Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5

Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5: compare 4 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Lenovo's ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5 is a 1.1-liter Windows 11 Pro desktop, sold in builds that range from an Intel Core i3-1315U to an Intel Core 7 240H. Everyday work is well suited on every build except the 8 GB model, where it is workable, and coding is workable throughout. Buy it for a small, tidy office desk. Gaming, local AI and workstation jobs are a poor fit.

Choose a configuration

Not available on www.amazon.com

A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.

Who this suits

It suits an office, a reception desk or a home study that wants Windows 11 Pro in a small case, and it can be mounted behind a monitor on its VESA mount. The 16 GB builds with the Core 5 210H or Core 7 240H make the most sense for developers and heavy multitaskers. Coding is workable on them and everyday use is well suited.

Skip it for games, local language models or heavy creative software. All three are a poor fit, because every build has integrated graphics and there is no card slot. Homelab builders who need fast networking should look elsewhere, because there is a single 1GbE port.

Workload fit

Everyday work is well suited on the Core 7 240H, the Core 5 210H and the 16 GB Core i3-1315U builds. It is workable on the 8 GB Core i3-1315U, which has less memory for many open apps. The i3's 6 cores and 8 threads cover browsing and office files, and the newer chips add headroom.

Coding is workable. The builds ship with 8 GB or 16 GB of DDR5, and the two memory slots take up to 64 GB as your projects grow.

Gaming is a poor fit, because every build relies on integrated Intel graphics and there is no slot for a graphics card.

Local AI is a poor fit for the same reasons. Lenovo does not state how much memory the graphics can use on any build.

Homelab use is workable for light duty. The two M.2 slots give room for storage, but there is one 1GbE network port and there are no SATA bays. For that workable role, the Core 7 240H's 10 cores and 16 threads, with two memory slots reaching 64 GB, give the most headroom.

Workstation work is a poor fit. There is no discrete graphics and no x8 or x16 card slot, and there are only two memory slots with a 64 GB ceiling.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
Core i3, 8 GB / 256 GBWorkableWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedNot suited
Core 7 240H, 16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedNot suited
Core 5 210H, 16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedNot suited
Core i3, 16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedNot suited

Which configuration to choose

Processor and memory are what separate the builds. The entry model pairs the Core i3-1315U, with 6 cores and 8 threads, with 8 GB of DDR5 and a 256 GB NVMe drive. The same chip also comes with 16 GB and 512 GB, and that is the better i3 pick. The Core 5 210H has 8 cores and 12 threads, and the Core 7 240H has 10 cores and 16 threads. Both come with 16 GB and 512 GB. Choose the Core 7 240H for coding and heavy multitasking, or the Core 5 210H for a capable office machine.

Upgrading it

Memory sits in two SODIMM slots and is not soldered, so any build can go to the 64 GB maximum at 5600 MT/s. That makes the 8 GB entry model easy to fix later. Storage uses two M.2 slots for 2280 drives, and the first slot runs at PCIe Gen 4. Lenovo does not state the second slot's PCIe generation, so you cannot be sure how fast an added M.2 drive will run there. Neither slot takes M.2 SATA drives, and there are no SATA bays.

Connecting it

Two screens is the limit: one on the HDMI 2.1 output and one on the DisplayPort 1.4b output. For peripherals there are four USB-A ports and one USB-C port. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports. Wired networking is one 1GbE port. A wireless module is included, though Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard or Bluetooth support. Power comes from a 65W external supply, and the VESA mount lets the box sit behind a monitor.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
Lenovo
Processor
Intel Core i3-1315U, Intel Core 7 240H, Intel Core 5 210H
Cores and threads
6–10 cores, 8–16 threads
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics, Intel Graphics
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024, 2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
8–16 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
64 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
256 GB–512 GB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
1GbE
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
4
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
2
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
65W external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
179 x 182.9 x 34.5
Volume
1.13 L

Limitations

Networking is the firmest limit: a single 1GbE port, and no USB4 or Thunderbolt. Every build uses integrated graphics and there is no PCIe card slot, so the graphics cannot be upgraded. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth support, the graphics memory or its type, the memory bandwidth, ECC support, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, whether there is an SD card reader, or the TDP.

Alternatives

The Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 5 swaps the Core i3-1315U for an Intel Core i5-13400T. It is the one to compare if you want a different Intel chip from Lenovo. The Apple Mac mini (M6) runs on Apple's M6 but tops out at 32 GB of memory, against 64 GB here. The GMKtec NucBox K8 Plus uses an AMD Ryzen 7 8845HS and reaches 128 GB of memory, so weigh it if memory capacity is what decides it for you.

Common questions

Can I add more memory to the ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5?

Yes. The memory is not soldered and sits in two SODIMM slots that take up to 64 GB of DDR5 at 5600 MT/s. Even the 8 GB Core i3-1315U build can grow well beyond what it ships with.

How many monitors can it drive?

Up to two. Connect one to the HDMI 2.1 output and the other to the DisplayPort 1.4b output. Plan your cables around those two outputs, since they are the screen connections Lenovo provides on this box.

Does it have Wi-Fi?

Yes, a wireless module is included, so you are not tied to the single 1GbE Ethernet port. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard or whether Bluetooth is present, so check those details before you rely on them.

Which processor should I choose?

For coding and heavy multitasking, take the Core 7 240H with 10 cores and 16 threads. The Core 5 210H, with 8 cores and 12 threads, suits office work. The 16 GB Core i3-1315U is well suited to everyday tasks.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.