Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

ASUS ROG NUC 16 vs GMKtec EVO-X2

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.co.uk.

Updated

The short answer

One machine carries a discrete NVIDIA GPU with its own GDDR7 memory, and the other offers up to 128 GB of soldered memory beside integrated Radeon graphics. That is the real split between the ROG NUC 16 and the EVO-X2. Pick the ASUS if gaming and CUDA work come first, since it is well suited to both. Pick the GMKtec if you want to run large language models locally. It is well suited there, and the ASUS is only workable.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationASUS ROG NUC 16GMKtec EVO-X2
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 7 270HX PlusAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 LaptopAMD Radeon 8060S
Installed memory16 GB128 GB
Installed storage1 TB2 TB
Maximum memory128 GB128 GB
Memory slots20
M.2 slots12
LAN speed2.5GbE2.5GbE
USB4 ports02
Thunderbolt ports10

Workload by workload

Everyday use and coding are well suited on both, so neither choice hurts you there. The ASUS brings a discrete GPU for anything that uses CUDA, and the EVO-X2 answers with 16 cores, 32 threads and two USB4 ports.

Gaming is where they split: well suited on the ROG NUC 16, workable on the EVO-X2. Every ASUS configuration ships a discrete card, from the RTX 5060 Laptop to the RTX 5080 Laptop. The GMKtec relies on integrated Radeon 8060S graphics.

Local AI reverses the order. On the ASUS, the GPU's own memory bounds a model, and that is 8, 12 or 16 GB of GDDR7 depending on the configuration, so it is workable. On the EVO-X2, the LPDDR5X models share their memory between processor and integrated graphics. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Its 50 TOPS NPU is not the reason it suits this work; memory capacity is.

Homelab use is workable on both for the same reason. Each has a single 2.5GbE port, which is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks. The EVO-X2 also has soldered memory, so its capacity is fixed.

As a workstation, the ASUS is well suited in every configuration. The EVO-X2 is well suited in every configuration except the 64 GB model with DDR5 and 2000 GB of storage, which is workable.

Expansion and upgrades

The ROG NUC 16 is the one you can grow. It has two SODIMM slots, memory that is not soldered and a maximum of 128 GB, so even the 64 GB model can double its memory. Storage is the tighter side. A single 2280 M.2 slot at PCIe generation 5 already holds the installed NVMe drive, so more space means swapping that drive. A PCIe 5.0 drive runs at full speed there.

The EVO-X2 flips the picture. Its memory is soldered with no slots, so the 64 GB or 128 GB you choose is what you keep. Storage has room. Two 2280 M.2 slots, the first at PCIe 4.0, leave a second slot for an M.2 drive. There are no SATA bays.

Ports and connectivity

For screens, the ASUS offers two HDMI 2.1 and two DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, plus two USB-C ports that carry DisplayPort. ASUS states up to 5 displays. The EVO-X2 has one HDMI 2.1 output, one DisplayPort 1.4 output and two USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode, but GMKtec does not state the maximum number of displays. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI on either machine, you also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 display.

For other devices, the ASUS has one Thunderbolt port and six USB-A ports. The GMKtec has two USB4 ports, five USB-A ports and an SD card reader. Both include Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 5.4 and one 2.5GbE port. The ASUS runs from an external 280W or 380W supply, and the GMKtec from an external 230W one.

Which configurations to compare

The fairest match is on memory. Set the ROG NUC 16 with the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop, 64 GB of DDR5 and 2000 GB of storage against the EVO-X2 with 64 GB of LPDDR5X and 1000 GB. Matching storage instead points to the EVO-X2 with 64 GB of DDR5 and 2000 GB, but that model is only workable as a workstation. If memory capacity is your priority, the 128 GB EVO-X2 has no ASUS counterpart out of the box, though the ASUS takes up to 128 GB later.

If neither fits

If you need both upgradeable memory and local models larger than a GPU's own memory, neither machine delivers both. The ASUS has slots but its graphics memory tops out at 16 GB of GDDR7, and the GMKtec shares its memory but solders it. ASUS does not state volume, memory bandwidth, ECC, M.2 SATA support, SATA bays, a card reader, TDP or VESA mounting. GMKtec does not state graphics memory, memory bandwidth, ECC, the second slot's generation, TDP or VESA mounting.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadASUS ROG NUC 16GMKtec EVO-X2
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingGoodWorkable
Home labWorkableWorkable
Local AIWorkableGood
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Which one is better for running local language models?

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The ROG NUC 16 is workable, bounded by its 8, 12 or 16 GB of GPU memory.

Can I upgrade the memory later?

On the ROG NUC 16, yes. It has two SODIMM slots, the memory is not soldered, and it takes up to 128 GB. On the EVO-X2, no. The memory is soldered with no slots, so choose 64 GB or 128 GB when you buy.

Is the EVO-X2 any good for gaming?

Gaming on it is workable, with integrated AMD Radeon 8060S graphics and no discrete GPU. If games are the main job, the ROG NUC 16 is well suited, because every configuration ships a discrete NVIDIA card with its own GDDR7 memory.

How many monitors can each one drive?

ASUS states up to 5 displays, driven from two HDMI 2.1, two DisplayPort 2.1 and two USB-C ports that carry DisplayPort. GMKtec does not state a maximum. The EVO-X2 has one HDMI 2.1, one DisplayPort 1.4 and two USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.