Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 5

Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 5: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Room for an expansion card is the unusual part of the Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 5: a physical x8 PCIe slot sits inside a case of 1.2 liters. Around it you get a 14-core Intel Core i5-14500 or a 20-core Core i7-14700, DDR5 in two removable SODIMM slots and Windows 11 Pro. Choose it for everyday work, coding and workstation tasks that need a card, and skip it for gaming.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.com

A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits you if you want a compact Windows 11 Pro desktop for everyday work and coding that can hang on a VESA mount and still take an add-in card. Developers should pick a 32 GB build, which is well suited to coding, while the 16 GB model is workable. A small office that needs a card in a footprint of 179 x 182.9 x 36.5 mm is another natural buyer.

Skip it if you want to play games: the Intel UHD Graphics 770 is integrated, and gaming is a poor fit. Skip it too if your homelab needs more than one network port or anything faster than 1GbE.

Workload fit

Everyday work is well suited: a 14-core or 20-core Intel processor with DDR5 has ample headroom for browsing, office files and video calls. Coding is workable on the 16 GB model and well suited on both 32 GB models, and the 16 GB build can grow because its two slots take up to 64 GB.

Gaming is a poor fit, because every build relies on the integrated Intel UHD Graphics 770. Homelab use is workable: the two M.2 slots leave room for a second drive, but there is one network port at 1GbE.

Local AI is a poor fit on the 16 GB model and workable on the two 32 GB models. Capacity decides which language models fit and bandwidth decides how fast they write; Lenovo gives a memory speed of 5600 MT/s but does not state the bandwidth.

Workstation work is well suited thanks to the physical x8 PCIe card slot, though Lenovo does not state how many lanes it carries. The Core i7-14700, with 20 cores and 28 threads, is the build for heavier compiles.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
Core i5, 16 GB / 256 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedGood
Core i5, 32 GB / 512 GBGoodGoodNot suitedWorkableWorkableGood
Core i7, 32 GB / 512 GBGoodGoodNot suitedWorkableWorkableGood

Which configuration to choose

All three builds are new, sold at retail, run Windows 11 Pro and use the Intel UHD Graphics 770. The entry model pairs an Intel Core i5-14500 with 14 cores and 20 threads, 16 GB of DDR5 and a 256 GB NVMe drive. The middle model keeps that processor and moves to 32 GB of memory and a 512 GB NVMe drive. The top model has the same 32 GB and 512 GB but swaps in a Core i7-14700 with 20 cores and 28 threads. Pick the 16 GB model for office desks, the 32 GB Core i5-14500 for coding and local AI, and the Core i7-14700 when core count matters.

Upgrading it

Memory is not soldered: two DDR5 SODIMM slots take up to 64 GB, so the 16 GB model and both 32 GB models can all be raised to that ceiling. Storage has two M.2 slots for 2280 drives, and neither accepts M.2 SATA drives. The first slot is PCIe 4.0, so a PCIe 5.0 NVMe drive placed there runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. Lenovo does not state the second slot's generation, so treat an M.2 drive added there as extra capacity first. There are no SATA bays. The physical x8 PCIe slot adds one more route for expansion.

Connecting it

Two screens is the maximum, one on the HDMI output and one on the DisplayPort 1.4 output. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, and HDMI 2.1 features need an HDMI 2.1 output, so check before planning a 4K monitor above 60 Hz on that port.

For peripherals there are six USB-A ports and one USB-C port. Networking is one wired 1GbE port, and a wireless module is included. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports. Power comes from a 65W external supply, and the VESA mount lets the box hang behind a monitor.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
Lenovo
Processor
Intel Core i5-14500, Intel Core i7-14700
Cores and threads
14–20 cores, 20–28 threads
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 770
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16–32 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
64 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
256 GB–512 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
Not confirmed

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
1GbE
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
6
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
2
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
65W external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
179 x 182.9 x 36.5
Volume
1.195 L

Limitations

The networking is the plainest gap: one port at 1GbE, and no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink. Graphics are integrated in every build, which rules out serious gaming. The 16 GB entry model is a poor fit for local AI as it ships.

Lenovo does not state the graphics memory or its type, the memory bandwidth, ECC support, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth, the HDMI version, an SD card reader, the TDP or the PCIe slot's lane count.

Alternatives

When you weigh other machines against this one, compare a handful of facts. Check the memory ceiling against 64 GB in two removable slots, the network ports against one port at 1GbE, and the display count against two. Look for a card slot like the physical x8 PCIe slot here, and note whether USB4 or Thunderbolt ports are present, since this machine has none.

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory on the ThinkCentre M90q Gen 5?

Yes. The memory is not soldered, and two DDR5 SODIMM slots take up to 64 GB at 5600 MT/s. Whether your build ships with 16 GB or 32 GB, you can raise it to that 64 GB ceiling.

How many monitors can it drive?

Two, using its HDMI output and its DisplayPort 1.4 output. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, so confirm HDMI 2.1 support before buying a 4K screen above 60 Hz for that port, since those features need an HDMI 2.1 output.

Does it have Wi-Fi?

Yes, a wireless module is included, but Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard or whether Bluetooth is present. For wired networking there is a single 1GbE port, which is the only network port on the machine.

Which build should I get for local AI?

One of the 32 GB builds: local AI is workable on both and a poor fit on the 16 GB model. Memory capacity decides which models fit, and the two slots take up to 64 GB when you need more room.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.