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5070 Ti, 32 GB, 1 TBGoodGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGood
32 GB / 2 TB, RTX 5080GoodGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGood
Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5070, 64 GB, 2 TBNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedGood

Which configuration to choose

Every configuration ships new with Windows 11 Pro and NVMe storage, and most pair the Core Ultra 9 275HX with the graphics. The exception is the Core Ultra 7 255HX with an RTX 5060 Laptop, 8 GB of graphics memory and 16 GB of system memory. The RTX 5070 Laptop comes with 16 GB, 32 GB or 64 GB, and the 64 GB version brings 2000 GB of storage. The RTX 5070 Ti Laptop model has 12 GB of graphics memory, and the RTX 5080 Laptop model has 16 GB plus 2000 GB of storage. Choose by graphics chip, since system memory can be added later.

Upgrading it

Memory is not soldered: two SODIMM slots take DDR5 up to 96 GB, so any configuration can grow later. The 16 GB models have the most room to gain, and the 64 GB model sits closest to the ceiling. ASUS does not state the memory speed or whether ECC is supported. Storage uses two M.2 slots that take 2280 drives, and the configurations ship with 1000 GB or 2000 GB of NVMe. ASUS does not state the PCIe generation of either M.2 slot, nor whether they accept SATA drives.

Connecting it

ASUS does not state the HDMI or DisplayPort outputs, their versions or the maximum number of displays, so how many screens you can run is not confirmed. The USB-C, USB-A, USB4 and Thunderbolt port counts are not stated either. For networking, ASUS gives no Ethernet port count or speed, no Wi-Fi standard and no Bluetooth version, and does not state whether a wireless module is included. OCuLink, an SD card reader and VESA mounting are not confirmed. Confirm the port layout with ASUS before you plan your cables.

Manufacturer specifications

Partly verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
ASUS
Processor
Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX, Intel Core Ultra 7 255HX
Cores and threads
24 cores, 24 threads
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16–64 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
96 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
1 TB–2 TB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
Not confirmed
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
Not confirmed
LAN speed
Not confirmed
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
Not confirmed
Thunderbolt ports
Not confirmed
USB-C ports
Not confirmed
USB-A ports
Not confirmed
HDMI outputs
Not confirmed
DisplayPort outputs
Not confirmed
Maximum displays
Not confirmed
OCuLink
Not confirmed
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
Not confirmed
Volume
3 L

Limitations

The main gap is documentation: ports, displays, networking, the power supply and TDP are all not confirmed by ASUS. Dimensions are not stated; only the 3-liter volume is. Core and thread counts are given only for the 64 GB model, at 24 cores and 24 threads, and graphics memory is not stated for the RTX 5070 Laptop models. The RTX 5060 Laptop model is a poor fit for local AI as sold.

Alternatives

The HP Z2 Mini G1a uses an AMD Ryzen AI Max PRO 385 instead of the Core Ultra 9 275HX, with integrated graphics rather than a discrete GPU. The Apple Mac Studio with the M5 Max makes the same trade on Apple's own chip: integrated graphics in place of discrete. For both, the deciding question is whether you want separate NVIDIA graphics; if gaming on a discrete GeForce GPU is the priority, that points to the ROG NUC 15.

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory on the ROG NUC 15?

Yes. Memory is not soldered, and the two SODIMM slots take DDR5 up to 96 GB, so a 16 GB or 32 GB configuration can be raised later. ASUS does not state the supported memory speed.

How many monitors can it drive?

ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays, nor the number or versions of its HDMI and DisplayPort outputs. Until those are confirmed, check with ASUS before planning a multi-monitor desk around this machine.

Which configuration should I pick for local AI?

The RTX 5060 Laptop model is a poor fit for local AI as sold. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system.

Does it have Wi-Fi and Ethernet?

ASUS does not state the Wi-Fi standard, the Bluetooth version or whether a wireless module is included, and the Ethernet ports and network speed are not confirmed either. If wireless or fast networking matters to you, verify it before buying.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.