Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec NucBox G10

GMKtec NucBox G10: compare this configuration by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

The NucBox G10's appeal is room to grow inside an ultra-compact box: two SODIMM slots that take up to 64 GB and two M.2 slots, built around a modest four-core AMD Ryzen 5 3500U. It ships with 16 GB of DDR4, a 256 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, and it is well suited to everyday work. Coding and a light homelab are workable, while gaming, local AI and workstation work are a poor fit.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.com

A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits someone who wants a small Windows desktop for browsing, office work and streaming, either mounted behind a monitor on its VESA mount or tucked onto a shelf. It also suits a tinkerer who wants a 2.5GbE box for a few containers, with the option to add memory and a second drive later.

Skip it if you want to game, run language models locally or do 3D and video work, because the integrated AMD Radeon Vega 8 and four cores make those a poor fit. Skip it too if you need two network ports for a router or firewall, since it has only one.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited. Four cores and eight threads, 16 GB of memory and an NVMe drive cover browsing, office documents and streaming without trouble.

Coding is workable. The two memory slots reach 64 GB, which helps with containers and larger projects, but the processor is a 2019 four-core part, so long builds will ask for patience.

Gaming is a poor fit. The Radeon Vega 8 is integrated graphics sharing DDR4 at 2400 MT/s, and there is no card slot to add more.

A homelab is workable. The 2.5GbE port gives fast networking and the two M.2 slots leave room for a second drive, but with one network port it is a host rather than a router.

Local AI is a poor fit, because integrated Vega 8 graphics and DDR4 at 2400 MT/s leave little room for language models.

Workstation work is a poor fit too: there is no discrete graphics, no PCIe card slot and only two memory slots.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
16 GB / 256 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedNot suited

Which configuration to choose

The NucBox G10 comes as a Ryzen 5 3500U model with 16 GB of DDR4, a 256 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, sold new. It is not a barebones kit, so it is ready to use out of the box. The real choice is about what you add later. For everyday tasks the 16 GB build is enough as it stands. For coding or a few virtual machines, plan for more memory, up to 64 GB across the two slots, and a second M.2 drive alongside the 256 GB one.

Upgrading it

Memory is the easy upgrade. The two SODIMM slots take DDR4 at 2400 MT/s and are not soldered, so you can move from 16 GB to the 64 GB maximum. Storage has two M.2 slots for 2280 drives, and the first runs at PCIe generation 3. GMKtec does not state the second slot's PCIe generation or whether either slot takes SATA, so check the interface before buying an M.2 drive for it. There are no SATA bays and no PCIe card slot.

Connecting it

GMKtec gives a maximum of three displays, and the dedicated video outputs are one HDMI and one DisplayPort. GMKtec does not state the version of either, which matters if you plan on a high-resolution or high-refresh monitor. There is one USB-C port. Networking is a single 2.5GbE port plus Wi-Fi 5 and Bluetooth 5.0, though GMKtec does not state whether the wireless module is included. For an external graphics card, note that there is no OCuLink port and GMKtec does not state any USB4 or Thunderbolt ports.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
GMKtec
Processor
AMD Ryzen 5 3500U
Cores and threads
4 cores, 8 threads
Graphics
AMD Radeon Vega 8
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
64 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
256 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 5
Bluetooth
5.0
USB4 ports
Not confirmed
Thunderbolt ports
Not confirmed
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
Not confirmed
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
3
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
Not confirmed
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
103 x 98 x 42
Volume
Not confirmed

Limitations

The processor is a 2019 four-core part, and the graphics are integrated with no card slot beside them. One network port limits it as network gear, and the 256 GB drive is small. GMKtec does not state the case volume, graphics memory, memory bandwidth, ECC support, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, M.2 SATA support, USB-A ports, USB4 or Thunderbolt ports, the HDMI and DisplayPort versions, whether the wireless module is included, an SD card reader, the power supply or the TDP.

Alternatives

When you look at other mini PCs, compare the processor's core count and age against this four-core chip, and the memory type and ceiling against its DDR4 at 64 GB. Check the number of network ports against its single 2.5GbE port if you want router or firewall duty. For gaming or local AI, look for stronger graphics than the integrated Radeon Vega 8, and check whether a machine offers OCuLink, which this one lacks.

Product image: GMKtec NucBox G3S

GMKtec NucBox G3S

Above typical price
Intel N95
CPU
8 GB DDR4
RAM
256 GB SSD
STORAGE
1GbE
NETWORK
$299.99

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory in the NucBox G10?

Yes. The memory sits in two SODIMM slots and is not soldered, so you can replace the 16 GB of DDR4 it ships with. GMKtec gives a maximum of 64 GB, running at 2400 MT/s, which leaves plenty of room for heavier multitasking later.

How many monitors can it run?

GMKtec gives a maximum of three displays. The dedicated video outputs are one HDMI and one DisplayPort, and GMKtec does not state the version of either, so confirm your monitor's resolution and refresh rate are supported before relying on a specific setup.

Is the NucBox G10 good for gaming?

Gaming is a poor fit. The graphics are an integrated AMD Radeon Vega 8 sharing DDR4 memory, and there is no PCIe card slot to add a graphics card. It is better kept for everyday desktop work, where it is well suited.

Does it work as a home server?

It is workable for a homelab. The 2.5GbE port gives fast networking, and the two M.2 slots and 64 GB memory ceiling leave room to grow, but it has one network port, so it suits a container host more than a router.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.