
ASUS ROG NUC 16 vs ASUS ROG NUC 16 Edition 20
Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.
Updated


ASUS ROG NUC 16 Edition 20
The short answer
These two compact ASUS machines come from the same NUC chassis family. At the top, both carry the Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus with 64 GB of DDR5, so the graphics chip is what separates them. The ROG NUC 16 suits you if you want a choice of graphics, from the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop up to the RTX 5080 Laptop. The Edition 20 suits you if you want the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop with 24 GB of graphics memory, above all for local AI.
Specifications side by side
CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.
| Specification | ASUS ROG NUC 16 | ASUS ROG NUC 16 Edition 20 |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus | Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop |
| Installed memory | 16 GB | 64 GB |
| Installed storage | 1 TB | 2 TB |
| Maximum memory | 128 GB | 128 GB |
| Memory slots | 2 | 2 |
| M.2 slots | 1 | 1 |
| LAN speed | 2.5GbE | 2.5GbE |
| USB4 ports | 0 | Not confirmed |
| Thunderbolt ports | 1 | 1 |
Workload by workload
Everyday work and coding come out the same: both machines are well suited and offer far more than daily tasks need. For coding, each has DDR5 in two upgradeable SODIMM slots, plus a discrete NVIDIA GPU for anything that uses CUDA.
Gaming is well suited on both, because every configuration ships with discrete NVIDIA graphics rather than graphics shared with system memory. Frame rates are not measured, so the difference is the chip itself. The ROG NUC 16 offers the RTX 5060 Laptop, RTX 5070 Ti Laptop and RTX 5080 Laptop, while the Edition 20 has the RTX 5090 Laptop. Workstation use is well suited on both for the same reason: discrete graphics in every configuration.
Local AI is where the two split. The ROG NUC 16 is workable and the Edition 20 is well suited, because the GPU's own memory bounds which model fits, not the system total. That memory is 8 GB, 12 GB or 16 GB of GDDR7 on the ROG NUC 16 and 24 GB of GDDR7 on the Edition 20. Capacity decides which model sizes fit and bandwidth decides how fast text comes out, and ASUS does not state the memory bandwidth for either machine.
Homelab use is workable on both. A single 2.5GbE port is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks.
Expansion and upgrades
Memory headroom is identical on both machines: two SODIMM slots, nothing soldered, DDR5 at 6400 MT/s and a stated maximum of 128 GB. The ROG NUC 16 can grow from its installed 16 GB, 32 GB or 64 GB, and the Edition 20 from its 64 GB.
Storage is tighter. Each machine has one M.2 2280 slot at PCIe 5, and that slot already holds the NVMe drive it ships with, so more space means replacing that drive rather than adding a second one. The Edition 20's PCIe 5.0 drive runs at full speed in that slot. Neither machine has a PCIe slot or OCuLink, so the graphics you buy are the graphics you keep.
Ports and connectivity
The port layout is the same on both: two HDMI 2.1 outputs, two DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, two USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode, one Thunderbolt port and six USB-A ports. ASUS states a maximum of 5 displays for the ROG NUC 16 and gives no figure for the Edition 20. Getting 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI also takes an HDMI 2.1 cable and an HDMI 2.1 display. Networking is one 2.5GbE port plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, with the wireless module included. The ROG NUC 16 measures 282.4 x 189.5 x 56.5 mm and runs on a 280W or 380W external power supply.
ASUS does not state the Edition 20's dimensions, power supply or USB4 ports. It also does not give the ROG NUC 16's volume or TDP, or say whether either machine has ECC support, an SD card reader or a VESA mount.
Which configurations to compare
The fair match is the ROG NUC 16 with the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 Laptop, 64 GB and 2000 GB against the Edition 20's only configuration, which has the same processor, 64 GB and 2000 GB but the RTX 5090 Laptop. That pairing isolates the graphics: 16 GB against 24 GB of GDDR7. The lower ROG NUC 16 models have no Edition 20 counterpart: the Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus with the RTX 5060 Laptop and 16 GB, and the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus with the RTX 5070 Ti Laptop and 32 GB. All of them ship new with Windows 11 Pro.
If neither fits
If a discrete NVIDIA chip and an Intel processor are not what you want, the alternative to look at is the GMKtec EVO-X2. It uses an AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 instead of the Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus, and integrated graphics instead of a discrete GPU. That suits a buyer who would rather have the graphics built into the processor than a separate chip with its own memory.
Workload fit
The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.
| Workload | ASUS ROG NUC 16 | ASUS ROG NUC 16 Edition 20 |
|---|---|---|
| Everyday | Good | Good |
| Coding | Good | Good |
| Gaming | Good | Good |
| Home lab | Workable | Workable |
| Local AI | Workable | Good |
| Workstation | Good | Good |
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory later?
Yes. On both machines the memory sits in two SODIMM slots, is not soldered and goes up to 128 GB, so the 16 GB, 32 GB and 64 GB models all have room to grow.
Which one is better for running local language models?
The Edition 20 is well suited for local AI, while the ROG NUC 16 is workable. The GPU's own memory bounds the model size, and the Edition 20 carries 24 GB of GDDR7 against 16 GB at most on the ROG NUC 16.
Can I add a second SSD?
No. Each machine has a single M.2 2280 slot at PCIe 5, and it holds the NVMe drive that ships in the box. For more space, you replace that drive with a larger one.
How many monitors can I connect?
ASUS states up to 5 displays for the ROG NUC 16 and gives no figure for the Edition 20. Both have two HDMI 2.1 outputs, two DisplayPort 2.1 outputs and two USB-C ports with DisplayPort alt mode.
The two machines
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.