
HP Z2 Mini G1a
HP Z2 Mini G1a: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
HP builds the Z2 Mini G1a as a 2.9-liter workstation around AMD Ryzen AI Max PRO processors, with soldered LPDDR5X shared by the integrated Radeon graphics. Pick a 64 GB build if you want local AI or heavier workstation work on a small desk machine, since the 32 GB model is a poor fit for local AI. Everyday work and coding are well suited on every build.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.com
A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
It suits developers, analysts and people running language models at home who want Windows 11 Pro in a workstation that fits beside a monitor. The 64 GB builds are the ones for model work, since both share 64 GB of unified memory between processor and graphics. The 16-core Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 build adds headroom for long compiles and rendering.
Skip it if you need a graphics card slot, a VESA mount or more than a single wired network port, because it has no PCIe slot, no VESA mount and just one network port. Gamers who want a discrete GPU should look elsewhere too: the graphics are integrated, and gaming is only workable.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited: even the 8-core, 16-thread Ryzen AI Max PRO 385 with 32 GB exceeds what browsing and office software ask for.
Coding is well suited, with 8 or 16 cores, 1000 GB or 2000 GB of NVMe storage and Windows 11 Pro on every build.
Gaming is workable. The Radeon 8050S and Radeon 8060S are integrated graphics, so expect lighter games and modest settings rather than what a discrete card delivers.
Homelab use is workable: the 2 M.2 slots give room for storage, but a single 2.5GbE port limits it as a router or a host for several networks.
Local AI depends on memory. The 32 GB model is a poor fit, while both 64 GB builds are well suited, because 64 GB of unified memory lets the integrated graphics work with larger models than 32 GB can hold.
Workstation work follows the same line: the 32 GB build is workable, and the 64 GB builds are well suited and reach workstation class. The 32 GB model with the Ryzen AI Max PRO 385 meets none of the workstation criteria, which is why the larger memory matters.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ryzen AI Max PRO 385, 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Not suited | Workable |
| Ryzen AI Max PRO 385, 64 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Good | Good |
| Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395, 64 GB / 2 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Good | Good |
Which configuration to choose
The retail builds split by processor. The Ryzen AI Max PRO 385, with 8 cores, 16 threads and Radeon 8050S graphics, comes with 32 GB or 64 GB of memory and 1000 GB of NVMe storage. The Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 steps up to 16 cores, 32 threads and Radeon 8060S graphics, with 64 GB and 2000 GB of storage. Take the 32 GB model for office work and coding only. For local AI, the 64 GB model with the Ryzen AI Max PRO 385 is enough; choose the Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 for more cores and storage on heavier workstation jobs.
Upgrading it
Memory cannot be upgraded: the LPDDR5X is soldered at 8000 MT/s and there are no memory slots. HP gives a 128 GB maximum, but no retail build goes past 64 GB, and capacity cannot be raised after purchase. Storage has room to grow. There are 2 M.2 slots for 2280 drives, both PCIe generation 4, so a second M.2 drive can sit beside the factory 1000 GB or 2000 GB drive. There are no SATA bays and no PCIe slot for expansion cards.
Connecting it
Up to 4 screens can run at once: there are 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs and no HDMI, and the USB-C ports carry DisplayPort alt mode. HDMI monitors need an adapter or a DisplayPort-to-HDMI cable. For peripherals you get 2 Thunderbolt ports, 3 USB-C ports and 5 USB-A ports. Wired networking is a single 2.5GbE port, and HP does not state whether a wireless module is fitted, so plan around the cable. For external expansion there are the Thunderbolt ports; there is no USB4 or OCuLink. Power comes from a 300W internal supply, so there is no power brick on the desk.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- HP
- Processor
- AMD Ryzen AI Max PRO 385, AMD Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395
- Cores and threads
- 8β16 cores, 16β32 threads
- Graphics
- AMD Radeon 8050S, AMD Radeon 8060S
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- Not confirmed
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 32β64 GB
- Memory slots
- 0
- Maximum memory
- 128 GB
- Memory soldered
- Yes
- Installed storage
- 1 TBβ2 TB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 2.5GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Not confirmed
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 2
- USB-C ports
- 3
- USB-A ports
- 5
- HDMI outputs
- 0
- DisplayPort outputs
- 2
- Maximum displays
- 4
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 300W internal
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- No
- Dimensions
- 85.5 x 168 x 200
- Volume
- 2.873 L
Limitations
Soldered memory is the main limit, because capacity is fixed at purchase. There is no HDMI output, no PCIe slot, no SATA bay, no VESA mount and only one wired network port. HP does not state the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth support, whether a wireless module is included, the memory bandwidth, how much memory the graphics can use or its type, ECC support, SATA support on the M.2 slots, an SD card reader, the TDP or the release year.
Alternatives
The ASUS ROG NUC 15 pairs an Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX with discrete graphics instead of integrated, so look at it if gaming comes first, where the HP is only workable. The Apple Mac Studio (M5 Max) uses Apple's M5 Max and offers 10GbE networking rather than 2.5GbE, which matters if you move large files over the network. With either, compare the memory ceiling and whether the memory is soldered, since that fixes the HP at the capacity you buy.


BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra

GMKtec NucBox G3S

Beelink Mini S12 Pro
Common questions
Can I add memory to the HP Z2 Mini G1a later?
No. The LPDDR5X is soldered and there are no memory slots, so the 32 GB or 64 GB you choose stays for the life of the machine. Buy the capacity your heaviest work needs.
Which build should I get for local AI?
One of the 64 GB builds. Both are well suited for local AI thanks to 64 GB of unified memory, while the 32 GB model is a poor fit. Pick the Ryzen AI Max+ PRO 395 if you also want more cores.
How many monitors can it run?
Up to 4. It has 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, no HDMI, and USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode for the other screens. HDMI monitors need an adapter or a DisplayPort-to-HDMI cable.
Does it come with Wi-Fi?
HP does not state whether a wireless module is included, nor the Wi-Fi standard or Bluetooth support. Plan on the single 2.5GbE port, and check wireless with the seller if you need it.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.