Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec EVO-X2

GMKtec EVO-X2: compare 4 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Up to 128 GB of soldered LPDDR5X, sixteen cores and an integrated Radeon 8060S put the GMKtec EVO-X2 in an unusual spot: a compact desktop built around memory capacity rather than a graphics card. That capacity makes it well suited to local AI models, coding and everyday work, while gaming is only workable. Choose it for large quantised models on your desk. Skip it if you want a discrete GPU or memory you can upgrade later.

Choose a configuration

Product image: GMKtec EVO-X2

AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, 128 GB / 2 TB

AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
CPU
128 GB LPDDR5X
RAM
2 TB SSD
STORAGE
2.5GbE
NETWORK
£3,483.32
£3,699.96SAVE £216.64

Who this suits

It suits you if you want to run quantised language models locally. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Developers get sixteen cores, thirty-two threads and two USB4 ports, so coding is well suited on every model.

Skip it if gaming is the main job. The Radeon 8060S is integrated, so gaming is workable rather than well suited. Skip it too if you expect to add memory later, because there are no memory slots and the memory is soldered. Homelab builders who need several wired links will find a single 2.5GbE port.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited. Sixteen cores, thirty-two threads and 64 GB or 128 GB of memory go far beyond what browsing and office work need.

Coding is well suited, with LPDDR5X memory, two USB4 ports and two M.2 slots, the first at PCIe 4.0. GMKtec does not state the second slot's generation.

Gaming is workable on the integrated Radeon 8060S, with no discrete GPU. GMKtec does not state how much memory the graphics can use.

Homelab use is workable. Two M.2 slots and plenty of memory help, but a single 2.5GbE port and soldered memory mean networking and capacity cannot be expanded. ECC support is not confirmed.

Local AI is well suited because the LPDDR5X is unified memory shared between the processor and the integrated GPU. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. This judgement rests on memory capacity, not on the 50 TOPS NPU. Generation speed is not measured, and memory bandwidth is not confirmed.

Workstation work is well suited on the three LPDDR5X models. It is workable on the 64 GB DDR5 model with 2000 GB of storage.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
64 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGoodGood
64 GB / 2 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGoodWorkable
128 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGoodGood
128 GB / 2 TBGoodGoodWorkableWorkableGoodGood

Which configuration to choose

All four configurations share the Ryzen AI Max+ 395, the Radeon 8060S and Windows 11 Pro. Each one is a new, complete machine rather than a barebones kit. Memory comes as 64 GB or 128 GB, and storage as 1000 GB or 2000 GB of NVMe. On the 64 GB model with 2000 GB of storage, GMKtec gives the memory type as DDR5. The other three configurations use LPDDR5X. For big quantised models plus room for their files, pick the 128 GB model with 2000 GB. For coding and everyday work, the 64 GB LPDDR5X model with 1000 GB is enough.

Upgrading it

Memory cannot be upgraded. There are no memory slots, the memory is soldered and the maximum is 128 GB. The 128 GB models already sit at that ceiling, and a 64 GB model stays at 64 GB, so choose capacity when you buy.

Storage is the part you can change, with two M.2 slots for 2280 drives. The first slot runs at PCIe 4.0. GMKtec does not state the second slot's generation or whether the M.2 slots accept SATA drives, and there are no SATA bays.

Connecting it

For screens there is one HDMI 2.1 output and one DisplayPort 1.4 output. The two USB-C ports also carry DisplayPort alt mode, so monitors can connect over HDMI, DisplayPort or USB-C cables. GMKtec does not state the maximum number of displays. Alongside those come two USB4 ports, five USB-A ports and an SD card reader.

Wired networking is a single 2.5GbE port. Wireless is Wi-Fi 7 with Bluetooth 5.4, and the wireless module is included. If you are weighing an external graphics card, the machine has two USB4 ports, no Thunderbolt ports and no OCuLink.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
GMKtec
Processor
AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
Cores and threads
16 cores, 32 threads
Graphics
AMD Radeon 8060S
NPU
50 TOPS
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
64–128 GB
Memory slots
0
Maximum memory
128 GB
Memory soldered
Yes
Installed storage
1 TB–2 TB
M.2 slots
2
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
No

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.4
USB4 ports
2
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
5
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
Not confirmed
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Yes
Power supply
19.5V 11.8A external (230W)
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
193 x 185.8 x 77
Volume
2.761 L

Limitations

Soldered memory is the main one: the capacity you buy is the capacity you keep. A single 2.5GbE port limits network-heavy homelab setups. GMKtec does not state the maximum number of displays, the TDP, VESA mounting, ECC support, memory bandwidth or the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation. Power comes from a 230W external brick (19.5V 11.8A), so plan desk space for it.

Alternatives

The ASUS ROG NUC 16 uses an Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus and discrete graphics. Look at it if gaming matters more than memory capacity. The Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) tops out at 64 GB of memory, while the EVO-X2 reaches 128 GB. That gap decides it if you want the larger memory configurations. The MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro pairs an AMD Ryzen 9 8945HX with discrete graphics, which suits you if you want a dedicated graphics chip rather than shared memory.

Product image: Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

Intel Core Ultra 7 265
CPU
64 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA RTX A1000
GRAPHICS
£3,418.57
Product image: GEEKOM A9 Mega

GEEKOM A9 Mega

AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
CPU
128 GB LPDDR5X
RAM
2 TB SSD
STORAGE
Dual 2.5GbE
NETWORK
£3,399.00
Product image: Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250

Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250

Intel Core Ultra 7 265
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA RTX A1000
GRAPHICS
£3,005.41
Product image: ASUS ROG NUC 16

ASUS ROG NUC 16

Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus
CPU
16 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop
GRAPHICS
£2,948.19

Compared with

Common questions

Can I add more RAM to the GMKtec EVO-X2 later?

No. There are no memory slots and the memory is soldered, so the capacity you buy is permanent. The maximum is 128 GB, which the two 128 GB models already reach. Pick the size you need for local AI or workstation work up front.

How many monitors can the EVO-X2 drive?

GMKtec does not state the maximum number of displays. The outputs are one HDMI 2.1 and one DisplayPort 1.4, plus two USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode, so you can connect screens over all three cable types.

Can the 64 GB model run a 70B language model?

Yes, quantised to four bits. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantisation, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. That judgement is about capacity only: generation speed is not measured, and GMKtec does not state memory bandwidth.

Does it have Wi-Fi and fast wired networking?

Yes. The wireless module is included, with Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. Wired networking is a single 2.5GbE port that cannot be expanded, which is one reason homelab use is workable rather than well suited.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.