Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

ASUS NUC 14 Performance vs MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

Both are compact mini PCs with discrete NVIDIA graphics that suit gaming, but they arrive in very different states. The ASUS NUC 14 Performance is a barebones kit, so it suits you if you want to choose your own memory, storage and operating system. The MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro is ready to run with 32 GB of DDR5, a 1000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro, and it adds 5GbE and Wi-Fi 7 for faster networking. Pick the kit for control over the build, and the AtomMan for a finished machine.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationASUS NUC 14 PerformanceMINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 185HAMD Ryzen 9 8945HX
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 4070 LaptopNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 8GB GDDR7
Installed memoryNot included in this barebones kit32 GB
Installed storageNot included in this barebones kit1 TB
Maximum memory64 GBNot confirmed
Memory slots22
M.2 slots22
LAN speed2.5GbE5GbE
USB4 ports0Not confirmed
Thunderbolt ports1Not confirmed

Workload by workload

Gaming is well suited on both, because each ships with fixed discrete graphics rather than graphics shared with system memory. The NUC offers an RTX 4070 Laptop with the Core Ultra 9 185H or an RTX 4060 Laptop with the Core Ultra 7 155H, each with 8 GB of graphics memory. The AtomMan pairs the Ryzen 9 8945HX with what MINISFORUM calls the GeForce RTX 5060 8GB GDDR7. Neither judgment rests on measured frame rates.

Workstation use is well suited on both, thanks to discrete graphics and 16 cores in every configuration. The AtomMan runs 32 threads against 22 on either NUC, which favors heavily parallel jobs such as compiling or rendering.

Homelab use is workable on both, with networking as the limit. The NUC has a single 2.5GbE port and two SODIMM slots up to 64 GB, but memory and storage must be added. The AtomMan's single 5GbE port is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks.

Everyday work and coding are well suited on the AtomMan, which has 32 GB of DDR5 in upgradeable SODIMM slots and a discrete GPU for anything that uses CUDA. Local AI is workable there: the GPU's 8 GB, not the 32 GB system total, bounds which models run on the graphics. On the NUC, everyday use, coding and local AI are not assessed until built, since both configurations ship as barebones kits.

Expansion and upgrades

The NUC starts without memory or storage: two SODIMM slots take up to 64 GB, nothing is soldered, and you fill both yourself. Its two M.2 2280 slots are also yours to fill, but ASUS does not state their PCIe generation, so plan on an M.2 drive without assuming a particular speed. There is no PCIe card slot.

The AtomMan ships with 32 GB in two SODIMM slots that are not soldered, but MINISFORUM does not state the maximum memory, so how far past 32 GB you can go is an open question. Storage starts with a 1000 GB NVMe drive across two M.2 2280 slots, so extra capacity means an M.2 drive in whichever slot the factory drive leaves free. It also has a physical x16 PCIe slot, though MINISFORUM does not state how many lanes it carries.

Ports and connectivity

The NUC has one 2.5GbE port, Wi-Fi 6E with the wireless module included, and Bluetooth 5.3. For peripherals it offers six USB-A ports, one Thunderbolt port, one USB-C port and an SD card reader. Screens connect through one HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs, and ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays or the HDMI version.

The AtomMan steps up to one 5GbE port and Wi-Fi 7, also with the wireless module included. It has two HDMI and two DisplayPort 2.0 outputs and drives up to 4 displays. MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI version, so do not count on HDMI 2.1 features such as 4K above 60 Hz. It also does not state how many USB ports the machine has.

Which configurations to compare

On graphics, the fair match for the AtomMan is the NUC with the Core Ultra 7 155H and RTX 4060 Laptop, which sits in the same graphics class as the AtomMan's GPU for workstation work. The Core Ultra 9 185H model with the RTX 4070 Laptop is the one to choose if you want the stronger of the two NUC graphics options. Either NUC still needs memory, storage and an operating system before it matches the AtomMan, which arrives with 32 GB of DDR5, a 1000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro.

If neither fits

If you do not need discrete NVIDIA graphics at all, the alternative to consider is the Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro). It uses Apple's M5 Pro chip rather than an Intel Core Ultra 9 185H, with integrated graphics rather than a discrete GPU. That makes it a different kind of machine, one where the graphics live on the main chip instead of a separate card, so weigh it against your own workload before choosing it.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadASUS NUC 14 PerformanceMINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro
EverydayNot confirmedGood
CodingNot confirmedGood
GamingGoodGood
Home labWorkableWorkable
Local AINot confirmedWorkable
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Does the ASUS NUC 14 Performance come with memory and storage?

No. Both configurations are barebones kits, so you add memory, storage and an operating system yourself. It takes two SODIMM modules up to 64 GB and two M.2 2280 drives, and ASUS does not state the slots' PCIe generation.

How many monitors can each one drive?

MINISFORUM states the AtomMan G1 Pro drives up to 4 displays from two HDMI and two DisplayPort 2.0 outputs. The NUC has one HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs, and ASUS does not state its maximum number of displays.

Which is better for running local AI models?

The AtomMan is workable for local AI, but its GPU's 8 GB, not the 32 GB system total, limits which models run on the graphics. The NUC is not assessed for local AI until built, and both its GPU options carry 8 GB.

Can either one work as a home server?

Both are workable for a homelab. The AtomMan's single 5GbE port is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks. The NUC has one 2.5GbE port and takes up to 64 GB of memory, which you must add.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.