
Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny
Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
A PCIe card slot wired with 8 lanes, packed into a 1.2-liter case, is what makes the Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny a workstation rather than just a small office PC. Every build pairs a 14-core, 20-thread Intel Core i5 with integrated Intel UHD Graphics 770 and Windows 11 Pro. Buy it for office work, coding and workstation tasks, with memory that grows to 96 GB. Skip it for gaming or local AI.
Choose a configuration
Not available on www.amazon.com
A current local price is not shown for this configuration. Check the alternatives below on www.amazon.com, including their exact memory, storage and warranty.
Who this suits
The P3 Tiny suits office workers, developers and engineers who want a small Windows 11 Pro desk machine with room to grow. The 16 GB builds are well suited to everyday work, and the PCIe card slot makes the machine well suited to workstation duty. The VESA mount lets it hide behind a monitor, and six USB-A ports cover keyboards, drives and dongles.
Skip it if you want to play games or run language models locally: both are a poor fit with Intel UHD Graphics 770. If you are planning a router or a storage server, look elsewhere too, because there is one 1GbE port and no SATA bays.
Workload fit
Everyday work is workable on the 8 GB model with the Core i5-13500 and well suited to both 16 GB models, because the extra memory leaves room for many browser tabs and office apps at once.
Coding is workable: 14 cores and 20 threads give builds plenty of threads, and the two memory slots take up to 96 GB if containers or large projects outgrow the 8 GB or 16 GB installed.
Gaming is a poor fit, because the only graphics is the integrated Intel UHD Graphics 770.
Homelab use is workable: the 96 GB memory ceiling leaves space for several virtual machines and the two M.2 slots hold system and data drives, but a single 1GbE port and no SATA bays hold it back as a network or storage box.
Local AI is a poor fit. Generation speed depends on memory bandwidth, which Lenovo does not state, and the integrated UHD Graphics 770 is the only graphics on offer.
Workstation work is well suited, and the reason is the PCIe card slot: x16 in physical size with 8 lanes wired, so you can add an expansion card inside the case.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core i5-13500, 8 GB / 256 GB | Workable | Workable | Not suited | Workable | Not suited | Good |
| Core i5-13500, 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Workable | Not suited | Good |
| Core i5-14500, 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Workable | Not suited | Good |
Which configuration to choose
All three retail builds share 14 cores, 20 threads, Intel UHD Graphics 770, DDR5, NVMe storage and Windows 11 Pro. The Core i5-13500 comes with 8 GB and 256 GB, or with 16 GB and 512 GB. The Core i5-14500 build also has 16 GB and 512 GB.
Choose the 8 GB model only if you plan to add memory yourself, since it is merely workable for everyday work. For most buyers either 16 GB model is the sensible pick; the Core i5-14500 build changes the processor but keeps the same core and thread count.
Upgrading it
Memory is the easy upgrade: two SODIMM slots, nothing soldered, DDR5 at 5600 MT/s and a maximum of 96 GB. That leaves generous headroom over the 8 GB or 16 GB installed in any build. ECC memory is not supported.
Storage sits in two M.2 slots for 2280 drives. The first slot runs at PCIe 4.0, so a PCIe 5.0 drive placed there runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. The slots do not take M.2 SATA drives and there are no SATA bays, so a second drive means an M.2 drive in the free slot.
Connecting it
Two screens is the limit: one on the HDMI 2.1 output and one on the DisplayPort 1.4 output. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI you also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 input on the monitor.
For peripherals there is one USB-C port and six USB-A ports. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports.
Wired networking is a single 1GbE port, and a wireless module is included. Power comes from a 170W external supply.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- Lenovo
- Processor
- Intel Core i5-13500, Intel Core i5-14500
- Cores and threads
- 14 cores, 20 threads
- Graphics
- Intel UHD Graphics 770
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2024
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 8β16 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 96 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 256 GBβ512 GB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- x16 slot, wired for 8 lanes
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 1GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Not confirmed
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 1
- USB-A ports
- 6
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 1
- Maximum displays
- 2
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 170W external
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Yes
- Dimensions
- 179 x 182.9 x 37
- Volume
- 1.211 L
Limitations
The real gaps are networking and graphics: one 1GbE port, no SATA bays, no ECC support and integrated graphics only. The 8 GB model is tight for everyday use out of the box.
Lenovo does not state the graphics memory or its type, the memory bandwidth, the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, whether there is an SD card reader, or the TDP.
Alternatives
When you compare other compact desktops, start with what defines this one: an internal PCIe card slot with 8 lanes, a memory ceiling of 96 GB across two SODIMM slots, and two M.2 slots. Then weigh what it lacks: if you need more than one 1GbE port, USB4 or Thunderbolt, or graphics beyond the integrated UHD Graphics 770, those are the specs to look for in another machine.


BMAX MaxMini B4 Ultra

GMKtec NucBox G3S

Beelink Mini S12 Pro
Common questions
How much memory can the ThinkStation P3 Tiny take?
Up to 96 GB of DDR5 across two SODIMM slots, and none of it is soldered, so you can upgrade any build, including the 8 GB model. The memory runs at 5600 MT/s, and ECC memory is not supported.
How many monitors can I connect?
Two: one on the HDMI 2.1 output and one on the DisplayPort 1.4 output. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI, the cable and the monitor's input both need to be HDMI 2.1 as well.
Does the ThinkStation P3 Tiny have Wi-Fi?
Yes, a wireless module is included, so you are not tied to the single 1GbE Ethernet port. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard or whether Bluetooth is present, so check the exact unit before you rely on either.
Which configuration should I choose?
Either 16 GB model with 512 GB of storage, because both are well suited to everyday work. Pick the 8 GB model with 256 GB only if you plan to add memory, since nothing is soldered and the slots take up to 96 GB.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.