
GMKtec NucBox K11
GMKtec NucBox K11: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
OCuLink, two USB4 ports and two 2.5GbE network ports in a 1-liter case make the GMKtec NucBox K11 a flexible small desktop for coding, homelab duty and everyday work. Its AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS brings 8 cores and 16 threads, and both builds ship with 32 GB of DDR5 in removable slots that take up to 96 GB. Look elsewhere if gaming or heavy workstation work is the goal, because the Radeon 780M graphics are integrated.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.com
A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
This machine suits developers and anyone who runs a few services at home. Its 8 cores and 16 threads handle compiling and containers, and the two 2.5GbE ports let one box sit on two networks. It also suits a desk where space is tight, since the case measures 132 x 125 x 58 mm. If you want to experiment with local AI, the 32 GB you get is workable and can grow to 96 GB later.
Skip it if you mainly play games, because the integrated Radeon 780M makes this a poor fit for that. Skip it too for CAD, rendering or GPU compute work that needs a graphics card inside the case, because there is no PCIe card slot.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited. An 8-core, 16-thread Ryzen 9 8945HS with 32 GB of DDR5 has plenty in reserve for browsers, office apps and video calls.
Coding is well suited for the same reasons: 16 threads help with parallel builds, and the 512 GB or 1024 GB NVMe drive holds toolchains and repositories.
Gaming is a poor fit. The Radeon 780M is integrated graphics, and there is no slot for a graphics card inside the case.
Homelab use is well suited. You get two 2.5GbE ports, two M.2 slots to keep the system and data on separate drives, and memory that reaches 96 GB for virtual machines.
Local AI is workable. Both builds ship with 32 GB spread over two slots, and the graphics are integrated rather than carrying their own memory. GMKtec does not state the graphics memory or the memory bandwidth, and both shape how large a model you can load and how quickly it answers. Because the memory is not soldered, raising it toward 96 GB is the way to make room for larger models.
Workstation work is a poor fit. There is no discrete graphics, no card slot and only two memory slots.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32 GB / 512 GB | Good | Good | Not suited | Good | Workable | Not suited |
| 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Not suited | Good | Workable | Not suited |
Which configuration to choose
The two retail builds differ only in storage. Both pair the Ryzen 9 8945HS with 32 GB of DDR5 and Windows 11 Pro, and both are new. The 512 GB model makes sense if you plan to add your own drive to the second M.2 slot, or if your files live on a network share. The 1024 GB model is the one to pick if you want room for virtual machine images, local AI models or a media library without opening the case on day one.
Upgrading it
Memory is the easy upgrade. The two SODIMM slots are not soldered, run DDR5 at 5600 MT/s and take up to 96 GB, so the 32 GB that ships is far from the ceiling.
Storage has two M.2 slots, both for 2280-length drives. The first runs at PCIe Gen 4. GMKtec does not state the second slot's PCIe generation, so treat a drive you add there as an M.2 drive whose speed you should not assume until you check it. There is no PCIe card slot inside the case.
Connecting it
You can run up to 4 displays. There is one HDMI 2.1 output and one DisplayPort 2.1 output, and the two USB-C ports carry DisplayPort as well, so a USB-C monitor or a USB-C to DisplayPort cable works from them.
Two USB4 ports are fitted, there is no Thunderbolt, and there is also an OCuLink port.
Networking comes from two 2.5GbE ports plus Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2, and the wireless module is included, so the box works on a desk without a network cable.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- GMKtec
- Processor
- AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS
- Cores and threads
- 8 cores, 16 threads
- Graphics
- AMD Radeon 780M
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2024
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 32 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 96 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 512 GBβ1024 GB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- Not confirmed
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 2
- LAN speed
- 2.5GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6
- Bluetooth
- 5.2
- USB4 ports
- 2
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- Not confirmed
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 1
- Maximum displays
- 4
- OCuLink
- Yes
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- Not confirmed
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- 132 x 125 x 58
- Volume
- 0.957 L
Limitations
The Radeon 780M is integrated and there is no PCIe card slot, which rules out serious gaming and graphics-heavy workstation work. GMKtec does not state the graphics memory or its type, the memory bandwidth, ECC support, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, the number of USB-A ports, an SD card reader, the power supply, the TDP or a VESA mount. Check the USB-A count before you buy if you rely on older peripherals.
Alternatives
The Apple Mac mini (M6) swaps the Ryzen 9 8945HS for Apple's M6, but its memory tops out at 32 GB rather than 96 GB. If you want room to grow for virtual machines or local AI, the K11 leaves more headroom.
The Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 6 uses an Intel Core Ultra 7 256V and stops at 16 GB of memory, against 96 GB here. Pick the K11 if memory capacity matters to how you work.


BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra

GMKtec NucBox G3S

Beelink Mini S12 Pro
Common questions
Can the GMKtec NucBox K11 drive four monitors?
Yes. GMKtec gives a maximum of 4 displays, and you can connect them through the HDMI 2.1 output, the DisplayPort 2.1 output and the two USB-C ports, which support DisplayPort alt mode. That covers a four-screen desk without a docking station.
How much memory can I add to the NucBox K11?
Up to 96 GB. The memory sits in two SODIMM slots and is not soldered, so you can replace the 32 GB that ships with larger DDR5 modules. The memory speed is 5600 MT/s, so buy modules that match it.
Does the NucBox K11 have Wi-Fi?
Yes. The wireless module is included, with Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2, so the K11 works without a network cable. For a homelab or a busy file server, plug into one of the two 2.5GbE ports instead.
Is the NucBox K11 good for gaming?
Gaming is a poor fit. The Radeon 780M is integrated graphics, and there is no PCIe slot for a graphics card inside the case. The K11 is well suited to everyday work, coding and homelab duty, and that is the reason to choose it.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.