Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec M8

GMKtec M8: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Six AMD cores, two 2.5GbE ports and an OCuLink port fit inside the GMKtec M8, an ultra-compact box of 0.7 liters. Both builds pair the AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 6650H with 16 GB of LPDDR5, which makes it a sound pick for everyday desktop work and a small homelab host. Skip it for gaming, local AI or workstation jobs, because the Radeon 660M is integrated and the memory is soldered at 16 GB.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.com

A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

The M8 suits you if you want a small Windows 11 Pro desktop for browsing, office work and email that sits beside a monitor at 107 x 111 x 63 mm. It also suits homelab tinkerers who want two network ports for a small server or network appliance, and two M.2 slots for storage. Developers can work on it too, as long as 16 GB covers their tools.

Skip it if you play games, want to run AI models locally or need a workstation, because the integrated Radeon 660M and the fixed 16 GB of memory are a poor fit for all three. Skip it as well if you expect to add memory later, since there are no memory slots.

Workload fit

Everyday work is well suited. The Ryzen 5 PRO 6650H brings six cores and twelve threads, backed by 16 GB of LPDDR5 at 6400 MT/s, for browsing, office suites and video calls.

Coding is workable. The processor has the cores for editors and builds, but the memory is soldered at 16 GB and cannot be raised, so heavy container stacks or several virtual machines at once will hit that ceiling.

Gaming is a poor fit. The Radeon 660M is integrated graphics, with no discrete card to lean on.

Homelab use is well suited. Two 2.5GbE network ports and two M.2 slots give it what a small always-on server or network box needs, though the 16 GB limits how many virtual machines run side by side.

Local AI is a poor fit. Integrated Radeon 660M graphics and a fixed 16 GB of memory leave little room for language models.

Workstation work is a poor fit too: there is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot, no memory slots, and 16 GB is too little memory for that kind of job.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedGoodNot suitedNot suited
16 GB / 1 TBGoodWorkableNot suitedGoodNot suitedNot suited

Which configuration to choose

Both retail configurations are the same machine apart from the drive: an AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 6650H, Radeon 660M graphics, 16 GB of LPDDR5 and Windows 11 Pro. One ships with a 512 GB NVMe drive, the other with 1024 GB.

Choose the 1024 GB model if you keep large photo or video folders on the machine and would rather not open it up. The 512 GB model makes sense if you plan to fill the second M.2 slot yourself, since the memory is identical in both and cannot be changed later.

Upgrading it

Memory is fixed: the 16 GB of LPDDR5 is soldered, there are no memory slots, and 16 GB is also the maximum. Buy the M8 only if that amount covers what you plan to run for years.

Storage has more room. There are two M.2 slots for 2280-length drives, and the first runs at PCIe Gen 4. With the installed NVMe drive in one slot, you can add an M.2 drive to the other. M.2 SATA drives are not supported, and there are no SATA bays.

Connecting it

For screens you get one HDMI 2.0 output, one DisplayPort 1.4 output and a USB-C connection that carries DisplayPort, and the M8 drives up to 3 displays. On the USB side there is one USB4 port, one USB-C port and four USB-A ports, with no Thunderbolt.

Networking is two 2.5GbE ports, plus Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 from the built-in wireless module. An OCuLink port is also on board.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
GMKtec
Processor
AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 6650H
Cores and threads
6 cores, 12 threads
Graphics
AMD Radeon 660M
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16 GB
Memory slots
0
Maximum memory
16 GB
Memory soldered
Yes
Installed storage
512 GB–1024 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
2
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6E
Bluetooth
5.2
USB4 ports
1
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
4
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
3
OCuLink
Yes
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
107 x 111 x 63
Volume
0.748 L

Limitations

The biggest limit is memory: 16 GB, soldered, with no slots to grow it. There is no PCIe card slot, no SATA support of any kind and no Thunderbolt.

GMKtec does not state the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, ECC support, whether there is an SD card reader, the power supply, the TDP, VESA mounting, the memory bandwidth, or how much and what type of memory the graphics use.

Alternatives

The Beelink EQ14 uses an Intel N150 instead of the Ryzen 5 PRO 6650H and has no USB4 port, so the processor and that port decide between them.

The MINISFORUM MS-01 pairs an Intel Core i9-13900H with a 96 GB memory ceiling against the M8's 16 GB, which matters if memory is what holds you back.

The Beelink EQR6 runs an AMD Ryzen 5 6600H, and Beelink does not state its maximum memory, so check that figure before weighing it against the M8's fixed 16 GB.

Product image: GMKtec NucBox G3S

GMKtec NucBox G3S

Above typical price
Intel N95
CPU
8 GB DDR4
RAM
256 GB SSD
STORAGE
1GbE
NETWORK
$299.99

Common questions

Can I upgrade the RAM in the GMKtec M8?

No. The 16 GB of LPDDR5 is soldered to the board, there are no memory slots, and 16 GB is the maximum. If you expect to need more memory later, look at a machine with removable memory instead.

How many monitors can the GMKtec M8 run?

Up to 3. Use the HDMI 2.0 output, the DisplayPort 1.4 output and the USB-C connection, which carries DisplayPort, so a USB-C monitor or a USB-C to DisplayPort cable covers the third screen.

Does the GMKtec M8 have Wi-Fi?

Yes. GMKtec builds in a wireless module with Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2. If you prefer a cable, there are also two wired 2.5GbE network ports for your router or switch.

Can I add a second SSD to the GMKtec M8?

Yes. The M8 has two M.2 slots for 2280 drives, so you can add an M.2 drive next to the installed NVMe drive. M.2 SATA drives are not supported, and GMKtec does not state the second slot's PCIe generation.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.