Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 6

Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 6: compare 2 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

A PCIe x8 card slot and 3 M.2 slots inside a 1.2-litre case give the Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 6 more room to grow than its size suggests. It is well suited to everyday office work and workstation duty, and workable for coding and a modest homelab. Skip it for gaming or local AI, where its integrated Intel Graphics make it a poor fit. Pick the Core Ultra 5 235 with 14 cores if your work spreads across many cores.

Choose a configuration

Product image: Lenovo ThinkCentre M90q Gen 6

Intel Core Ultra 5 235, 16 GB / 512 GB

Above typical price
Intel Core Ultra 5 235
CPU
16 GB DDR5
RAM
512 GB SSD
STORAGE
1GbE
NETWORK
Β£1,882.67

Who this suits

It suits an office or a desk where space is short. At 179 x 182.9 x 36.5 mm it sits beside a monitor, and the VESA mount lets you hang it behind one. Both builds come with Windows 11 Pro, which fits business desks. Developers who start at 16 GB and want to add memory later also get an easy path, because the DDR5 sits in 2 removable SODIMM slots.

Skip it if you want to play games or run language models locally, since both are a poor fit for integrated Intel Graphics. Skip it too if you need fast wired networking or several network ports, because it has 1 port at 1GbE.

Workload fit

Everyday work is well suited: office apps, browsing and video calls run on either Core Ultra 5 with 16 GB of DDR5.

Coding is workable. The 16 GB installed is a starting point, and the 2 slots take up to 64 GB when your projects grow.

Gaming is a poor fit, because both builds rely on integrated Intel Graphics.

Homelab use is workable. The 3 M.2 slots give room for storage, but the single network port at 1GbE limits it as a router or a busy file server.

Local AI is a poor fit. Memory bandwidth governs how fast a language model writes text and capacity governs which sizes fit; Lenovo does not state the bandwidth, and the 16 GB installed leaves little room once the operating system keeps its share.

Workstation work is well suited. The PCIe card slot is physically x8, though Lenovo does not state how many lanes it carries, so check a card's requirements first. The Core Ultra 5 235 with 14 cores and 14 threads is the better pick for compiling or rendering.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
Core Ultra 5 225, 16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedGood
Core Ultra 5 235, 16 GB / 512 GBGoodWorkableNot suitedWorkableNot suitedGood

Which configuration to choose

The retail builds differ only in the processor. One has the Intel Core Ultra 5 225 with 10 cores and 10 threads; the other has the Core Ultra 5 235 with 14 cores and 14 threads. Both come new with 16 GB of DDR5, a 512 GB NVMe drive, integrated Intel Graphics and Windows 11 Pro. Choose the Core Ultra 5 225 if the machine will mostly handle office and everyday work. Choose the Core Ultra 5 235 for coding and workstation jobs that use many cores.

Upgrading it

Memory is not soldered: 2 SODIMM slots take DDR5 at 6400 MT/s up to 64 GB, against the 16 GB installed. Depending on how the 16 GB is fitted, reaching the maximum may mean replacing a module rather than adding one.

Storage has more room: there are 3 M.2 slots of the 2280 length, so you can add drives beside the 512 GB NVMe drive. The first slot is PCIe 4.0, so a faster drive there runs at PCIe 4.0 speed. Lenovo does not state the second slot's generation, and the slots do not take SATA drives, so every addition is an M.2 drive.

Connecting it

You can run up to 2 screens, using the HDMI output and the DisplayPort 1.4 output. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, and 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI needs HDMI 2.1 on the computer, the cable and the display, so the DisplayPort output is the known quantity.

For peripherals there are 6 USB-A ports and 1 USB-C port. Networking is 1 port at 1GbE, and a wireless module is included. There is no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink port. Power comes from a 65W external supply.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
Lenovo
Processor
Intel Core Ultra 5 225, Intel Core Ultra 5 235
Cores and threads
10–14 cores, 10–14 threads
Graphics
Intel Graphics
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2025

Upgrade options

Installed memory
16 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
64 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
512 GB
M.2 slots
3
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
Not confirmed

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
1
LAN speed
1GbE
Wi-Fi
Not confirmed
Bluetooth
Not confirmed
USB4 ports
0
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
1
USB-A ports
6
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
1
Maximum displays
2
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
65W external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Yes
Dimensions
179 x 182.9 x 36.5
Volume
1.195 L

Limitations

The network is the plainest limit: 1 port at 1GbE. Graphics are integrated in both builds, which rules out serious gaming. There are no SATA bays. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard, Bluetooth, the HDMI version, the second M.2 slot's generation, the PCIe slot's lane count, ECC support, an SD card reader, the TDP, the memory bandwidth, or the graphics memory size and type.

Alternatives

When you compare other compact desktops, start with the facts that limit this one: the network ports, where this machine has 1 port at 1GbE, and the graphics, which are integrated. Then weigh its strengths against theirs: the PCIe x8 card slot, 3 M.2 slots, and a memory ceiling of 64 GB in 2 removable SODIMM slots.

Product image: Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Ultra SFF Gen 2

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Ultra SFF Gen 2

Above typical price
Intel Core Ultra 5 235
CPU
16 GB DDR5
RAM
512 GB SSD
STORAGE
1GbE
NETWORK
Β£1,617.76

Common questions

Can I upgrade the memory on the ThinkCentre M90q Gen 6?

Yes. The memory is not soldered, and the 2 SODIMM slots take DDR5 up to 64 GB, against the 16 GB installed. Depending on how the 16 GB is fitted, you may need to replace a module rather than add one.

How many monitors can it run?

Up to 2, connected to the HDMI output and the DisplayPort 1.4 output. Lenovo does not state the HDMI version, so for a high-refresh 4K monitor the DisplayPort output is the safer choice, since HDMI 2.1 features need HDMI 2.1 at every end.

Does it have Wi-Fi?

A wireless module is included, so it can join a wireless network without an adapter. Lenovo does not state the Wi-Fi standard or Bluetooth support, so check the specification of the unit you buy if a particular standard matters to you.

Which processor should I choose?

For office and everyday work, the Core Ultra 5 225 with 10 cores is well suited. For coding or workstation jobs that use many cores, choose the Core Ultra 5 235 with 14 cores; memory, storage and graphics are the same in both builds.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.