
Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 5
Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 5: compare this configuration by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
A 1.2-litre ThinkCentre with a 10-core, 16-thread Intel Core i5-13400T, the M70q Gen 5 is a tidy desktop for office work and everyday computing that leaves room to grow. It ships with 16 GB of DDR5 and a 512 GB NVMe drive under Windows 11 Pro, and the memory sits in two removable slots that take up to 64 GB. Get it for office work and coding, not for gaming, local AI or heavy workstation jobs.
Choose a configuration

Who this suits
It suits an office or home desk that needs a small Windows 11 Pro machine for documents, mail, browsing and video calls. The VESA mount lets it hang behind a monitor, and six USB-A ports cover a keyboard, mouse, webcam and drives without a hub. Developers get a workable box, more so once the memory goes past the 16 GB it ships with.
Skip it if you want to play games, run language models locally or do professional graphics work, because the integrated Intel UHD Graphics 730 makes it a poor fit for all three. A homelab builder who needs several network ports should also look elsewhere, since it has one 1GbE port.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited: 10 cores and 16 threads with 16 GB of DDR5 handle office suites, busy browsers and video calls.
Coding is workable. The 16 GB installed covers an editor and a browser, and the two memory slots take up to 64 GB when builds or containers ask for more.
Gaming is a poor fit, because the only graphics are the integrated Intel UHD Graphics 730.
Homelab use is workable. Two M.2 slots give room for a second drive, but a single 1GbE port limits it as a router or a busy file server, and there are no SATA bays.
Local AI is a poor fit. Lenovo does not state the memory bandwidth, which governs how fast a model generates text, and of the 16 GB installed the operating system keeps about 8 GB for itself.
Workstation work is a poor fit: there is no discrete graphics, no PCIe card slot and only two memory slots.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core i5, 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Workable | Not suited | Not suited |
Which configuration to choose
There is one retail build: the Intel Core i5-13400T with 16 GB of DDR5, a 512 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, sold new. It is a complete machine rather than a barebones kit, so it works out of the box. With nothing to choose between, the real decision comes after purchase: keep it as shipped for office work, or add memory if you code or keep many applications open. It also includes a wireless module alongside the wired network port.
Upgrading it
Memory is the easy upgrade. The two SODIMM slots are not soldered and take DDR5 at 5600 MT/s up to 64 GB, so the 16 GB it ships with can be replaced or added to.
Storage has room too: there are two M.2 slots of 2280 length, and the 512 GB NVMe drive leaves one free. The first slot is PCIe 4.0, so a PCIe 5.0 drive would run at PCIe 4.0 speed there. Lenovo does not state the second slot's PCIe generation, so an added M.2 drive runs at whatever speed that slot allows. Neither slot takes SATA M.2 drives, and there are no SATA bays.
Connecting it
Two screens is the limit: one HDMI output and one DisplayPort 1.4 output, with two as Lenovo's stated maximum. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, so do not count on HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz from that port.
For accessories you get six USB-A ports and one USB-C port. Networking is one 1GbE port plus the included wireless module. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports. Power comes from a 65W external supply.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- Lenovo
- Processor
- Intel Core i5-13400T
- Cores and threads
- 10 cores, 16 threads
- Graphics
- Intel UHD Graphics 730
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2024
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 16 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 64 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 512 GB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 1GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Not confirmed
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 1
- USB-A ports
- 6
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 1
- Maximum displays
- 2
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 65W external
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Yes
- Dimensions
- 179 x 182.9 x 36.5
- Volume
- 1.195 L
Limitations
The network is the clearest limit: a single 1GbE port and no faster wired option. There is no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink, no SATA bay and no PCIe card slot, and the graphics are integrated only. Lenovo does not state the graphics memory or its type, the memory bandwidth, ECC support, the second M.2 slot's PCIe generation, the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth, the HDMI version, an SD card reader or the TDP.
Alternatives
The Apple Mac mini (M6) swaps the Intel Core i5-13400T for an Apple M6, but its memory tops out at 32 GB against 64 GB here, so pick it only if Apple's chip matters more than memory headroom. The GMKtec NucBox K8 Plus uses an AMD Ryzen 7 8845HS and reaches 128 GB, the one to weigh if the memory ceiling decides it. The Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 5 stays in the family but steps down to an Intel Core i3-1315U, worth a look only if the Core i5 is more than you need.

GMKtec NucBox K8 Plus

Beelink EQi12

Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 6

Beelink GTi14 Ultra
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory in the ThinkCentre M70q Gen 5?
Yes, because the memory is not soldered. It sits in two SODIMM slots that take DDR5 at 5600 MT/s, up to a maximum of 64 GB. It ships with 16 GB, so there is real headroom for coding and heavier multitasking.
How many monitors can it drive?
Lenovo states a maximum of two displays. There is one HDMI output and one DisplayPort 1.4 output. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, so a display that needs HDMI 2.1 features is not a safe bet on that port.
Does it have Wi-Fi?
Yes, a wireless module is included. Lenovo does not state which Wi-Fi standard it supports or whether Bluetooth is present, so check both if you depend on a particular router feature or on wireless keyboards and headsets.
Can I add a second SSD?
Yes, there are two M.2 slots in the 2280 length. The 512 GB NVMe drive it ships with leaves one free for an M.2 drive. Lenovo does not state the second slot's PCIe generation, and neither slot accepts SATA M.2 drives.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.