
Apple Mac mini (M6) vs MINISFORUM MS-A2
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.
Updated


MINISFORUM MS-A2
The short answer
Two very different machines share this page: a 0.8-liter macOS desktop and a 1.8-liter workstation with four network ports. Pick the Mac mini (M6) if you want a small macOS machine for everyday work and coding, and you can settle memory and storage at checkout, because neither can be changed later. Pick the MINISFORUM MS-A2 if you want a homelab or workstation box with 10GbE networking, memory up to 96 GB and a card slot. Both handle everyday tasks and coding well. The split comes with virtual machines, large language models and expansion cards.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | Apple Mac mini (M6) | MINISFORUM MS-A2 |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Apple M6 | AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX |
| Graphics | Apple M6 12-core GPU | AMD Radeon 610M |
| Installed memory | 16 GB | Not included in this barebones kit |
| Installed storage | 256 GB | Not included in this barebones kit |
| Maximum memory | 32 GB | 96 GB |
| Memory slots | 0 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 0 | 3 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE (10GbE option) | 2x 10GbE SFP+, 2x 2.5GbE |
| USB4 ports | 0 | 0 |
| Thunderbolt ports | 3 | 0 |
Workload by workload
Everyday use and coding are well suited on both. The Mac mini brings a 12-core Apple M6 with 12 threads. The MS-A2 brings a 16-core AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX with 32 threads and up to 96 GB of DDR5, far more than a desktop or an editor will ask for. The barebones MS-A2 cannot be judged until it is built.
Homelab use is where they part. The Mac mini is workable: 2.5GbE comes as standard with a 10GbE option, but memory and storage are fixed at purchase and macOS narrows your hypervisor choices. The MS-A2 is well suited, with two 10GbE SFP+ ports, two 2.5GbE ports, three storage slots including U.2 and memory that grows to 96 GB.
For local language models the Mac mini is workable in every size. The 16 GB and 24 GB models suit small to mid-size quantized models. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The MS-A2 with 32 GB is workable on the same terms. Neither maker states memory bandwidth, the figure that governs how fast text comes out.
As a workstation the Mac mini is a poor fit, with no card slot and soldered memory capped at 32 GB. The MS-A2 is well suited thanks to its slot wired with 8 lanes. For gaming, the MS-A2's Radeon 610M is a poor fit as sold, though its x16 slot can take a discrete card.
Expansion and upgrades
The Mac mini has no memory slots and its memory is soldered, so the size you order is the size you keep, with 32 GB as the ceiling. It also has no M.2 slots and no SATA bays, so internal storage stays at the 256, 512 or 1000 GB you bought.
The MS-A2 uses two SODIMM slots that take up to 96 GB. That leaves the 32 GB model 64 GB of headroom and the 64 GB models 32 GB. For storage it has three M.2 slots taking 2280 or 22110 drives, plus U.2 support. The first slot runs at PCIe 4.0 and the second at PCIe 3.0, so your fastest M.2 drive belongs in the first.
Ports and connectivity
The Mac mini has three Thunderbolt ports, no USB-A ports and one HDMI output. Apple states it drives up to three displays but does not state the HDMI version. Networking is a single 2.5GbE port with a 10GbE option, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6.
The MS-A2 trades Thunderbolt for two USB-C ports and three USB-A ports, with one HDMI output and no DisplayPort. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays or the HDMI version, so plan on one screen until you confirm more. Its four network ports split into two 10GbE SFP+ and two 2.5GbE, with Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2 built in. Power comes from an external 19V 12.63A supply, while the Mac mini's supply is internal.
Which configurations to compare
The fairest match is the Mac mini with 32 GB of unified memory and 1000 GB of storage against the MS-A2 with 32 GB of DDR5 and 1000 GB of storage. With memory and storage lined up, what remains is the 12-core M6 against the 16-core Ryzen 9 9955HX, and macOS against Windows 11 Pro. At that size both are workable for local AI, but only the MS-A2 can later grow to 96 GB. The barebones MS-A2 ships without memory or storage and has no counterpart on the Apple side.
If neither fits
If the Mac mini's 32 GB memory ceiling rules it out and the MS-A2's four network ports and card slot are more than you need, look at the Lenovo ThinkCentre M70q Gen 5. It uses an Intel Core i5-13400T rather than the Apple M6 and takes up to 64 GB of memory, where the Mac mini stops at 32 GB. Check its ports and networking against your own plans before you commit.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | Apple Mac mini (M6) | MINISFORUM MS-A2 |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Not confirmed | Not suited |
| Home lab | Workable | Good |
| Local AI | Workable | Good |
| Workstation | Not suited | Good |
Common questions
Can I upgrade the Mac mini's memory later?
No. The Mac mini has no memory slots and its unified memory is soldered, so you choose 16, 24 or 32 GB at purchase, and 32 GB is the maximum. The MS-A2 instead uses two SODIMM slots that take up to 96 GB.
Which one can run a 70B language model?
For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Neither maker states memory bandwidth.
How many monitors can each one run?
Apple states the Mac mini supports up to three displays, and it has one HDMI output. The MS-A2 has one HDMI output and no DisplayPort, and MINISFORUM does not state a display maximum, so count on one screen unless you confirm otherwise.
Does either have 10GbE networking?
The MS-A2 has two 10GbE SFP+ ports alongside two 2.5GbE ports. The Mac mini comes with a single 2.5GbE port, with 10GbE offered as an option. That networking is part of why the MS-A2 is well suited to a homelab and the Mac mini only workable.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.