
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 6
Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 6: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Just 34.5 mm tall and 1.1 litres in volume, the Lenovo ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 6 is a tidy Windows 11 Pro desktop for office work, browsing and light coding. Both builds pair an eight-core Intel Core Ultra chip with 16 GB of LPDDR5X and a 512 GB NVMe drive. Buy it for everyday work. Skip it if you will need more memory later, because the memory is soldered and cannot grow.
Choose a configuration

Who this suits
It suits offices and home desks that want a compact Windows 11 Pro machine for everyday work, one that can hang behind a monitor on a VESA mount. Coding is workable too, as long as 16 GB of memory covers the tools you use.
Skip it if you play games, want to run language models locally, or plan a homelab with virtual machines and several drives. Anyone who expects to add memory or a graphics card later should also look elsewhere, since the memory is fixed at 16 GB and there is no card slot. The same goes for anyone who needs heavy workstation software, which is a poor fit here.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited: eight cores, 16 GB of LPDDR5X at 8533 MT/s and an NVMe drive give office work and browsing a comfortable base.
Coding is workable, with one caveat. The memory is soldered at 16 GB and cannot be raised, so the amount you start with is the amount you keep for as long as you own the machine.
Gaming is a poor fit, because the Intel Arc Graphics 140V and 130V are integrated graphics rather than a separate card.
A homelab is a poor fit: one 1GbE port, one M.2 slot, no SATA bays and a 16 GB memory ceiling leave little room for virtual machines or storage pools.
Local AI is a poor fit. Memory capacity decides which model sizes fit, and with 16 GB in total and about 8 GB kept by the operating system, only small models have room. Lenovo does not state the memory bandwidth, which governs how fast a model generates text.
Workstation use is a poor fit: there is no discrete graphics, no x8 or x16 card slot, no memory slots and too little memory for that kind of work.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Ultra 7 256V, 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Not suited | Not suited | Not suited |
| Core Ultra 5 226V, 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Not suited | Not suited | Not suited |
Which configuration to choose
Lenovo sells two retail builds, both new and both with 16 GB of LPDDR5X, a 512 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro. The only difference is the chip: the Core Ultra 7 256V with Arc Graphics 140V, or the Core Ultra 5 226V with Arc Graphics 130V, each with eight cores and eight threads. For office work and browsing, the Core Ultra 5 226V build does the job, since everyday use is well suited on this machine. Choose the Core Ultra 7 256V build if you want Intel's Ultra 7 part and the Arc Graphics 140V; memory and storage stay the same either way.
Upgrading it
Memory is not an upgrade path. Lenovo solders it, there are no memory slots, and 16 GB is both what ships and the maximum, so there is no headroom at all.
Storage is the one thing you can change. The single M.2 slot takes a 2280 drive at PCIe generation 4 and does not accept SATA M.2 drives, so more space means swapping the 512 GB drive for a larger NVMe drive. A PCIe 5.0 drive would run at PCIe 4.0 speed in that slot. There are no SATA bays for a second disk.
Connecting it
Two screens are the limit: one on the HDMI 2.1 output and one on the DisplayPort 1.4b output. HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz also need an HDMI 2.1 cable and a display with an HDMI 2.1 input. Four USB-A ports and one USB-C port take care of keyboard, mouse and external drives. Networking is one 1GbE port plus a wireless module that Lenovo includes. There are no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink ports. Power comes from a 65W external supply.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- Lenovo
- Processor
- Intel Core Ultra 7 256V, Intel Core Ultra 5 226V
- Cores and threads
- 8 cores, 8 threads
- Graphics
- Intel Arc Graphics 140V, Intel Arc Graphics 130V
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2025
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 16 GB
- Memory slots
- 0
- Maximum memory
- 16 GB
- Memory soldered
- Yes
- Installed storage
- 512 GB
- M.2 slots
- 1
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 1GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Not confirmed
- Bluetooth
- Not confirmed
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 1
- USB-A ports
- 4
- HDMI outputs
- 1
- DisplayPort outputs
- 1
- Maximum displays
- 2
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 65W external
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Yes
- Dimensions
- 179 x 182.9 x 34.5
- Volume
- 1.13 L
Limitations
The soldered 16 GB is the hard limit, and with one M.2 slot, no SATA bays and no card slot, this box cannot grow into heavier work. Wired networking stops at a single 1GbE port. Lenovo does not state how much memory the graphics can use or its type, the memory bandwidth, ECC support, the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth, an SD card reader or the TDP.
Alternatives
The GMKtec NucBox K8 Plus moves to an AMD Ryzen 7 8845HS and reaches 128 GB of memory, the one to consider if a 16 GB ceiling is the dealbreaker. The Apple Mac mini (M6) runs on the Apple M6 and goes to 32 GB, worth a look if macOS suits you. Lenovo's own ThinkCentre M75q Gen 5 switches to an AMD Ryzen 7 PRO 8700GE with a 32 GB maximum, keeping you in the ThinkCentre family while doubling the memory ceiling.

Beelink EQi12

Beelink GTi14 Ultra

Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 5

GMKtec NucBox K8 Plus
Common questions
Can I upgrade the RAM in the ThinkCentre neo 50q Gen 6?
No. The memory is soldered, there are no memory slots, and Lenovo gives 16 GB as the maximum, which is exactly what both builds ship with. If you expect to need more memory later, choose a machine with removable memory instead.
How many monitors can it run?
Two. Connect one to the HDMI 2.1 output and the other to the DisplayPort 1.4b output. HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz also need an HDMI 2.1 (48 Gbps) cable and a display with an HDMI 2.1 input.
Can I add a second SSD?
No. There is one M.2 slot, it takes 2280 drives at PCIe generation 4 without SATA support, and there are no SATA bays. For more storage, replace the 512 GB drive with a larger NVMe drive or use external storage on the four USB-A ports.
Is it any good for gaming?
Not really. Both builds rely on integrated Intel Arc graphics, the 140V or the 130V, and gaming is a poor fit for this machine. It is well suited to office work and browsing, and coding is workable within its 16 GB of memory.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.