Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec K12

GMKtec K12: compare 4 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Three M.2 slots, two 2.5GbE network ports and an OCuLink port surround an eight-core, sixteen-thread AMD Ryzen 7 H 255 in the GMKtec K12, a compact desktop of 1.7 liters. Every built configuration is well suited to everyday work and homelab duty, and the 32 GB models are also well suited to coding. Choose it for storage and networking room, not for gaming, where its integrated Radeon 780M makes it a poor fit.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.com

A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits someone who wants a small Windows 11 Pro desktop that can also run services at home. Two network ports and three M.2 slots make it well suited to homelab use, and DDR5 in two removable slots means the memory can grow later. Developers should pick a 32 GB model, which is well suited to coding, while the 16 GB model is only workable for it.

Skip it if you want to play recent games or run heavy workstation software: both are a poor fit, because the graphics are integrated and there is no card slot. It is also not the box for serious local language model work, since the 16 GB model is a poor fit and the 32 GB models are only workable.

Workload fit

Everyday work is well suited on the three built configurations, which ship with Windows 11 Pro, DDR5 and an NVMe drive. The barebones kit is not assessed until built, since it comes without memory or a drive.

Coding is workable on the 16 GB model and well suited on both 32 GB models. The 16 GB model can still grow to 96 GB through its 2 slots.

Gaming is a poor fit: the Radeon 780M is integrated graphics, with no dedicated graphics card.

Homelab use is well suited on every built configuration, thanks to 2 network ports at 2.5GbE and 3 M.2 slots for separate drives; the kit is not assessed until built.

Local AI is a poor fit on the 16 GB model and workable on the 32 GB models, which carry their memory over 2 slots. Capacity decides which model sizes fit and bandwidth decides how fast text appears, and GMKtec does not state the memory bandwidth, so capacity is the only firm guide here.

Workstation work is a poor fit: there is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot, fewer than four memory slots and too little memory for heavy professional loads.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedGoodNot suitedNot suited
32 GB / 512 GBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodWorkableNot suited
32 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodWorkableNot suited
BarebonesNot confirmedNot confirmedNot suitedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot suited

Which configuration to choose

All four configurations share the AMD Ryzen 7 H 255 with 8 cores, 16 threads and Radeon 780M graphics, and all are sold new at retail; they differ in memory and storage. The 16 GB model with a 512 GB NVMe drive covers everyday work. The 32 GB model with 512 GB is the one for coding and modest local AI. The 32 GB model with 1024 GB does the same work with more room for projects or virtual machine images. The barebones kit leaves memory, drive and operating system to you.

Upgrading it

Memory sits in 2 SODIMM slots, is not soldered and runs at 5600 MT/s, with a maximum of 96 GB. That gives the 16 GB and 32 GB models real headroom: you can replace their modules instead of replacing the machine. Storage goes into 3 M.2 slots of the 2280 length. The first slot is PCIe 4.0, so a PCIe 5.0 drive there runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. A drive added to another slot is an M.2 drive whose speed is uncertain, because GMKtec does not state the second slot's PCIe generation. There are no SATA bays, and the M.2 slots do not take SATA drives.

Connecting it

Up to 4 displays are supported: one HDMI 2.1 output, one DisplayPort 1.4 output and the 2 USB-C ports, which carry DisplayPort video. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI, you also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 input on the monitor. One of the USB-C ports is USB4, and there is no Thunderbolt. Four USB-A ports handle keyboards and drives. Networking is two 2.5GbE ports plus Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2, with the wireless module included. For an external graphics card, the ports on offer are one USB4 port and an OCuLink port. A VESA mount lets it sit behind a monitor.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
GMKtec
Processor
AMD Ryzen 7 H 255
Cores and threads
8 cores, 16 threads
Graphics
AMD Radeon 780M
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16–32 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
96 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
512 GB–1024 GB
M.2 slots
3
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
2
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6E
Bluetooth
5.2
USB4 ports
1
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
4
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
4
OCuLink
Yes
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
154 x 151 x 73.6
Volume
1.712 L

Limitations

The graphics are integrated, so gaming and workstation work remain a poor fit, and there is no PCIe card slot to change that. There is no Thunderbolt and no SATA storage of any kind. GMKtec does not state the memory bandwidth, the graphics memory or its type, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, ECC support, whether there is an SD card reader, the power supply or the TDP.

Alternatives

When you weigh other compact desktops, compare them on the points that define the K12: the number of M.2 slots and their PCIe generation, the count and speed of the network ports, the memory ceiling and whether the memory is soldered, and whether OCuLink or USB4 is present. If gaming matters, look for discrete graphics, since the K12 is a poor fit there.

Common questions

How much memory can the GMKtec K12 take?

GMKtec gives a maximum of 96 GB across 2 SODIMM slots of DDR5 at 5600 MT/s, and the memory is not soldered, so you can replace the modules in the 16 GB or 32 GB models yourself.

How many monitors can the K12 run?

Up to 4. It has one HDMI 2.1 output and one DisplayPort 1.4 output, and both USB-C ports carry DisplayPort video. For HDMI 2.1 features, the cable and the monitor must support HDMI 2.1 as well.

Is the K12 a good homelab box?

Yes, every built configuration is well suited to it. Two 2.5GbE ports separate network traffic, three M.2 slots hold separate drives, and memory goes up to 96 GB for virtual machines. The barebones kit is not assessed until built.

Can the K12 run local AI models?

The 32 GB models are workable for local AI, while the 16 GB model is a poor fit. Capacity sets which model sizes fit, and GMKtec does not state the memory bandwidth, which sets how quickly text is generated.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.