
HP Z2 Mini G1i
HP Z2 Mini G1i: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
HP's Z2 Mini G1i is a 3.2-liter workstation with discrete NVIDIA RTX graphics in every build, a PCIe card slot with 8 lanes and ECC-capable DDR5 that grows to 128 GB. It suits design, graphics and development work on Windows 11 Pro where room to expand matters. Choose the Core Ultra 9 285K build with the RTX 2000 Ada for heavy graphics or games. The RTX A400 build is for everyday desk work.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.com
A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
It suits people who want workstation parts on a small desk. The case measures 69 x 211 x 218 mm, and every build carries a discrete NVIDIA card with GDDR6 memory. Developers and graphics professionals get socketed memory with ECC support and two M.2 slots, so the machine can grow with the work.
Skip it if you need fast wired networking, because there is a single 1GbE port. It is also the wrong box for more than two screens. Gamers should pass on the RTX A400 build, a poor fit for games, and treat the RTX A1000 build as workable rather than ideal.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited to every build, with a 20-core Core Ultra 7 265 as the smallest processor and Windows 11 Pro throughout.
Coding is workable on the 16 GB build and well suited to the 32 GB and 64 GB builds. The 16 GB machine can be raised later, since the 2 memory slots take up to 128 GB.
Gaming is a poor fit on the RTX A400 with 4 GB of graphics memory, workable on the RTX A1000 with 8 GB, and well suited to the RTX 2000 Ada with 16 GB.
As a homelab box for virtual machines or containers it is workable: ECC support and two M.2 slots help, but one 1GbE port holds it back.
Local AI is a poor fit on the 16 GB RTX A400 build and workable on the 32 GB and 64 GB builds. Memory bandwidth governs how fast a model generates text, and HP does not state it for any build.
Workstation use is well suited: there is a PCIe card slot with 8 lanes in an x16-size opening, and every build has a discrete NVIDIA RTX card.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Ultra 7 265, RTX A400, 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Workable | Not suited | Good |
| Core Ultra 7 265, RTX A1000, 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Workable | Good |
| Core Ultra 9 285K, RTX 2000 Ada, 64 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Good |
Which configuration to choose
The entry build pairs a Core Ultra 7 265 with an RTX A400 carrying 4 GB, plus 16 GB of memory and a 512 GB NVMe drive. The middle build keeps that processor but moves to an RTX A1000 with 8 GB, 32 GB of memory and 1000 GB of storage. The top build switches to a 24-core Core Ultra 9 285K and an RTX 2000 Ada with 16 GB, with 64 GB of memory and 1000 GB of storage. Pick the RTX A400 model for office work and light coding, the RTX A1000 model for development and occasional games, and the RTX 2000 Ada model for heavier graphics, gaming or local AI.
Upgrading it
Memory sits in 2 SODIMM slots, is not soldered, and reaches 128 GB at 6400 MT/s with ECC support. On the 32 GB and 64 GB builds both slots are already filled, so growing toward 128 GB means replacing the modules rather than adding one.
Storage uses two M.2 2280 slots, and there are no SATA bays. Both storage slots run at PCIe generation 5. The second slot is where an extra M.2 drive goes, and it runs at the speed of that slot.
Connecting it
Screens connect over the two DisplayPort 1.4 outputs, and HP gives a maximum of two displays. There is no HDMI output, so plan on DisplayPort cables, or an adapter for an HDMI-only monitor. Alongside them sit four USB-A ports and two USB-C ports. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports. Networking is a single 1GbE port, and power comes from a 280W external supply.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- HP
- Processor
- Intel Core Ultra 7 265, Intel Core Ultra 9 285K
- Cores and threads
- 20β24 cores, 20β24 threads
- Graphics
- NVIDIA RTX A400, NVIDIA RTX A1000, NVIDIA RTX 2000 Ada
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- Not confirmed
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 16β64 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 128 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 512 GBβ1 TB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- x16 slot, wired for 8 lanes
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 1GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Not confirmed
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- 4
- HDMI outputs
- 0
- DisplayPort outputs
- 2
- Maximum displays
- 2
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 280W external
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- No
- Dimensions
- 69 x 211 x 218
- Volume
- 3.174 L
Limitations
The single 1GbE port is slow for a homelab or for moving large files over the network. There is no VESA mount, so the box cannot hang behind a monitor, and it drives two displays at most. HP does not state the memory bandwidth, the Wi-Fi standard, whether a wireless module is included, Bluetooth support, whether the M.2 slots accept SATA drives, an SD card reader, the TDP or the release year.
Alternatives
When you look at other machines, compare the facts that define this one: a PCIe card slot with 8 lanes, a 128 GB memory ceiling with ECC support, two M.2 slots and discrete graphics with up to 16 GB of its own memory. Check the network ports too, since this box has one 1GbE port, and count the display outputs, here two DisplayPort.


BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra

GMKtec NucBox G3S

Beelink Mini S12 Pro
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory in the HP Z2 Mini G1i?
Yes. Memory is not soldered and sits in 2 SODIMM slots that take up to 128 GB of DDR5 with ECC support. On the 32 GB and 64 GB builds both slots are already filled, so upgrading means swapping modules.
How many monitors can it run?
Two. The Z2 Mini G1i has two DisplayPort 1.4 outputs and a maximum of two displays. There is no HDMI output, so a monitor with only an HDMI input needs a DisplayPort-to-HDMI cable or adapter.
Is the Z2 Mini G1i good for gaming?
That depends on the graphics card in the build. The RTX A400 model with 4 GB of graphics memory is a poor fit, the RTX A1000 model with 8 GB is workable, and the RTX 2000 Ada model with 16 GB is well suited.
Does it have Wi-Fi and Bluetooth?
HP does not state the Wi-Fi standard or whether a wireless module is included, and does not state Bluetooth support either. The confirmed network connection is a single 1GbE port, so plan on a cable unless you can verify wireless on your unit.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.